We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Experience Beyond Expectation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Spicers Vineyards Estate
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Pokolbin
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Experience Beyond Expectation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2011

My partner and I wanted to get away from the hustle and bustle of a Sydney New Years Eve.
We called a number of hotels/resorts in the Hunter Valley and from the moment the phone was answered at The Spicers Vineyard Estate I knew that this is where we were going to stay.
Our Suite (One of only Nine) was palacial with a the most comfortable King Sized Bed, fully stocked complimentary mini bar, open fire place (sadly redundant in Summer) and an ensuite fit for a King. The A/C was already on and the fragrant candle set the scene for a wonderfully romantic stay.
New Years Eve DInner was a perfect 6 course degustation. Starting with Canapes and local champagne beside the Vines we were ever impressed as each course of perfectly cooked, presented and served food was matched to its perfect wine (both local and international). Many thanks to chef, Mark!!
After dinner we returned to our suite before the clock struck twelve to find that the room had been serviced again and a bottle of bubbles coupled with a box of chocolates were awaiting us in the living area. Happy New Year???? Yes, indeed!!
Breakfast (my favourite meal of the day) at The Spicers Vineyard Estate was other-wordly. In the true Parisian Style we were served freshly baked croissant, danish and savoury tarts, a personal fruit platter, freshly squeezed juice cocktails and freshly brewed coffee to your taste. I confess that I visited the DIY cereal buffet twice because the exotic muesli was incredible.
Above all else the icing on the cake would have to be the service provided to us by Belinda and her Team. My partner and I were treated like we were the only people on the estate (In fact, it was fully booked). We were made to feel that we were the most important people in the world. Every request was met with a smile and was executed immediately.
Belinda recommended our activities, booked them on our behalf and even took care of the payment so that we paid one invoice for the entire weekend. The staff were so personable, friendly and professional.
I highly recommend The Spicers Vineyard Estate to anyone wanting the quintessential Hunter Valley getaway. We will most certainly go back (sooner rather than later) to experience it all over again.
Thanks Belinda, Mark and all the Team.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mirage1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

829 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    737
    73
    11
    6
    2
See reviews for
29
687
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
adelaide
Level Contributor
39 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2010

this is one of those places where when you arrive you start to feel relaxed. all questions are answered so you dont need to ask.

rooms: clean, selection of books had me reading one before i knew it bc they were actually really good. the bed was a massive old redgum creation. fridge had bottle of chilled champagne and tea light candles were lit waiting for us. a great experience all round

Restaurant Botanica: we only ate the parisian breakfast here as the restaurant wasnt open the nights of our stay. the food and service were outstanding and made us wish we could have stayed longer

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tourist25-35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
100 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2010

A weekend away for our anniversary was made even more special with the service.
Nothing was too much trouble as we ambled in after 10pm on Friday night, having driven from Sydney.
The rooms are lovely with L'Occitane amenities; the open fire didn't need lighting but the little touches throughout were really thoughtful - aerogard; towels with sunscreen for the pool.
The beds were so super comfy and I wish we didn't have to leave.
Sitting outside for breakfast looking to the mountains was a lovely way to start the day.
Would recommend to everyone!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tysontrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
271 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 411 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2010

Staff were friendly and professional, the suite was very clean, had great views, was quiet, had a great spa bath in a roomy bathroom, comfortable king bed and lounge. The resort has only 8 suites. We didn't get to try the restaurant, as it was closed on the nights we stayed, but the continental breakfast was superb.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SydneyConcordian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2010

Wow! Where to start? It's hard to go past the really really friendly service. But the delightful bed deserves a mention as well as all the little extras that just kept on appearing.

We did the $424 overnight minibreak booked through Wotif. This may seem like a lot, but the price included
- all access pass to the contents of the mini bar (including a very nice bottle of sparkling)
- loccitane products and all the other fluffy things you want in your room
- 3 course meal for two at the most amazing restaurant in the Hunter (attached to the accommodation)
- breakfast at the same restaurant which included freshly made juice, home made pastries and all the other important stuff!
I don't know about you, but in my opinion that's pretty good value for money!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moonlight_em
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2010

We arrived frazzled after fighting with the GPS to the warmest welcome I think I've ever experienced. Our room was just perfect, down to the hand written welcome note, the champagne and the chocolate covered strawberries, and the soothing music which was gently playing in the background. And it just kept getting better. The lodge is just beautiful, and the grounds are just fantastic to wander around in - take your camera as there are some very photogenic kangaroos and rabbits around - although the rabbits did take a little persuading to let us capture them in a photo. And there's more - I'd recommend dieting before you get there as even the most avid dieter will throw it out the window once they experience Botanica's food - thank God there are heaps of walks around the area so you can either walk off last night's dinner or make sure you can cope with the breakfast. Or there's swimming, or a mini golf course or tennis as well to keep you active, or you could pretend to do some serious reading with your book upside down as you doze in the sunshine. And that's actually not the best of this place - the service and friendliness is just out of this world - whatever we wanted, they did, whether it was teaching us ham handed Queenslanders how to keep our fire alight, to providing marshmallows to toast in front of the lounge fire, to persuading a tour operator to provide a tour normally needing 14 people for just four of us. Not to mention their knowledge of the area and places to go.We always look for boutique luxury but it's very seldom that you find it combined with effortless hospitality and genuine warmth. We were hugely sorry to leave and are already planning a return trip. Oh and by the way - one of the inhabitants has a face book page - do go say hello to Salami, the pet pig, and if you ask nicely, you'll also be honoured to meet new arrival Chop Chop. Whether you want to unwind, or have a romantic few days or rush around exploring one of the loveliest countrysides you'll find anywhere - this is definitely the place to find it all.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deluxevoyageur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2010

This was our first trip to the Hunter Valley and having spent 4 nights recently stayed with my partner and friends at The Vineyards Estate we found the place absolutely amazing. We were greeted warmly at reception and immediately shown to our rooms. To our surprise there was a bottle of bubbly on ice with 2 glasses and a little note saying welcome,,there chocolate dipped strawberries in the fridge and the whole mini bar was complimentary. The rooms were beautiful and overlooking the lovely gardens. The bathroom has a spa and fresh fluffy towels, with fabulous bath gels, shampoos etc. And the service was just incredible. There was a wood fireplace in each room with a good supply of wood. Whatever we asked for we got immediately. The Restaurant "Botanica" has the most wonderful menu,with prices being quite reasonable, and once again the service is something we have never experienced before and we felt like part of the family. There is nothing we could fault in this place. We met the pig Salami and the piglet Chop Chop who are most adorable. We were greeted every morning by kangaroos, and rabbits and even a couple of lizards came for a feed while we were sunning on the deck. What a place. Thank you to the staff. Ladies you are the greatest. We were very sad to leave and even had a little cry. We can't wait to return to this amazing place. Once again thank you for a most memorable experience.
Andrew and Barbara Cieslak

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 3chickens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pokolbin
8.1 mi away
The Sebel Kirkton Park Hunter Valley
4.7 mi away
Chateau Elan Hunter Valley
0.4 mi away
Splinters Guest House
Splinters Guest House
#3 of 15 in Pokolbin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens
6.7 mi away
The Convent Hunter Valley
The Convent Hunter Valley
#9 of 15 in Pokolbin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
7.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spicers Vineyards Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spicers Vineyards Estate

Property: Spicers Vineyards Estate
Address: 555 Hermitage Rd, Pokolbin, New South Wales 2320, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Pokolbin
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Pokolbin
#1 Luxury Hotel in Pokolbin
#2 Romantic Hotel in Pokolbin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Spicers Vineyards Estate 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Personal service & attention to detail in every way! A luxurious Guesthouse, Spicers Vineyards Estate is set amidst its own private vineyard. Every suite features king beds, lounge area, open fireplace, spa en-suite, flat screen TV with CD/DVD and IPod dock, whilst the property boasts gourmet dining experiences at onsite Restaurant Botanica, Salt water pool & spa, guest lounge & boardroom, free wireless broadband and every guest is greeted on arrival with complimentary wine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Odigeo and HotelQuickly so you can book your Spicers Vineyards Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spicers Vineyards Estate Hotel Pokolbin
Vineyards Estate Pokolbin
Vineyards Estate Hotel Pokolbin
Spicers Vineyards Estate Greater Newcastle/Pokolbin, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing