We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eloping in style!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Spicers Vineyards Estate
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Pokolbin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 December 2012

We have just stayed at Spicers Vineyards Estate for our second time and can conclude that the warm service we experienced the first time was no fluke. We were eloping this time and there was nothing that went unattended by the delightful Spicers' staff from the champagne when we signed the register, the "extra" witness and rose petals and candles when we came back to our room after a dinner to remember at Botanica. The staff had also "conspired" with our children to serve us "breakfast in the vines" one morning.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amanda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SpicersVineyards, Owner at Spicers Vineyards Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2013

Dear Amanda ,

We were all so pleased that your elopement was everything you were after. At Spicers VIneyards Estate we love hosting elopments and small intimate special occasions such as your wedding and we look forward to keeping our record for amazing service going when perhaps you visit for your anniversary!

Warmest Regards,

Belinda Stapleton
Managing Director/Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (886)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

761 - 767 of 886 reviews

Reviewed 9 December 2012

We stayed at Spicer's Vineyards Estate to celebrate our wedding anniversary. Excellent accommodation which was very quiet but central to all vineyards etc..Free mini bar including champagne was very good & generous. On site restaurant, Botannica, was excellent also. service in the estate & restaurant was very very friendly also.

Only critique I have is that the estate does not have foxtel but they do provide a large DVD library which is free.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PaulTrz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2012

We stayed at Spicers Vineyards Estate once again last week and we were, as always, so impressed by this property and the amazing staff. Each of the suites are very quiet, tastefully decorated and comfortable. The amazing thing is that everything in the mini-bar is there for the use of the guest – totally complimentary! The staff are the most obliging in any place I have ever stayed and sooooo very friendly – it almost makes you feel like you are in a private home! There are 8 suites and soon to be 12. What can I say about Restaurant Botanica – other than to say that Mark (the Chef) and his team run a great ship with a lot of the produce coming from their own gardens. The food is just of the best quality, and to start your meal, you receive a little complimentary hors d’oeuvre which differs each night. They are now open for lunch on Saturday and Sunday. I cannot leave this page without mentioning their breakfasts – mixed fruit juice (different each day), cereal, fruit platter, Danish pastries, home made little quiches, yoghurt and home made quince jam and poached egg in either tomato or polenta – differing each day. Cannot wait to get back there soon.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms are my choice as they have lovely views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lorrisydney H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2012

My Partner and I stayed 2 nights and the staff were very friendly & helpful, we had the couples massages which were very relaxing and well worth it. Dinner and Breakfast were absolutely beautiful in the restaurant and the service was fantastic! We would definetly go back again as this was a fantastic getaway!

Room Tip: If you want privacy i would suggest the rooms on the top level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tabitha G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2012

We stayed only one night but great location to experience Hunter Valley wines, great room, friendly and very helpful service, good breakfast.
Bed was great and having you own log fire in your room adds to the charm of the very clean and warmly decorated room.
We will definitely come back when the new rooms are finished, perfect for a romantic getaway in autumn.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nadia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2012

Just returned to WA after spending time at the Spicers Estate. I was there to celebrate with girlfriends our 60th Birthdays. We could not have been better looked after. Their care and friendliness made it a wonderful memory. We have decided to all come back soon to celebrate another big birthday. The rooms were wonderful and clean, every comfort was looked after. The restaurant meal was of a high standard and the wait staff could not do enough for you. Well done Spicers!!

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms up stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maggie1952_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2012

What a wonderful gem in the Hunter Valley. Reunion with girlfriends from Wa where we were all celebrating turning 60. The rooms were large and well finished with qualtiy fittings and accessories. The restaurant food and service was outstanding. What really made Spicers stand out heads and shoulders above anywhere else I have stayed (including the Beverly Hilton,LA) was the friendly and caring staff. I have never experienced the care we received at Spicers anywhere in the world. It was amazing.
I have already and will be recommending Spicers to everyone who might be considering a break.
I will be returning with my husband at the first opportunity, thanks guys for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Margaret P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pokolbin
8.1 mi away
Kirkton Park Hotel Hunter Valley
4.4 mi away
Chateau Elan Hunter Valley
7.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens
6.7 mi away
The Convent Hunter Valley
The Convent Hunter Valley
#11 of 15 in Pokolbin
255 reviews
4.4 mi away
Grand Mercure The Vintage Hunter Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spicers Vineyards Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spicers Vineyards Estate

Address: 555 Hermitage Rd, Pokolbin, New South Wales 2320, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Pokolbin
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Pokolbin
#1 Luxury Hotel in Pokolbin
#2 Romantic Hotel in Pokolbin
Price Range: £258 - £423 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Spicers Vineyards Estate 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Personal service & attention to detail in every way! A luxurious Guesthouse, Spicers Vineyards Estate is set amidst its own private vineyard. Every suite features king beds, lounge area, open fireplace, spa en-suite, flat screen TV with CD/DVD and IPod dock, whilst the property boasts gourmet dining experiences at onsite Restaurant Botanica, Salt water pool & spa, guest lounge & boardroom, free wireless broadband and every guest is greeted on arrival with complimentary wine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Ctrip TA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Spicers Vineyards Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spicers Vineyards Estate Hotel Pokolbin
Vineyards Estate Pokolbin
Vineyards Estate Hotel Pokolbin
Spicers Vineyards Estate Greater Newcastle/Pokolbin, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing