We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing in the Hunter”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hunter Valley Resort
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Pokolbin
Blue Mtns NSW
Level Contributor
111 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Relaxing in the Hunter”
Reviewed 19 January 2012

We made our booking after lunch at the Information Centre and our choice was a really good one. Travelling with our teenage son, we booked a 2 bedroom cabin. The cabin was totally self-contained with wonderful views all around. As soon as we carried the bags in, our son raced off to the tennis court nearby to practise his serve, while we admired the cabin. Each bedroom was spotless and attractive, each with its own en suite. The en suites were generous size, lots of natural light, a basket of toiletries to use and fluffy white towels. The entry verandah opened onto the living area with a kitchenette, comfortable lounges, a TV with good reception.
San Martino Restaurant on site was our choice for evening meal and breakfast. Service was prompt and friendly, surroundings were attractive and the food was really delicious. After breakfast Terry gave us a very informative tour of the winery that is also part of The Hunter Resort. We had enjoyed a wine tasting the afternoon before. There is a boutique cheese shop across the road and other wineries in the area.
I am looking forward to returning and staying longer than this short visit.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marjie781
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
philiphele, Owner at Hunter Valley Resort, responded to this review, 20 January 2012
Thank you for the positive feedback for our 2 bedroom cottage. Also for specifically mentioning Terry. He is indeed a gem!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

696 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    251
    217
    117
    62
    49
See reviews for
114
385
7
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 18 January 2012

Ended up there by chance with no expectations at all. Had a fantastic time with the free wine tour and tasting. Very pleasant staff. The pool and spa was great. The breakfast was superb. The room was impeccable with LCD tv/dvd. Nice walking trail & horse riding out the back. We are going back there again next week after being there just 4 weeks ago. Absolute top value for money. One of the nicest places we have ever been (& we have been to many).
Is definately number 1 on our list of places to re-visit and the missus liked it more than me -and she doesn't even drink ! We live in Sydney so very easy 2&1/2 hour drive. Only the last bit of the road has few potholes.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
philiphele, Owner at Hunter Valley Resort, responded to this review, 20 January 2012
Thanks for the great feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hunter Valley soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2012

I attempted to book a two bedroom Cottage at the Hunter Valley Resort for my family to attend our cousins wedding in October 2012. On the Hunter Valley Resort website the quoted rate was for $616 for the two nights. Upon contacting the Reservations to book this in I was quoted a far higher rate of $880 for the two nights. When I pointed out this is false advertising on their own website the rate was dropped to $750 without breakfast. A heated discussion on their part followed where the manager and customer service rep both raised their voices at me refused to honour the rate quoted on the website saying it was an 'IT problem' NOT a 'Reservations problem'. When I asked to escalate this further she hung up on me. When I called back the customer service rep said that she would delete my complaint email if it came through and they had already discounted the room and besides they will be able to rent it for $880 anyway due to it being Opera in the Vines.

I am disgusted at the lack of customer service provided and the poor representation of the tourism in the Hunter Valley based on a mistake made on their own website, that I have now checked and they have corrected. The decent thing would have been to honour the quote on the website and not prey on other tourists paying top dollar due to a tourism event that brings lots of people to the Hunter that weekend.

My husband and I have fond memories of the Hunter Valley and have stayed in many of the Resorts and cabins nearby. We even held our wedding in the Hunter Valley in 2009 and we have never had any problems with the service or the facilities. This experience will not spoil how much we enjoy visiting the Hunter Valley but based on this we will not be reccomending that other wedding guests book here.

I will be sending an email of complaint regardless of the threat of it being deleted. I hope that the two reservations people that I spoke to do some serious customer service training and are aware that first impressions count.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Caroline C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
philiphele, Owner at Hunter Valley Resort, responded to this review, 20 January 2012
There are always two sides to an issue.

We tried to explain to you that we never discount busy concert weekends, however it was you that became agressive with our staff insisting on us accepting the rate over the phone you say you could see on your screen. Jan tried to explain to you that the only rate for that weekend she could see on our system was $440 per night for our 2 Bedroom Cottage (The Opera in the Vineyards weekend).

Jan advised you that if you could see a different rate on your screen it must be an IT issue, therefore you should go ahead and make the booking online, and we would be pleased to honour that rate.

In good faith, Jan also made a 15% discount offer to you to take your reservation over the phone as you acknowledge. However, this you rejected...

We note you have never stayed with us. And this negative Tripadvisor feedback you have posted is a result of a telephone call, not a review of an actual visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2012

After reading reviews on TA my girlfriend and I booked a couple of nights at the Hunter Valley "Resort" in early December 2011. Unfortunately, the "Resort" did not live up to expectations which were generated from our reading of TA reviews and the "Resorts" 4 star rating.

The rooms are quaint little log cabin-type buildings which aroused nostalgic waves of 1990's family driving trips up and down the WA coast staying in similar lodgings. I feel obliged to advise that this "Resort" feels much more like a Motel. Yes there is a pool and a tennis court and we were told there was restaurant, but don't expect the Bellagio. Caesar definitely did not live here. The room we stayed in was "tired" as other reviews have indicated, our room was reasonably sized and fairly clean, however the bathroom and furnishings are a bit 70s.

In fairness the staff were pleasant when we checked in and checked out a day early and the free wine tour and short film was educational. The guide arrived 20 minutes late however. I also had a delicious pie at the bluetongue brewery.

I just struggle to reconcile the four star rating and the bulk of reviews with the experience. This felt closer to 2.5/3 stars. I think that the bulk of TA reviewers are being very kind to this place for some reason. I feel that you can get better value by spending another $100 per night and avoiding a buzz killing hotel.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Daniel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
philiphele, Owner at Hunter Valley Resort, responded to this review, 20 January 2012
Thanks for your constructive feedback. Glad you enjoyed the activities we offer, especially the winery tour and our homemade pies!

Your comments re the "resort" name are true. Anywhere else in the world, a resort is normally a very large 5 star property with many facilities including golf, hair salon etc... In Australia however, a "resort" is defined as a property that has a pool and tennis court. So you have caravan park resorts, backpacker resorts, and resorts such as ours.

We like to think of ourselves more as a country inn with lots of things to do onsite like Cooking Schools, Wine Theatre, Wine Tasting Cellars, Bluetongue Brewery cafe, Wine School, Horserding, Heavenly Hunter Massage Centre, the Binnorie Cheese factory right opposite and nestled within our 40 year old Shiraz vineyard..

In fact, the opening line on the accommodation page of our website says: "The Hunter Resort is a country inn, or lodge nestled within its own 40 year old shiraz vineyards on 70 secluded acres in the very heart of the famous Hunter Valley Wine Country".

A long reply, but hopefully one you will acknowledge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2012

Just returned from a weekend at this resort. After reading the reviews, not sure what to expect but enjoyed our time there. Okay, the property is on the old side and could be better maintained but rooms fairly clean and staff helpful and pleasant. The food and service at the restaurant was great and thoroughly enjoyed - apart from the lukewarm coffee. Very central to all attractions, too. One tip though. Maybe wedding reception arrangements could be made somewhere more private. We'd to listen to one couple's (loud) plans at San Martino's on the Friday night and another group's plans while having breakfast on the following morning.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nlarsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
philiphele, Owner at Hunter Valley Resort, responded to this review, 20 January 2012
Great feedback. Thank you for your honesty. Hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burleigh Heads, Australia
Level Contributor
397 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2012

Clean good sized rooms, friendly helpful staff, few things to do on site, good stay.
Rooms are older but fairly well maintained, bathroom had been renovated & t
Kettle provided with tea & coffee & biscuits.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
philiphele, Owner at Hunter Valley Resort, responded to this review, 20 January 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with the Tripadvisor family...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 January 2012

I highly recommend Hunter Resort for any occasion! We had our wedding there in December and the staff were so helpful (especially Jess) throught the whole process. The meals were fantastic and came out so fast. They helped us through the whole process, from start to finish. We also stayed on site and thought that the rooms were just great.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jodie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
philiphele, Owner at Hunter Valley Resort, responded to this review, 20 January 2012
Yes, Jess is one of our many gems... She started with us as a Trainee, and is now running all our events... Not sure what we would do without her!! Thank you for sharing your feedback. Much appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pokolbin
6.2 mi away
The Sebel Kirkton Park Hunter Valley
3.9 mi away
Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens
2.2 mi away
Spicers Vineyards Estate
Spicers Vineyards Estate
#1 of 15 in Pokolbin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley
3.9 mi away
Chateau Elan Hunter Valley
4.9 mi away
The Convent Hunter Valley
The Convent Hunter Valley
#11 of 15 in Pokolbin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hunter Valley Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hunter Valley Resort

Property: Hunter Valley Resort
Address: corner Hermitage Road & Mistletoe Lane, Pokolbin, New South Wales 2320, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Pokolbin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Pokolbin
#4 Spa Hotel in Pokolbin
#6 Family Hotel in Pokolbin
#7 Luxury Hotel in Pokolbin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hunter Valley Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Everything you are looking for in the Hunter - all at the one resort...* Onsite daily vineyard tours at 9am* Hunter Wine Theatre daily at 11am and 2pm* Horse & carriage tour* Horse riding* Bluetongue Brewery Cafe * Hunter Valley Wine School * Fantastic food from our San Martino Restaurant * Board games, pool table, 3km walking/jogging track * Heavenly Hunter Massage Centre * Pool, tennis, heated spa, mountain bikes * Wonderful rooms featuring timber cathedral ceilings * Situated within our own 40 year old vineyards * Owned and operated by the Hele family * And within minutes of the resort... 3 championship golf courses including Cypress Lakes and The Vintage, The Hunter Valley Gardens, cafes, restaurants, hot air ballooning, cheese factories, a chocolate factory, antique stores, a whole shopping village, 3 pampering / massage businesses and over 140 wineries to visit! Or if you prefer, just sit back, relax and finish that book you have been promising to do... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Hunter Valley Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hunter Valley Hotel Pokolbin
Hunter Resort Pokolbin
Hunter Hotel Pokolbin
Hunter Valley Resort Greater Newcastle/Pokolbin, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing