We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hunter Valley Resort
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Pokolbin
Adelaide
1 review
“great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2011

what a wonderful location for an enjoyable getaway. Great amenities and wonderful food, wine and beer. enjoyed very much the wine tasting class and even fitted in some horse riding.

Room Tip: try the tasting paddle at the blue tongue brewery.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank veeecee40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

686 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    247
    215
    115
    62
    47
See reviews for
113
382
7
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2011

I stayed at Hunter Resort for a business meeting. It was very pleasant walking amongst the vines on the well tended pathways from room to facilities. The staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful. I needed to log in to internet facilities for work and was able to access the wifi connection in a quiet sitting area. We enjoyed a "Food and Wine Masterclass" which was very informative and we were given some good cooking tips and wine selection tips. The food at the Masterclass was fabulous. The room was very comfortable, clean and well appointed. There was a private "deck" area outside the room with lovely views. The room finishes were somewhat dated but this didn't detract from the functionality of the room. There was a relaxed outdoors sitting area with live music. I highly recommend Hunter Resort.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TAH61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2011

What a fantastic stay, what an amazing place.

The Hunter Valley resort was not just exceptionally well located in the Hunter Valley, but the staff made a real effort to get to know us and be friendly.

Our room was enormous and the view off our private terrace in the evening was superb.
The pool could have done with a little cleaning, but that did not stop us from spending a good hour in it each evening.

Overall, a great stay and excellent value for money.

Thank you!!!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fbourneo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, sweden
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2011

Our stay at Hunter Resort was above expectation. Very nice people, wonderful nature, horse riding, nice roundtour, spacious and high quality accomodation. And right in the middle of the wine district. We can highly recommend this place and we will definitely be back if we ever come to Australia again.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnneStockholm_sweden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
135 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2011

Excellent weekend away. I was a little nervous from reading the other reviews but was happy to find out I disagreed with most of them. The hunter resort is not 5 star Glam but it is comfortable welcoming and has great service. The bed was super comfy. The only let down was the overpriced cocktails in the blue tongue bar and the underwhelming dinner in the San martino restaurant. Overall had a great time.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brannigans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2011

A great place for a couples getaway. The Cottages were nice and private, great views and very peaceful. It was really close to all of the wineries and food places that we wanted to visit while in the Hunter.
If you stay at the Hunter Resort I would definitely recommend attending the Wine Theatre. It was great fun and very informative too.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarmelM76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2011

If you are looking for pleasant relaxed accommodation in a semi rural setting, then this is the place for you. We wanted our UK friends to experience the Hunter region without the glitz of glamorous hotels. The 2 bedroom cottage was perfect! Very comfortable, and with our own bathrooms, so we had the opportunity to enjoy each others company plus have complete privacy when required. The stroll past the vineyard and horses in the paddock on our way to breakfast was delightful. The coffee machine in the kitchen was brilliant! With no stove, don't plan to cook, but the microwave is a bonus for soup lovers or those on a budget! We ate out at local restaurants, so cannot comment on the food at Hunter Resort restaurant. The breakfast however was pleasant. Staff very friendly and helpful...especially when we had trouble unlocking our front door! Having a late check out was great for a lazy start to the day.

Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Annette038
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pokolbin
6.2 mi away
The Sebel Kirkton Park Hunter Valley
3.9 mi away
Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens
2.2 mi away
Spicers Vineyards Estate
Spicers Vineyards Estate
#1 of 15 in Pokolbin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley
3.9 mi away
Chateau Elan Hunter Valley
4.9 mi away
The Convent Hunter Valley
The Convent Hunter Valley
#9 of 15 in Pokolbin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hunter Valley Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hunter Valley Resort

Property: Hunter Valley Resort
Address: corner Hermitage Road & Mistletoe Lane, Pokolbin, New South Wales 2320, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Pokolbin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Pokolbin
#4 Spa Hotel in Pokolbin
#6 Family Hotel in Pokolbin
#7 Luxury Hotel in Pokolbin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hunter Valley Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Everything you are looking for in the Hunter - all at the one resort...* Onsite daily vineyard tours at 9am* Hunter Wine Theatre daily at 11am and 2pm* Horse & carriage tour* Horse riding* Bluetongue Brewery Cafe * Hunter Valley Wine School * Fantastic food from our San Martino Restaurant * Board games, pool table, 3km walking/jogging track * Heavenly Hunter Massage Centre * Pool, tennis, heated spa, mountain bikes * Wonderful rooms featuring timber cathedral ceilings * Situated within our own 40 year old vineyards * Owned and operated by the Hele family * And within minutes of the resort... 3 championship golf courses including Cypress Lakes and The Vintage, The Hunter Valley Gardens, cafes, restaurants, hot air ballooning, cheese factories, a chocolate factory, antique stores, a whole shopping village, 3 pampering / massage businesses and over 140 wineries to visit! Or if you prefer, just sit back, relax and finish that book you have been promising to do... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hunter Valley Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hunter Valley Hotel Pokolbin
Hunter Resort Pokolbin
Hunter Hotel Pokolbin
Hunter Valley Resort Greater Newcastle/Pokolbin, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing