We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Can't wait to go back!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tower Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Pokolbin
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tower Lodge
Ranked #15 of 15 Hotels in Pokolbin
Sydney NSW
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Can't wait to go back!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2009

We have stayed at a number of places in the Hunter Valley, but the only one we will ever return to is the Tower Lodge. From the moment you walk in, you feel like you’re the King of the manner. The staff is friendly and willing to help you make the most of your stay by doing everything from making dinner reservations at various local restaurants, to helping you plan the perfect day’s activities. Yes, it is a little on the pricey side, but you get what you pay for!!! From the incredible gourmet breakfast (everything on the menu is a must try) to the afternoon tea (witch includes fresh made pastries and sandwiches), to evening drinks is all inclusive and when you take into consideration what you would have payed for the same thing somewhere else, you quickly begin to realise that your getting your moneys worth! With only 12 rooms, you rarely ever see other guests. It’s also fun to come back and try a different room each time, as they are all very different in layout and décor.
I have read other reviews by guests claiming it’s not all that... I think those people are just chronic complainers that wouldn’t be happy anywhere!
We are already planning my next visit, hope to see you there!

  • Liked — Whats not to like
  • Disliked — Leaving
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank VAPS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    88
    19
    11
    7
    3
See reviews for
7
92
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
UAE
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2009

My husband and I stayed 2 nights in the Tower Lodge and wished we could have extended the stay.
When we arrived we were warmly welcomed by the lady on reception. Our room was easily accessable and had a homely feel to it. The room was large and confortable, with the bed on a raised platform, thus giving you an area like a sitting room.
The lodge itself is warn and intimate with plenty of areas to sit. you can have breakfast on the terrace in the morning.
Before we booked we read the reviews on tripadvisor and were not disapointed. We would not hesitate to recommend this to others. I felt the lodge was value for money - it is not cheap but you get what you pay for. The staff were excellent - freindly and welcoming. We can not wait to be able to visit the Hunter valley again and stay in the Tower Lodge.

  • Liked — The staff were really friendly
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SmintUAE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2008

Having walked out on our original hotel on arrival because we were not happy with the standard, we were able to stay at the last minute at Tower Lodge for 3 nights. With no actual booking we were lucky enough to spend 1 night in the Oriental suite and 2 nights in a 'Standard' room.

The Rooms:
The Oriental suite is absolutely divine. Its attention to detail is amazing and makes you feel at home as soon as you enter the re-claimed, convent style double entry doors. Walking into an actual hallway that runs the length of the suite is a luxury of space not many places afford you. It's set up with decor that I only wish I could find and put together myself in my own home. Walking passed the spacious bathroom you pass the wooden hot tub that is a great touch - even if you don't like tubs, it sets the mood perfectly. The bedroom has a lot of calming greens and exposed wood mixed with oriental pieces (rugs, cabinets, vases etc) makes for a homely and cozy feel.
The 'Standard' room, although smaller and without hot tub, was equally enchanting. Soft florals and vintage style furniture and rugs have never felt so contemporary and well collaborated. You really feel like you’re in another private world.

The Food:
The breakfast here is as good as anywhere. Sitting at a little (almost French style) table for two around the central courtyard & fountain, you're able to help yourself to a variety of cereals, fruits, yoghurts and toast. You can then go on to order from their reasonably predictable list of hot breakfasts which ranges from Waffles to Big English Breakfasts. I can, however, recommend the Eggs in the Hot Pot. This is a delicious concoction of chorizo & tomato slow cooked in a hot pot with an egg softly poached on top to finish. Mouthwateringly scrumptious!
We also took advantage of their picnic service that they offer (for a non-offensive charge). We were sent on our merry way with a bevy of salads, smoked salmon, cold meats, cheeses and some of there delicious brownies.
One thing that really disappointed us was Roberts restaurant. It is worth pointing out that this is not actually part of Tower Lodge, however they do recommend it. Being the next property down, it is very easy to access obviously and it is in an absolutely stunning setting. The old cottage style seems to nestle in an abundance of floral green and manicured gardens. The old convent and quaint little church nearby also lend themselves to this fairytale setting. Inside it is just as amazing. Think: small glowing table lamps, white table cloths, old farmhouse artifacts and candles! However, the food was expensive and really poorly delivered. My ‘crispy’ pork belly was completely soggy and my partners ‘medium/rare’ steak was almost well done and reasonably tasteless. Not what you’d expect for a $42 main. The home made chips were served RAW in the middle and looked anemic even when they corrected them. We’re used to fine dining and are fair judges but for the price they’re charging, Roberts needs to pull their finger out.

The Staff:
Mostly, the staff were fantastic. They were happy to do anything to make our stay as comfortable as possible. We really appreciated the effort they went to fitting us in and welcoming us at such late notice - at 5pm on a long weekend Friday night! My only criticism would be that some staff (not generally management) seemed a little inexperienced and forced. I occasionally felt like I should check that I wasn’t holding a whip!

Overall, we both thought that this is truly world class accommodation. The founders obviously constructed this out of love and it shows right through to the tiny details. We only wish that more places emerged with the same amount of personality and style.

  • Liked — It's overall casual yet luxurious style
  • Disliked — Having to leave!
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Clumsle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
125 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 297 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2008

I have to say that this is a wonderful place to hide away and unwind. The hotel itself is grouped around a central courtyard where al fresco breakfast is served, as is a great cheese selection and wine for those evenings when you just don't want a full meal. The guest lounge with its' high vaulted ceiling and bar is about as comfortable a place as you could wish.
The room itself was large, clean and comfortable, as was the bed. Home made cookies for morning tea, muscat for a night-cap, little seems to have been missed.
There is an outdoor pool area with sauna and gym, not massive but perfectly adequate for the number of guests.
So, on to what defines my vacations. Food.
Breakfast was to quite a high standard, the cooked options were excellently cooked and presented, the cold buffet more than adequate. We ate at Roberts on one evening, a small private dining area off to the left as one enters. Service excellent, food likewise though the desserts were perhaps a little disappointing. Not cheap, but in my opinion, value considering the standards.
Final comment has to concern the hotel staff. Without exception, courteous, friendly and efficient. A delight to stay at a place where staff clearly care about what they do.

  • Stayed January 2008
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2007

We had a couple of nights here at the end of a long holiday in Australia. It's a lovely property, just a few rooms in a beautiful setting. We had the Oriental Suite, and whilst it was very attractive, it was a bit dark. Lovely bathroom and outdoor hot tub. Very unusual, but probably not worth the extra cost.

Breakfast was fabulous - the best we had in 3 weeks of cooked breakfasts!

A great spot in the Hunter Valley, close to lots of vineyards, and walking distance to the brilliant Roberts' Restaurant - definitely worth a visit.

The staff are very friendly and helpful. All in all a great stay. Recommended.

  • Liked — Lovely breakfast
  • Disliked — Oriental Suite is a bit dark
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Smiles58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2007

We paid the full rate of $590 for bed and breakfast. Service in the hotel/lodge is good. However, the rooms are over-priced for the quality of room - turndown was advertised but not provided. We were offered a "complimentary" pre dinner drink and then charged for it on our check out bill. The hotel recommended a restaurant on its estate - Blaxlands Grill. This restaurant is terrible - poor quality food and the worst service of any Sydney or Hunter Valley restaurant I have come across in the last year. I would recommend trying Tonic to stay - much nicer and half the price. Also avoid the Tower Estate restaurants if you want a nice evening meal.

  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank ukn1reviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bali, Indonesia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2007

My wife and I stayed for 2 nights in April during an anniversary trip to Australia. Even in April we could not get a reservation over the weekend (They only have a few rooms and it's very popular with Sydney siders for weekends)
It's an exceptional property and we would not want to stay anywhere else.
My reviews always address the issue of value for money and this property, despite the price, also delivers on value for money. Being unable to book at weekend, our weekday package also included a dinner at Robert's Restaurant, just round the corner from the hotel. This was an exceptional, actually even memorable dinner and this is a very very fine retaurant.
Overall, quite exceptional.

  • Liked — The rooms and overall quality of the service
  • Disliked — Not much but it is annoyingly close the main road. It would have been perfect had it been set further away from the road. The Hunter Valley is getting quite busy and there is quite a lot of traffic noise if you sit on your patio.
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Philipat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pokolbin
2.3 mi away
The Sebel Kirkton Park Hunter Valley
6.4 mi away
Spicers Vineyards Estate
Spicers Vineyards Estate
#1 of 15 in Pokolbin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 823 reviews
1.0 mi away
Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Convent Hunter Valley
The Convent Hunter Valley
#11 of 15 in Pokolbin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
2.7 mi away
Chateau Elan Hunter Valley
1.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tower Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tower Lodge

Property: Tower Lodge
Address: 6 Halls Rd, Pokolbin, New South Wales 2320, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Pokolbin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Pokolbin
Hotel Class:4 star — Tower Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tower Lodge is the only truly intimate World class luxury Lodge in the Hunter Valley region, accommodating a maximum of 24 guests at any one time. The Lodge is not only luxurious, but also offers a stage to create your own special experience, one that will become your benchmark for years to come. Located at Tower Estate in the Hunter Valley, Australia the Lodge was recognised as the best "Luxury Lodge" for 2010 at the World Luxury Hotel Awards. Tower Lodge represents all that is Unique, Intimate and Luxurious. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tower Lodge - Relais And Chateaux
Tower Lodge - Relais & Chateaux Hotel Pokolbin
Tower Lodge Pokolbin
Pokolbin Tower Lodge
Tower Lodge Greater Newcastle/Pokolbin, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing