We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hunter Valley Resort
Nearby Hotels
US$347
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Convent Hunter Valley Hotel(Pokolbin)(Great Value!)
US$177
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kirkton Park Hotel Hunter Valley(Pokolbin)(Great Value!)
US$162
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$157
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Oaks Cypress Lakes Resort(Pokolbin)
US$286
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$167
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens(Pokolbin)(Great Value!)
US$184
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$143
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$121
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$96
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Pokolbin Village(Pokolbin)(Great Value!)
US$94
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$80
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Estate Tuscany(Pokolbin)(Great Value!)
US$91
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$85
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Guest House(Pokolbin)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tower Lodge(Pokolbin)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (792)
Filter reviews
793 results
Traveller rating
296
246
131
68
52
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
296
246
131
68
52
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshorse ridingwine theatrewine tastingspa cottagesegway tourhunter valleywine makingbrew housecellar doorbay brewerycheese factoryrestaurant stafftennis courtsterrybrewhouseaccommodationmatilda
Filter
Updating list...
638 - 643 of 793 reviews
Reviewed 8 February 2012

This is a well situated good value 4 star hotel......we thoroughly enjoyed our 1 night with our 2 young children in a Hunter room....in the middle of hunter valley, on site brewery bar, cafe, higher dining restaurant and cellar door for assorted small winemakers mean you never have to leave to enjoy some of the best of the hunter, however a big advantage in our opinion is that you can also just walk across the road where you have a further bar serving very good tapas and The Mill restaurant plus a dairy shop and further cellar door....all this removes any concerns re drink driving etc whilst still offering a good variety of dining options..... The rooms are perfectly adequate but the pool was freezing! The very helpful lady on reception happily agreed to our request to check out an hour later at 11am.We genuinely wish we could have stayed here for
a few nights more.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
philiphele, Owner at Hunter Valley Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2012

Lovely feedback. Thank you for sharing your experiences!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2012

Had a fun weekend here with a girldfriend back in October. The staff were more than accomodating and we had a clean comfortable cottage. Loved the nespresso! you must go to the massage centre. Very relaxing. enjoyed the wine tasting at the cellar door and also tried the blue tongue tasting rack. it was great we could walk across to the cheese factory and if you are feeling energetic down the hill to a few of the other wineries. We went to San Martino for dinner and the food was great. Will definately be back and bring the family next time

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
philiphele, Owner at Hunter Valley Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2012

A fellow quality coffee lover... And beer lover. Look forward to having you all back soon. Thanks for the comments!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2012

We made our booking after lunch at the Information Centre and our choice was a really good one. Travelling with our teenage son, we booked a 2 bedroom cabin. The cabin was totally self-contained with wonderful views all around. As soon as we carried the bags in, our son raced off to the tennis court nearby to practise his serve, while we admired the cabin. Each bedroom was spotless and attractive, each with its own en suite. The en suites were generous size, lots of natural light, a basket of toiletries to use and fluffy white towels. The entry verandah opened onto the living area with a kitchenette, comfortable lounges, a TV with good reception.
San Martino Restaurant on site was our choice for evening meal and breakfast. Service was prompt and friendly, surroundings were attractive and the food was really delicious. After breakfast Terry gave us a very informative tour of the winery that is also part of The Hunter Resort. We had enjoyed a wine tasting the afternoon before. There is a boutique cheese shop across the road and other wineries in the area.
I am looking forward to returning and staying longer than this short visit.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marjie781
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
philiphele, Owner at Hunter Valley Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2012

Thank you for the positive feedback for our 2 bedroom cottage. Also for specifically mentioning Terry. He is indeed a gem!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2012

Ended up there by chance with no expectations at all. Had a fantastic time with the free wine tour and tasting. Very pleasant staff. The pool and spa was great. The breakfast was superb. The room was impeccable with LCD tv/dvd. Nice walking trail & horse riding out the back. We are going back there again next week after being there just 4 weeks ago. Absolute top value for money. One of the nicest places we have ever been (& we have been to many).
Is definately number 1 on our list of places to re-visit and the missus liked it more than me -and she doesn't even drink ! We live in Sydney so very easy 2&1/2 hour drive. Only the last bit of the road has few potholes.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
philiphele, Owner at Hunter Valley Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2012

Thanks for the great feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hunter Valley soon!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2012

I attempted to book a two bedroom Cottage at the Hunter Valley Resort for my family to attend our cousins wedding in October 2012. On the Hunter Valley Resort website the quoted rate was for $616 for the two nights. Upon contacting the Reservations to book this in I was quoted a far higher rate of $880 for the two nights. When I pointed out this is false advertising on their own website the rate was dropped to $750 without breakfast. A heated discussion on their part followed where the manager and customer service rep both raised their voices at me refused to honour the rate quoted on the website saying it was an 'IT problem' NOT a 'Reservations problem'. When I asked to escalate this further she hung up on me. When I called back the customer service rep said that she would delete my complaint email if it came through and they had already discounted the room and besides they will be able to rent it for $880 anyway due to it being Opera in the Vines.

I am disgusted at the lack of customer service provided and the poor representation of the tourism in the Hunter Valley based on a mistake made on their own website, that I have now checked and they have corrected. The decent thing would have been to honour the quote on the website and not prey on other tourists paying top dollar due to a tourism event that brings lots of people to the Hunter that weekend.

My husband and I have fond memories of the Hunter Valley and have stayed in many of the Resorts and cabins nearby. We even held our wedding in the Hunter Valley in 2009 and we have never had any problems with the service or the facilities. This experience will not spoil how much we enjoy visiting the Hunter Valley but based on this we will not be reccomending that other wedding guests book here.

I will be sending an email of complaint regardless of the threat of it being deleted. I hope that the two reservations people that I spoke to do some serious customer service training and are aware that first impressions count.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Service
6  Thank Caroline C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
philiphele, Owner at Hunter Valley Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2012

There are always two sides to an issue.

We tried to explain to you that we never discount busy concert weekends, however it was you that became agressive with our staff insisting on us accepting the rate over the phone you say you could see on your screen. Jan tried to explain to you that the only rate for that weekend she could see on our system was $440 per night for our 2 Bedroom Cottage (The Opera in the Vineyards weekend).

Jan advised you that if you could see a different rate on your screen it must be an IT issue, therefore you should go ahead and make the booking online, and we would be pleased to honour that rate.

In good faith, Jan also made a 15% discount offer to you to take your reservation over the phone as you acknowledge. However, this you rejected...

We note you have never stayed with us. And this negative Tripadvisor feedback you have posted is a result of a telephone call, not a review of an actual visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews