We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved the place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Spicers Vineyards Estate
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Pokolbin
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
273 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 412 helpful votes
“We loved the place”
Reviewed 13 October 2010

Staff were friendly and professional, the suite was very clean, had great views, was quiet, had a great spa bath in a roomy bathroom, comfortable king bed and lounge. The resort has only 8 suites. We didn't get to try the restaurant, as it was closed on the nights we stayed, but the continental breakfast was superb.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SydneyConcordian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

839 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    746
    74
    11
    6
    2
See reviews for
32
694
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2010

Wow! Where to start? It's hard to go past the really really friendly service. But the delightful bed deserves a mention as well as all the little extras that just kept on appearing.

We did the $424 overnight minibreak booked through Wotif. This may seem like a lot, but the price included
- all access pass to the contents of the mini bar (including a very nice bottle of sparkling)
- loccitane products and all the other fluffy things you want in your room
- 3 course meal for two at the most amazing restaurant in the Hunter (attached to the accommodation)
- breakfast at the same restaurant which included freshly made juice, home made pastries and all the other important stuff!
I don't know about you, but in my opinion that's pretty good value for money!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moonlight_em
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 3 October 2010

We arrived frazzled after fighting with the GPS to the warmest welcome I think I've ever experienced. Our room was just perfect, down to the hand written welcome note, the champagne and the chocolate covered strawberries, and the soothing music which was gently playing in the background. And it just kept getting better. The lodge is just beautiful, and the grounds are just fantastic to wander around in - take your camera as there are some very photogenic kangaroos and rabbits around - although the rabbits did take a little persuading to let us capture them in a photo. And there's more - I'd recommend dieting before you get there as even the most avid dieter will throw it out the window once they experience Botanica's food - thank God there are heaps of walks around the area so you can either walk off last night's dinner or make sure you can cope with the breakfast. Or there's swimming, or a mini golf course or tennis as well to keep you active, or you could pretend to do some serious reading with your book upside down as you doze in the sunshine. And that's actually not the best of this place - the service and friendliness is just out of this world - whatever we wanted, they did, whether it was teaching us ham handed Queenslanders how to keep our fire alight, to providing marshmallows to toast in front of the lounge fire, to persuading a tour operator to provide a tour normally needing 14 people for just four of us. Not to mention their knowledge of the area and places to go.We always look for boutique luxury but it's very seldom that you find it combined with effortless hospitality and genuine warmth. We were hugely sorry to leave and are already planning a return trip. Oh and by the way - one of the inhabitants has a face book page - do go say hello to Salami, the pet pig, and if you ask nicely, you'll also be honoured to meet new arrival Chop Chop. Whether you want to unwind, or have a romantic few days or rush around exploring one of the loveliest countrysides you'll find anywhere - this is definitely the place to find it all.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deluxevoyageur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 27 September 2010

This was our first trip to the Hunter Valley and having spent 4 nights recently stayed with my partner and friends at The Vineyards Estate we found the place absolutely amazing. We were greeted warmly at reception and immediately shown to our rooms. To our surprise there was a bottle of bubbly on ice with 2 glasses and a little note saying welcome,,there chocolate dipped strawberries in the fridge and the whole mini bar was complimentary. The rooms were beautiful and overlooking the lovely gardens. The bathroom has a spa and fresh fluffy towels, with fabulous bath gels, shampoos etc. And the service was just incredible. There was a wood fireplace in each room with a good supply of wood. Whatever we asked for we got immediately. The Restaurant "Botanica" has the most wonderful menu,with prices being quite reasonable, and once again the service is something we have never experienced before and we felt like part of the family. There is nothing we could fault in this place. We met the pig Salami and the piglet Chop Chop who are most adorable. We were greeted every morning by kangaroos, and rabbits and even a couple of lizards came for a feed while we were sunning on the deck. What a place. Thank you to the staff. Ladies you are the greatest. We were very sad to leave and even had a little cry. We can't wait to return to this amazing place. Once again thank you for a most memorable experience.
Andrew and Barbara Cieslak

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 3chickens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2010

Stayed at the Vineyards Estate at the end of August for two nights, with my Boyfriend who proposed during our stay. As soon as we arrived the Staff were so welcomming, Our room was gorgeous, Relaxing music was playing. We didnt want to leave our room but we were very happy we did for dinner at their on site Restaurant "Botanica". This ambience was amazing with the warm wood fire burning and relaxing music playing, ovelooking the vineyards to enjoy a meal that was amazing, very romantic. Very well priced for what was included in the meal. The food was very tasty and we cant wait to go back, just for how good the food was. Also the restaurant was just a very short stroll away from our room. The breakfast was another relaxing and very tasty experience, with freshly squeezed fruit juices, pastries and quiches to enjoy in the restaurant while overlooking the beautiful vineyards, or in our room if we wanted. We chose to eat breakfast in the restaurant because we loved the view. The day my Boyfriend proposed we decided to go to another restaurant in Polkolbin for dinner to celebrate the occasion. It was at Hope Estate & we were very disappointed. Unon return to our room the staff at Vineyards Estate had decorated our room with tea light candles, and left a little bottle of bubbly, as we had shared news of our engagement with the staff before we left for dinner. With such a lovely surprise we totally forgot about the bad dinner experience at Hope Estate and we were very appreciative of the effort the staff had gone to. The tennis court & garden golf course were fantastic relaxation out on the peaceful property. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here at Spicers Vineyards Estate and cant wait to go back. Its the most relaxing place to stay. Highly reccomended for special occasions such as proposals.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kylieelise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2010

My wife and I stayed at The Vineyards Estate for 2 nights in July. This was our first trip to the Hunter Valley and we did thorough research to choose the best location for our accomodation. The Vineyards exceeded all our expectations. We arrived a little early but were offered a prompt check in as our room was ready. My wife requested a latte on our arrival and within minutes was delivered to our room. And what a room, first class furnishings, king bed, top class linen, flat screen tv with dvd with surround sound, romantic fireplace with ample wood supllied, huge bathroom with spa and L'octaine products. And to top it off, a mini bar fridge and goodies filled up for complimentary use on our arrival. The Vineyard's 'Botanica' restraunt is first class. We ate there on our first night and were treated to a fantastic dinner, the chef is one of the best you'll find anywhere in the world! The prices are high, but well worth the quality of meal you get. Overall the entire staff are excellent. Warm and welcoming, and no request is too difficult. Free wifi internet is supllied if you bring a laptop. The grounds surrounding The Vineyards Estate are emmaculately maintained. It is peacefully quiet with amazing views of the surrounding vineyards and mountain range. You are within close driving range of all the main Hunter attractions, yet still away from any busy roads or tourist attractions. We highly recomend this property for a romantic getaway with a touch of class.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pacmusic08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hong kong
1 review
Reviewed 8 July 2010

Recently spent a few days here mid week. If you can handle the price - you will not regret your choice to stay here. The staff always had smiles on and seemed literally happy to help. The rooms are great - only one constructive critisism though - the showers have very low water pressure - quite annoying but didnt change the experience. The fire was made up every day - all you had to do was light a match - a basket of wood is outside the door.

The tennis court is in very good condition - the restaurant is also surprisingly good - was expecting more home cooking - but was high calibre restaurant quality food.

Also - WIFI is free and you can pick it up throughout the rooms - nice plus

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cdecourcyh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pokolbin
8.1 mi away
Kirkton Park Hotel Hunter Valley
6.7 mi away
The Convent Hunter Valley
The Convent Hunter Valley
#10 of 15 in Pokolbin
242 reviews
4.7 mi away
Chateau Elan Hunter Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens
0.4 mi away
Splinters Guest House
Splinters Guest House
#4 of 15 in Pokolbin
293 reviews
7.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spicers Vineyards Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spicers Vineyards Estate

Property: Spicers Vineyards Estate
Address: 555 Hermitage Rd, Pokolbin, New South Wales 2320, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Pokolbin
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Pokolbin
#1 Spa Hotel in Pokolbin
#2 Romantic Hotel in Pokolbin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Spicers Vineyards Estate 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Personal service & attention to detail in every way! A luxurious Guesthouse, Spicers Vineyards Estate is set amidst its own private vineyard. Every suite features king beds, lounge area, open fireplace, spa en-suite, flat screen TV with CD/DVD and IPod dock, whilst the property boasts gourmet dining experiences at onsite Restaurant Botanica, Salt water pool & spa, guest lounge & boardroom, free wireless broadband and every guest is greeted on arrival with complimentary wine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Spicers Vineyards Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spicers Vineyards Estate Hotel Pokolbin
Vineyards Estate Pokolbin
Vineyards Estate Hotel Pokolbin
Spicers Vineyards Estate Greater Newcastle/Pokolbin, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing