We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excels! Others should follow!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Spicers Vineyards Estate

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Spicers Vineyards Estate
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Pokolbin
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Excels! Others should follow!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2013 via mobile

Finally a luxury getaway that gets it! When you pay a certain amount of money for Accomodation you expect exactly what spicers delivers. Uncompromising hospitality, friendliest staff on the planet, and a place that is willing to go that extra mile! Botanica is all class and the day spa is a must. Book a weekend away here or do what we did and spend the week!

Definitely a top 3 destination for Australia

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ano N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SpicersVineyards, Owner at Spicers Vineyards Estate, responded to this review, 28 September 2013
Dearest Ano,

We enjoyed looking after you as much as you enjoyed your stay!! Now you have found yourself a little peace and quiet, luxury and friendliness - dont be shy, we would love to welcome you back again - perhaps your anniversary!!???

Hoping you are not dreaming about your week in the Hunter too much - perhaps you should enjoy a nice bottle of Hunter Semillon to bring back the memories!

Hoping to welcome you back again soon!

Belinda Stapleton and team!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

823 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    731
    73
    11
    6
    2
See reviews for
29
683
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013

Spent a weekend away at this lovely winery, which is situated in a secluded area in the Hunter Valley away from the busier areas of Pokolbin. Luxurious accommodation and fantastic service.Cocktails brought to your room in the evening and breakfast brought up to your room as well upon request. Spacious room with fireplace and complimentary drinks and nibbles. Only complaint is the low water pressure in the shower and variable hot water. The restaurant on site, Botanica was outstanding. Highly recommended Hunter Valley getaway.

Room Tip: Ask for an upstairs room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Craig G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SpicersVineyards, Owner at Spicers Vineyards Estate, responded to this review, 28 September 2013
Hi Craig!

Such a pleasure to read your review of Spicers Vineyards Estate! We were especially pleased to hear that you thought so highly of our beautiful restaurant onsite, Botanica.

We hope to welcome you back again soon!

Warm wishes,

Belinda Stapleton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coogee, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

We stayed at this wonderful estate midweek, during August. Everything was such a high standard and we relished every momen. Our room was very comfortable, clean and peaceful. The restaurant was the highlight of our stay. Also we highly recommend a treatment in the relaxing spa. Every member of staff was so welcoming and professional. I have every intention to return and highly recommend this estate to stay whilst visiting the Hunter Valley.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2013

While we had a wonderful weekend in the Hunter I continue to be surprised by the lack of good quality, high end, boutique and large hotels at a reasonable price. Most are dated and in serious need of refurbishment which is why I booked at Spicer's.
The design and furnishings in the rooms at Spicer's are well coordinated and the bedding comfort factor and linen is spot on. The open fireplace set perfectly was a nice touch as were the generous inclusions in the mini bar. But it's what you would expect of a boutique hotel at $500 per night.
The restaurant is a must visit if you're staying (and not just for breakfast). The dinner we had at Botanica was exceptional (and go say hi to the big gorgeous pigs down the back if you get time - they're really friendly).
What let this trip down was the room was on top of the reception so not nearly as private or quiet as you would hope (you could hear guests coming and going), it had no balcony or outdoor space, the tv reception was poor at best and the hot water was hit and miss and lacked any real pressure. While these things seem trivial, for a high end boutique hotel you expect a higher standard.
The extra little things they did made this stay go from average to quite good (mini bar, breakfast in our room on the sunday, cocktail in the evening and the biscotti on departure) but what would have made our stay better would have been explanation of room layout and locations to help guests understand the level of privacy and noise (or some better soundproofing) and reconsidering those shower heads and water pressure options. It also wouldn't hurt to sort out the tv reception and integrate an on-demand movie service. It's a hard balance to get a boutique hotel right however it couldn't hurt to upgrade a few of the facilities.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sydneytraveller83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malabar
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2013

Every visit to Spicers is special and a wonderful experience. The personal service is special and Belinda and Mark make a special effort to make the experience exceptional.
The wine list at Botanica is first class with a range of premium Australian and French wines which are retail priced and not typically Restaurant priced. The food at Botanica from Breakfast to dinner is 3 Hat quality. As Bruce Tyrrell mentioned to me recently when the restaurant at Pooles Rock closed, he was worried that the Hunter lost a 3 Hat restaurant. But he said Botanica has more than filled that gap.

Room Tip: Upgrade to the top floor Executive suites for a 5 Star room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MalabarTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013

My husband and I had the best weekend here. From the moment you arrive the service you receive is second to none. From the complimentary mini bar, to the in room fire place, evening cocktails and welcome card - Spicers Vineyards Estate makes for a perfect weekend getaway.

The restaurant on site 'Botanica' is fabulous, we ate both breakfast and dinner there.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
90 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013

We stayed one night & booked the dinner at Botanica. We were kindly upgraded to a deluxe room and it was perfect. A large bathroom with a spa that had underfloor heating. The separate lounge room had an open fire and was also very spacious. The complimentary mini bar was really generous with sparkling wine and plenty of nibbles. This would probably be the most complete place we have stayed at in Hunter Wine Country. The breakfast in the morning was based on the experience of the chef in Paris. It was not only a genuine example but everything you could ask for including cereal, pastries, eggs and a fruit platter. A great start to the day in their Botanica restaurant. The staff were alI friendly and willing to please. I would not hesitate to recommend this place to anyone wanting to stay someone in genuine comfort while exploring the vineyards.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Billy338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pokolbin
8.2 mi away
The Sebel Kirkton Park Hunter Valley
5.7 mi away
Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens
4.7 mi away
Chateau Elan Hunter Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
The Convent Hunter Valley
The Convent Hunter Valley
#11 of 15 in Pokolbin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
0.5 mi away
Splinters Guest House
Splinters Guest House
#3 of 15 in Pokolbin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
7.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spicers Vineyards Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spicers Vineyards Estate

Property: Spicers Vineyards Estate
Address: 555 Hermitage Rd, Pokolbin, New South Wales 2320, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Pokolbin
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Pokolbin
#1 Luxury Hotel in Pokolbin
#2 Romantic Hotel in Pokolbin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Spicers Vineyards Estate 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Personal service & attention to detail in every way! A luxurious Guesthouse, Spicers Vineyards Estate is set amidst its own private vineyard. Every suite features king beds, lounge area, open fireplace, spa en-suite, flat screen TV with CD/DVD and IPod dock, whilst the property boasts gourmet dining experiences at onsite Restaurant Botanica, Salt water pool & spa, guest lounge & boardroom, free wireless broadband and every guest is greeted on arrival with complimentary wine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Spicers Vineyards Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spicers Vineyards Estate Hotel Pokolbin
Vineyards Estate Pokolbin
Vineyards Estate Hotel Pokolbin
Spicers Vineyards Estate Greater Newcastle/Pokolbin, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing