We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow, wow, wow!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Spicers Vineyards Estate
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Pokolbin
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Wow, wow, wow!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2013

Spicers Vineyards Estate was brilliant! The rooms, the service, the team, the venue, the fireplace, the breakfast, happy hour... i could go on. Do yourself a favour and book right away, you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank C206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

829 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    737
    73
    11
    6
    2
See reviews for
29
687
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2013

First time stay and boy were we impressed. Service and accommodation were fantastic! Luxury all around. Felt totally relaxed by the end of the holiday. Breakfast was beautiful and staff were very friendly. Highly recommend for any couple going away for the weekend.

Dinner at the nearby restaurant was also very pleasant and professional. Will definitely return.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hazy51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
94 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2013

We have just returned from a fabulous stay at Spicers Vineyards Estate in the Hunter Valley. We have been there many times but this time it was just amazing to see the new “Luxury Spa Suites” which have just been added – the décor is subtle, modern and totally relaxing. The fireplaces in each room are a treat and are all prepared for lighting – all you have to do is light them and relax with a glass of bubbly which is in your mini bar for your enjoyment. The mini bar in The Vineyards Estate is totally there for your use – complimentary.
Each evening one of the amazing staff arrives at your door, cocktails in hand – what more could anyone want – sitting in front of a fire, sipping on a lovely cocktail.
The bathroom is huge with underfloor heating and everything you could ever want, including the fluffiest white robes. The new pool is wonderful as is the lovely outdoor hot spa .

Of course, the finale to a day is dinner in Restaurant Botanica! Chef Mark Stapleton and his wife Belinda are the ultimate hosts. Mark’s food is prepared from the best ingredients – that is very obvious when you taste it and no matter what you choose from the menu, it is delicious, starting with a ‘taster’ with compliments from the chef.

The breakfast is great with fresh fruit, fresh fruit mixed juice, poached eggs which are cooked to perfection, home made little quiches and other delicious items.

Huge congratulations to Belinda, Mark and their fabulous team!
I will never ever stay anywhere else when in The Hunter Valley – just love it!!

Room Tip: Just love the new Luxury Spa Suites!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LorriSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2013

We recently stayed in one of the new suites for 2 nights. Very impressed with the personal touches in room like lighted candles on arrival, bottle bubbly in fridge, cocktails delivered to room in the evening, fluffy robes and an amazing bathroom and open fire place. Beautifully decorated suite and very comfortable. The staff are warm and friendly. Breakfast was delicious. Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2013

My partner and I recently went for a mid-week escape to the Hunter and overall we were very happy with the suite and property - definitely would go again!

So starting with the positives: the room was well appointed and we had a lovely view of the vineyards; the staff were all very friendly and professional and there were quite a few things like the welcome mini-bar, hand-written welcome note, biscotti for the road when checking out which were all very nice little touches to make the stay more memorable; we also had dinner one night at Botanica which is the onsite restaurant and the food was well-cooked and tasty so definitely worth a try.

While I did enjoy the stay there are a couple of things I would suggest could be improved and things for you to consider if you are thinking about staying: firstly with regards to the fireplace - the firescreen can get quite hot to the touch and there was nothing handy in our room for us to move it with when we needed to add on an extra log (but this is a very minor issue for the pleasure of having a fireplace in the room); also we had the room just upstairs from reception so it did get a bit noisier when people where checking in; lastly if you are like me and like to have a separate bath and shower then you may struggle a little as well with the combined spa bath/shower in the King Spa guestroom.

If you're unsure of where to stay in the Hunter (and assuming you don't have kids travelling with you) then give Spicers a go - I'm sure you will enjoy your stay there as much as we did.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leigh Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2013

We recently spent our 25 th wedding Anniversary at Spicers Vineyard Estate.The property is beautiful,the rooms ( we were in one of the new suites) was perfect in every way.One thing that we were overly impressed with was all the personal touches in our room and also offered by the exceptional staff.All at Spicers should be extremely proud of yourselves.Loved it,Loved it,Loved it.
Also booked my husband into spa he thought it was fantastic and the bath salts Brie provided was another personal touch,very relaxing experience

Room Tip: Very serene,very relaxing.If you have the chance visit Brie in the spa,my husband loved his massage!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank glyn289
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2013 via mobile

Absolutely nailed it! Everything about our one night stay was fantastic: the staff are very warm and genuine, the rooms are pristine and perfectly clean and the breakfast was beautiful. Lots of very nice small touches, like a cold bottle of bubbly in the fridge, prepared open fire and cocktails at 5.30 made this a very memorable stay. Will be raving about it to friends and family.

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Tim_and_Lisa72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pokolbin
8.1 mi away
The Sebel Kirkton Park Hunter Valley
4.7 mi away
Chateau Elan Hunter Valley
0.4 mi away
Splinters Guest House
Splinters Guest House
#3 of 15 in Pokolbin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens
6.7 mi away
The Convent Hunter Valley
The Convent Hunter Valley
#9 of 15 in Pokolbin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
7.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spicers Vineyards Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spicers Vineyards Estate

Property: Spicers Vineyards Estate
Address: 555 Hermitage Rd, Pokolbin, New South Wales 2320, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Pokolbin
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Pokolbin
#1 Spa Hotel in Pokolbin
#2 Romantic Hotel in Pokolbin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Spicers Vineyards Estate 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Personal service & attention to detail in every way! A luxurious Guesthouse, Spicers Vineyards Estate is set amidst its own private vineyard. Every suite features king beds, lounge area, open fireplace, spa en-suite, flat screen TV with CD/DVD and IPod dock, whilst the property boasts gourmet dining experiences at onsite Restaurant Botanica, Salt water pool & spa, guest lounge & boardroom, free wireless broadband and every guest is greeted on arrival with complimentary wine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, Odigeo, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Spicers Vineyards Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spicers Vineyards Estate Hotel Pokolbin
Vineyards Estate Pokolbin
Vineyards Estate Hotel Pokolbin
Spicers Vineyards Estate Greater Newcastle/Pokolbin, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing