We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Maybe the best stay, ever”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Spicers Vineyards Estate
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Pokolbin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 June 2014

My wife and I stayed here recently and while already expecting a good experience were surprised and delighted by this phenomenal hotel. While not a striking building on the outside, everything else (what matters) was five star, top notch, no hassle, and magnificent. The grounds were phenomenal, and we took a nice stroll at sunset, glass of complimentary champagne in hand, and watch the long shadows advance over the magical landscape. Our only regret was we we were for only one night. Next time, it will be for longer. The food at Botanica - the attached restaurant - was excellent if a little pricey. Service at all levels was 100% top notch. Oh yeah - a knock on the door before dinner was two lovely ladies serving us up with Pimm's cocktails. Are you kidding? Wow. Well done, Spicers!

Room Tip: I would think upstairs would be better? All the rooms looked great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cloudripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SpicersHunterValley, Owner at Spicers Vineyards Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Cloudripper

We are glad you and your wife experienced a delightful stay with us.
You are right we are so very lucky to experience such a tranquil and magical property.
Its not too often we get the time to sit back, relax and enjoy the surroundings but the best way to enjoy the magical sunsets and long shadows is with a cocktail or glass of bubbles in hand.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Spicers and I'm sure next time we will see you for that extra night.

Warmest Regards

Belinda Stapleton- Spicers Vineyards Estate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (886)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

585 - 591 of 886 reviews

Reviewed 16 June 2014

It's hard to find fault in any aspect of our stay at Spicers Vineyard Estate. We especially appreciated the genuinely attentive, considerate and graceful service we received from every staff member. The service was never contrived or patronising, and we felt personally looked after at all times from booking until checking out. Couple this with a lovely setting, a divine restaurant, superbly comfortable rooms and plenty of extra thoughtful details, and you have a perfect package!

This was our first getaway we've been able to have as a couple for ten years and I personally couldn't have wished for a better getaway for this occasion. I just wish we could visit again soon!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank JaneandSimon2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SpicersHunterValley, Owner at Spicers Vineyards Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Dear Jane and Simon,

Thank you for the time you have taken to write your fabulous review.

We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your getaway with us at Spicers.
Providing an Exceptional service to all is something we pride ourselves on and it is fantastic to hear you felt personally look after.

Our friendly guest services team look forward to hearing from you soon to book your next getaway.

Warmest Regards

Belinda Stapleton- Spicers Vineyards Estate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

It was a very relaxing trip and we really enjoyed ourselves. The dinner at Botanica was amazing. Everyone there was thoughtful and they had thought of every detail of your trip. The resort was quiet and we enjoyed the fireplace and just doing nothing much.. The breakfast was yummy too!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Joannepb88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SpicersHunterValley, Owner at Spicers Vineyards Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Joannepb88

We appreciate the time you have taken to write your "Lovely and Relaxing" review on your recent stay with us at Spicers.

We are so pleased you enjoyed a relaxing time with us and you appreciated the little extra inclusions to make your stay a memorable experience.

We hope to welcome you back to our home very soon.

Warmest Regards

Belinda Stapleton- Spicers Vineyards Estate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

This is one of the special places in the Hunter. Not your standard guest house, way beyond that. Think your own fireplace, unbelievable finishes and food to die for. Even that doesn't do it justice. The only way to experience the hunter.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Stevewb0612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SpicersHunterValley, Owner at Spicers Vineyards Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Dear Steven,

We appreciate the time you have taken to write your "Amazing" review of your stay with us at Spicers.
We are so pleased to hear we were able to spoil you whilst being able to experiences the delights of the Hunter Valley.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our home very soon.

Warmest Regards

Belinda Stapleton- Spicers Vineyards Estate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We had been to the Hunter ten years earlier and were keen to see how things had developed in our absence. We were not disappointed. We wanted comfortable accommodation and Spicers certainly provided that with comfortable rooms, a very quiet environment and excellent food and wine. The staff were extremely helpful.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Traveller4556
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SpicersVineyards, Owner at Spicers Vineyards Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2014

Traveller4556 -

We are so pleased you made it back to our beautiful Hunter Region after 10 years - we hope you don't leave it so long next time! Glad that you have discovered our little piece of peace and quiet here amongst the vineyards and we will be very pleased to welcome you back again (before 10 years!). Please feel free to contact our guest services team at any time if we can assist with any future plans to the region.

Warmest Regards,

Belinda, Mark and the Spicers Vineyards Team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

The room was very clean and spacious. It had some very cosy, private and luxurous features. The staff was very attentive and the food was excellent. The only problem was I book some additional things online and it was never received so we could not enjoy what that package offered. Hope to come back soon

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Brad And Michel... M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SpicersVineyards, Owner at Spicers Vineyards Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2014

Dear Brad and Michel,

Thank you so much for your 'Very Relaxing' review of Spicers Vineyards Estate. We were so pleased to read that you loved the property and your stay. Our greatest apologies that some of the extras you requested through our new online system were not received - we have ironed out a couple of small wrinkles in the system and can assure you all of your needs can be taken care of. Please feel free to contact me personally in the future if I can assist with any requests - we look forward to welcoming you for another relaxing stay!

Warmest Regards,
Belinda, Mark and the Spicers Vineyards Estate Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

A beautiful property which was blissfully quiet. The property and staff have thought of the small touches that make a stay all that more special. Spacious rooms that are well appointed and the restaurant is delicious! Well worth a visit.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Lauren J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SpicersVineyards, Owner at Spicers Vineyards Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2014

Dear Lauren J,

What a lovely review - thank you so much for sharing your experience! We truly pride ourselves on thinking about the little touches and details of our guest experience and are so pleased you noticed. Glad to hear your thoughts on Restaurant Botanica being delicious - the word is certainly getting out and we are now focusing on extending the restaurant so that we can look after all of the guests requesting tables! Soon we will be adding a lovely outdoor fireplace to the restaurant so we look forward to showcasing this to you on your next visit!

Warmest Hunter region regards,

Belinda, Mark and the Spicers Team xxx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pokolbin
8.1 mi away
Kirkton Park Hotel Hunter Valley
4.4 mi away
Chateau Elan Hunter Valley
7.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens
6.7 mi away
The Convent Hunter Valley
The Convent Hunter Valley
#11 of 15 in Pokolbin
255 reviews
4.4 mi away
Grand Mercure The Vintage Hunter Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spicers Vineyards Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spicers Vineyards Estate

Address: 555 Hermitage Rd, Pokolbin, New South Wales 2320, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Pokolbin
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Pokolbin
#1 Spa Hotel in Pokolbin
#2 Romantic Hotel in Pokolbin
Price Range: £258 - £423 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Spicers Vineyards Estate 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Personal service & attention to detail in every way! A luxurious Guesthouse, Spicers Vineyards Estate is set amidst its own private vineyard. Every suite features king beds, lounge area, open fireplace, spa en-suite, flat screen TV with CD/DVD and IPod dock, whilst the property boasts gourmet dining experiences at onsite Restaurant Botanica, Salt water pool & spa, guest lounge & boardroom, free wireless broadband and every guest is greeted on arrival with complimentary wine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Ctrip TA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Spicers Vineyards Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spicers Vineyards Estate Hotel Pokolbin
Vineyards Estate Pokolbin
Vineyards Estate Hotel Pokolbin
Spicers Vineyards Estate Greater Newcastle/Pokolbin, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing