We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relax and unwind”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Spicers Vineyards Estate
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Pokolbin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 April 2012

We stayed at Spicers on the back of the many good reviews from Trip Advisor. My partner was pleasantly surprised by all facets of the accommodation and commented that it was the best place we have ever stayed.

From the first follow up call post making the booking through to checking in, the staff were helpful and obliging and wanting to make the experience as memorable as possible. The amenities were great and with only 8 suites, the whole place was very quiet and tranquil and we felt like we had it almost to ourselves.

Everything is high quality from room decor to a stocked mini bar, open fire and large spa. The breakfast is also a great way to start the day.

If rest and relaxation is your thing, this estate is for you.

Definitely recommended for a weekend stay with all the wineries at your doorstep.

Stayed: April 2012
Thank Timbo9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (869)
There are newer reviews for Spicers Vineyards Estate
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

785 - 791 of 869 reviews

Reviewed 16 April 2012

My Husband & I stayed at Spicer's Vineyard Estate on the Weekend to celebrate our first Wedding Anniversary. This estate is truly special, when you first arrive you feel automatically relaxed and the staff are so friendly, nothing is a problem. Its so lovely to arrive and be shown to our suite, sit down and relax with the already stacked complimentary mini-bar. We have not found this any where else we have stayed. The suites also have a fireplace with the fire wood and matches all ready to go which is very romantic on a chilly night, the spa bath was very relaxing and the fluffy robes just put the cherry on the cake! We had a lovely intimate dinning experience at the wonderful Restaurant Botanica and it was simply amazing. The food is incredible as are the highly professional staff. When we returned from dinner our suite had been decorated with candles which was a lovely surprise. It's a lovely leisurely stroll over to Restaurant Botanica for the scrumptious "Parisian Breakfast" under the verandah, so many butterflies were seen around the surrounding garden as we were eating our delicious pastries, fresh fruit platter, freshly squeezed juice and quiche with caramelised onion (amazing!!) it was a wonderful way to start the day. Thank you to the Vineyards Estate Team & Restaurant Botanica for continuing to make the special occasions in our lives so much more special! We can not wait to return.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kylieelise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2012

We came to Spicers to celebrate our 10th wedding anniversary and had never been to the area before so took a chance and booked the complete indulgence package. Everything we experienced here was done to perfection! Nothing was too much trouble with staff being genuinely lovely and willing to assist with any request. From our parisian breakfast each day to our 3 course meal in Botanica resaturant the food was amazing! We loved the pet pigs and seeing the vegetables and herbs growing behind the kitchen! Our personalized welcome card on arrival with French champagne and local chocolates were divine and our room and the grounds sensational! A perfect, relaxing and romantic stay we will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MattandmelLeahy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2012

My husband and I were in Australia for part business and part pleasure. We started off with the "pleasure" part! On the back of rave reviews of Spicers I booked it and we set off from Scotland not really knowing what to expect! We were greeted by Sharon (receptionist and all round star, font of knowledge and all things local and current!) ... didn't have to wait long until we got into our bedroom (number 8 ... abfab ... a suite very comfortable and impeccably clean, lots of space, lovely open fire too!) ... We are both international travellers who stay at the 5* end of the market and Spicers was up there with the best! We had a great time, fabulous service, exquisite dining (we have dined around the globe and Mark's food was out of this world, best duck pate ever experienced!) ... impeccably clean and tidy accommodation and so peaceful! Thank you Mark, Belinda and Sharon (and the team) for making it a very very memorable trip indeed! We loved the area, the people and am now a convert to Aus! Thanks again from us both. Sara and Bob Bishop, Scotland

Room Tip: Room number 8 was great ... lots of room, open fire, impeccably clean and really comfy bed!
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EastCoastLets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2012

We had stayed at a Spicers before and enjoyed it very much so thought we would try another. We unfortunately were staying with them on the two nights that their restaurant was closed but they recommended some others and booked them for us before we arrived which was very helpful. One was very good, Shakey Tables, and the other only average, Amanda's On the Edge.
Sharon was brilliant she was friendly and helpful and seemed to be doing all the work!
The problem we had was the complete lack of privacy which was a shame because the actual room was really comfortable and spacious. We were next to the reception area and therefore on view to everyone who walked up the path and other guests had to walk past us so it was not possible to have the door open on to the terrace to enjoy the fresh air and the gardens and views outside. It seems to me like the room is built the wrong way round and the double doors should be at the back or maybe the guests should be taken around the back through reception to reach their rooms.
If we were to stay here again I would definitely ask for room 5 at the end I'm sure it must be very different experience. We wouldn't be put off staying at other Spicers properties by this visit as it was very nice in all other ways including the tasty breakfast.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JoSaint51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2012

We made this one a 'last minute' booking and couldn't have found anything better with a lot of research!

We were made to feel welcome even before we arrived via a couple of emails and follow-up phone call .. check-in was fast and friendly and the welcoming mini bar treats were lovely. There was even a little congratulations card for our anniversary. We had time to laze around the pool in the late afternoon before pre-dinner champagne in our large and very well designed room.

Dinner at Botanica was lovely and upon our return to the room, the 'romantic package' (a surprise for my husband) couldn't have been better - the fire was lit, music was playing and candles were placed throughout the room and bathroom where rose petals were strewn around. All we had to do was 'add water' and relax in the lovely big corner spa bath ... perfect !!

The bed was extremely comfortable and only wished that we could have purchased the lovely soft pillows to take home with us ....

Breakfast the next morning was a delight and we were glad that we didn't order a cooked portion as the fruits, yoghurt and breads were more than enough to provide a great start to the day.

Highly recommended hotel and restaurant ...

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank the_stoddarts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2012

My husband and I loved every minute of being here. From the genuine welcome on arrival, our beautiful large earthy room with free bubbles and mini bar to our romantic dinner at Botanica, we were in heaven. I requested a few little extras to surprise my hardworking husband and we were blown away by what Belinda and her team did for us from handwritten cards to a special mention at dinner of our anniversary and complimentary glasses of champagne followed by an incredibly romantic scene back at our room - tealights flickering around the spa, bed and sofa, little bundles of lavender from their garden scattered here and there, bath salt lying in wait, music wafting from the stereo and the bed turned down! What more could a couple long overdue for some romance and relaxation ask for? 10 out 10 and we've made a pact to come back here every few months. Belinda, Celeste, Sharon and whoever else I've missed - thank you!

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Madfads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pokolbin
8.1 mi away
Kirkton Park Hotel Hunter Valley
4.7 mi away
Chateau Elan Hunter Valley
6.7 mi away
The Convent Hunter Valley
The Convent Hunter Valley
#12 of 15 in Pokolbin
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley
5.7 mi away
Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens
4.5 mi away
Grand Mercure The Vintage Hunter Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spicers Vineyards Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spicers Vineyards Estate

Address: 555 Hermitage Rd, Pokolbin, New South Wales 2320, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Pokolbin
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Pokolbin
#1 Spa Hotel in Pokolbin
#2 Romantic Hotel in Pokolbin
Price Range: £264 - £411 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Spicers Vineyards Estate 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Personal service & attention to detail in every way! A luxurious Guesthouse, Spicers Vineyards Estate is set amidst its own private vineyard. Every suite features king beds, lounge area, open fireplace, spa en-suite, flat screen TV with CD/DVD and IPod dock, whilst the property boasts gourmet dining experiences at onsite Restaurant Botanica, Salt water pool & spa, guest lounge & boardroom, free wireless broadband and every guest is greeted on arrival with complimentary wine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Ctrip TA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Spicers Vineyards Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spicers Vineyards Estate Hotel Pokolbin
Vineyards Estate Pokolbin
Vineyards Estate Hotel Pokolbin
Spicers Vineyards Estate Greater Newcastle/Pokolbin, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing