We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BLISS”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Spicers Vineyards Estate
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Pokolbin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 August 2013

My Husband and I recently stayed at spicers for a relaxing night away and could not have been happier with the service! Spicers is by far the best accommodation we have ever stayed in!!! Open Fire place, spa, heated floors in the bathroom, free mini bar, welcome drink, the list goes on and on! Breakfast was delicious and we will be sure to stay there again!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ainslie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (893)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

712 - 718 of 893 reviews

Reviewed 7 August 2013

Spicer's Vineyard Estate is a nice guesthouse, I wouldn't go so far as to say that it is luxurious or 5-star but the surroundings are quite pretty and the rooms are comfortable. The rooms are starting to seem a bit outdated, particularly the bathrooms; the shower ran hot and cold, and the water pressure wasn't great. They've recently renovated a handful 'Luxury spa suites' but unfortunately none of these were available the weekend my partner and I stayed at Spicer's so we were in a King Spa Suite. One great thing about the room is the open fireplace - a must have in winter, and the marshmallows supplied for 'toasting' are a lovely touch. We stayed in an upstairs room and we could hear some noise (talking, tv sounds) through the wall from the room next to us. The breakfast served in the restaurant is very, very good (outstanding quality) although its a set menu and I always like to have some options for breakfast.

It is also very convenient to have an on-site spa and I enjoyed my massage. All-in-all I think Spicer's is good value for the price and I'd be very interested to try the Luxury Spa Suites as I'm yet to find 'luxury' in the Hunter.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Naomi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2013

We recently celebrated our anniversary with 4 days of pampering at Spicers Vinyard.
It was a chilly few days in the Hunter which made each evening by our open fire perfect . The wood is supplied each day,and each evening cocktails arrive at your door.
The spa is wonderful & even the bathroom essentials are luxuriously divine.
The staff are outstanding. You won't find sweeter, more efficient & accommodating people.
Our meals were delicious. The duck & pork belly alone were worth our 5 hour drive !
Thank you so much to all, we will most certainly be back xx

Room Tip: We stayed in a 2nd level room & will chose to do so again.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kellie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2013

Spicer's Vineyard Estate offers an all inclusive tariff of dinner bed and breakfast.

This superb spacious ground floor 8 room accommodation is supported by attentive staff and a welcome drink. A real wood fire is set in in the large sitting area of each bedroom for the guest to light. More wood already split is available at the rear door of your suite A welcome drink is delivered to your room and you are invited to raid the room refrigerator which contains a 750 mm bottle of sparkling wine, 4 locally brewed beers, 2 mineral water and a white wine and pantry cupboard which is plentifully supplied with chocolates, chips, mints,.etc At no additional charge you are invited to take all the un-used items with you.

The restaurant is positioned approximately 100 metres west of and completely separate from the accommodation complex. The inclusive dinner consists of three courses of your choice from the regular menu.. Drinks are not included. The chef's presentation of each dish is visually attractive and very appealing. The attention of the wait staff is commendable. Breakfast leaves nothing to be desired. Overall you receive more than what you pay for and I commend Spicers to any intended visitor to the New South Wales Hunter River Valley Vineyard area

Room Tip: A distinction cannot be made between rooms which run in an easterly direction from the reception are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelledtoomutch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

The team at Spicers took care of our group wonderfully last weekend. Spicers was a beautiful and faultless place to stay. The staff were excellent, so warm and so accommodating. Nothing was too difficult for them and you can tell that each one of them loves what they do and working for Spicers. I loved all the personal and thoughtfully chosen touches, from your welcome note and gift to the choice of beautiful spa products. We will definitely be returning soon.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gemcribb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013

We recently spent 2 heavenly nights at Spicers Vineyard and I am already dreaming of my next stay. I have stayed at a few (5 star) properties in the Hunter Region and this has by far been my favourite in terms of style, facilities and service. The rooms are perfectly appointed - for our mid-winter stay I wanted a fireplace, spa and a comfy place to bunker down and relax - and the Spicers rooms ticked every box and more. Our mid-week package included breakfast, a lovely bottle of Hunter red and marshmallows for the fire - cute, fun little touches which added to the already great value and quality of our stay. Further little added inclusions like a free DVD library and free minibar (yes free minibar!!) were also lovely touches.

But beyond the fantastic rooms the service was really outstanding - with special mentions to Sharon and manager Belinda. Nothing was too much trouble and service was always with a smile. We made a few little requests during our stay which were actioned immediately. Breakfast was truly delish. Sharon also assisted us with a wonderful dinner reservation at Shakey Tables - reading us very well and recommending a style of restaurant that really suited both our personalities and dietary requirements.

Thank you Spicers Team for a lovely mid week treat - we can't wait to stay again!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smalltraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

We spent a 2 night stay here in the depths of July winter. It is in a good position and the level of offering is very good.

It seems that this is a refurbished property linked now to a group "Spicers" hailing from Queensland. The refurbishment shows a few signs of haste and cost-cutting - but mainly because I was looking for them.

Service is impeccable. Small touches abound. Breakfast is taken in the stand-alone Botanica Restaurant and was excellent save for the smoked salmon served with the poached eggs, which was strangely unappetising.

We have one major criticism, easily rectified. The rooms are large suites. They contain neither drawers, shelves in the wardrobe or even (folding) luggage stands. A weird oversight by the interior designer.

Room Tip: Ground floor suites were fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fixitfox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SpicersVineyards, Owner at Spicers Vineyards Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2013

Dear Fixitfox,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor and sharing your experience. Thank you also for writing your 'Quite Outstanding' review on our restaurant, Botanica!

We purchased the property 5 years ago, then known as The Vineyards Estate and became one of the founding properties within the Spicers group a few years later. Since purchasing the property we have been continuously dedicated to finding areas to improve and upgrade facilities and offerings. I can absolutely assure you that the few items you given for improvements to our great offering are not an oversight or cost cutting exercise in our ongoing refurbishment. Your stay was in one of the original rooms that we built by the original owners, and since purchasing the property, we have extensively renovated the bathrooms, carpeted the rooms so they are lovely and cozy (rather than the previous cold tiles), painted, removed a lot of old fittings and added new beds, bed heads and furniture. I completely agree that the original owners built a large building with large rooms and little thought into items like shelving in the robes etc, however rest assured that Luggage stands have already been ordered and shelving for the Robes is on the top of our list of next item to improve!

Recently we also finished building 4 new Luxury Spa Suites (along with a dedicated Day Spa and all new outdoor Pool and Spa) and when I designed these rooms, we made sure that all of essentials like shelving, draws & built in luggage racks were well thought out from the start. So, by the time you visit next, you will be able to enjoy either the new additions in the King Spa rooms or the option of the brand new Luxury Spa Suites.

Thank you again for your lovely feedback and review and we look forward to welcoming you back again and showcasing the next stage of improvements! If I can be of personal assistance in planning another stay, please feel free to contact me at any time on gm.vineyards@spicersgroup.com.au

Warmest regards,
Belinda Stapleton
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pokolbin
8.1 mi away
Kirkton Park Hotel Hunter Valley
7.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley
4.4 mi away
Chateau Elan Hunter Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens
6.7 mi away
The Convent Hunter Valley
The Convent Hunter Valley
#11 of 15 in Pokolbin
255 reviews
4.4 mi away
Grand Mercure The Vintage Hunter Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spicers Vineyards Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spicers Vineyards Estate

Address: 555 Hermitage Rd, Pokolbin, New South Wales 2320, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Pokolbin
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Pokolbin
#1 Luxury Hotel in Pokolbin
#2 Romantic Hotel in Pokolbin
Price Range: £270 - £425 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Spicers Vineyards Estate 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Personal service & attention to detail in every way! A luxurious Guesthouse, Spicers Vineyards Estate is set amidst its own private vineyard. Every suite features king beds, lounge area, open fireplace, spa en-suite, flat screen TV with CD/DVD and IPod dock, whilst the property boasts gourmet dining experiences at onsite Restaurant Botanica, Salt water pool & spa, guest lounge & boardroom, free wireless broadband and every guest is greeted on arrival with complimentary wine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Ctrip TA and Odigeo so you can book your Spicers Vineyards Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spicers Vineyards Estate Hotel Pokolbin
Vineyards Estate Pokolbin
Vineyards Estate Hotel Pokolbin
Spicers Vineyards Estate Greater Newcastle/Pokolbin, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing