We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hunter Resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hunter Valley Resort
Ranked #9 of 15 Hotels in Pokolbin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 March 2012

Spent two night here as my son was getting married at the resort. Every second person including the groom and my husband (the father of the groom) ended up in the bathroom all night as one of the entrees served must have been off. The rooms were overpriced for what they were but we stayed there because the wedding was there. The shower rails and vanities were all rusted. The shower curtain was dirty as was the room. The furniture was old and desperately needed refurbishing. The restaurant on site for breakfast was only adequate and the San Martino restaurant at night had limited selections. If you are thinking about staying at the Hunter Valley stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank pamgrant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (754)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

588 - 594 of 754 reviews

Reviewed 21 March 2012

We stayed here over a weekend with my parents in two Vineyard rooms. The beds were comfortable and the rooms spacious. The room service team didn't make the bed in the morning in either of our rooms. The rooms were dark and could have done with brighter lighting. Aside from this the accommodation was fine. The restaurant, however, is a different story. It was terrible. We ordered chips with aioli, which tasted like milk without a hint of garlic, and wedges which arrived luke warm. We also ordered a pizza which took 40 minutes to arrive and when it did was charred coal-black on the bottom and totally indelible. My father brought it back to the counter and the manager immediately refunded us but didn't look surprised and didn't apologise. We had planned to have dinner in the restaurant but after this decided not to. Two other tables also asked for refunds while we were there. The booking also covered a "winery tour". The tour guide on this was excellent but the tour itself was actually of a long-disused ex-winery which was filthy and had a dead cat in the machinery. It was rather disappointing. We ended up doing a proper winery tour elsewhere in the Hunter. So overall adequate rooms but everything else was disappointing.

Stayed: March 2012
3  Thank geeinau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
philiphele, Owner at Hunter Valley Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2012

Thank you for your constructive feedback... We have investigated the day you were here - and the chef on duty that day is no longer with us. Needless to say, you were not the only comments we received. Please come back and enjoy the experience as it should have been for you...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2012

We just recently had our wedding at the Hunter Resort.
After all the rain in february i was terrified it would rain for me on our day. We had the wedding outside behind the accomodation. Just Beautiful, the staff did a fantastic job making sure the area was well maintained and looking fabulous for the photos. Didnt rain, beautiful day.
The staff from the very beginning were very helpful. Jan and the team did a fantastic job of organsing my cocktail style wedding. The room was set up just beautifully. (they had no problems moving funiture and changing everything around to how i wanted it to be set out).
Food was delicious, no one complained about being hungry. We danced all night, had a ball. All our guests stayed in the accomodation. No one had any complaints, rooms were lovely.
Overall experience..EXCELLENT.. will recommend to everyone, and definately will be staying at Hunter Resort next time we are up there.
If you are looking for a cocktail style reception, the Hermitage room is perfect for this.

Room Tip: Vineyard room was lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Melanie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
philiphele, Owner at Hunter Valley Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2012

Thank you for your great feedback.. Our crew really try to go that extra mile. Great to hear the day was perfect for you both. Hope to see you back very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2012

had my wedding there and stayed the night
didnt find the staff helpful at all

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
philiphele, Owner at Hunter Valley Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2012

Hello Karen - Thank you for your honesty. Can you please let me have some more feedback. Our crew have been receiving really good comments, and I am keen to understand what went wrong?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2012

Pulled back the curtains when we woke up to see Kangaroo and baby eating right outside our room...

This place is our Hunter Valley favourite. Beds are simply amazing! Best sleep ever.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JandAonhols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
philiphele, Owner at Hunter Valley Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2012

Thank you for your great feedback.. We look forward to seeing you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2012

We stayed here for one night during a week long drive from Sydney to Brisbane. Were able to check straight in when we arrived early. We didn't spend much time in the room, but it had everything we needed, including lovely views. We got a free theatre show and wine tasting with the stay, which was very nice, and we came away with a few bottles of lovely wine. We had a really nice lunch, and a couple of Blue Tongue beers out in the sunshine followed by a walk through the vineyards. Would have loved to have stayed for longer.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank E C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
philiphele, Owner at Hunter Valley Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2012

Thank you for your great feedback.. we look forward to seeing you again - this time for longer!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2012

I booked the Hunter Room for a 2 night stay through groupon at the Hunter Valley Resort. After hearing the great reviews, my wife and I were looking forward to our stay here while in the region for a wedding. Unfortunately the Resort was unhelpful when it came to the booking. The weekend was not in school holidays or on a holiday long weekend either. I could not see why it was available one weekend and not the other. I was also not given a valid reason for this refusal. As my wife and I were keen to stay at the Resort that weekend, so I offered to pay any additional costs not covered by the voucher. This also was flatly refused. I cannot understand why they would refuse a customer who was willing to pay extra to stay at their resort.

Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
6  Thank john j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
philiphele, Owner at Hunter Valley Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2012

We are so sorry we were not able to assist you with the dates for the wedding you have been invited to. We only have the 35 rooms, and short of cancelling another booking, we just could not fit you in. However, if you would like to go onto our waitlist, if there is a cancellation, we could then let you know. Please call us back on 49987777 if you wish to go onto this waitlist. Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pokolbin
6.2 mi away
Kirkton Park Hotel Hunter Valley
6.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley
3.9 mi away
Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Spicers Vineyards Estate
Spicers Vineyards Estate
#1 of 15 in Pokolbin
890 reviews
3.6 mi away
Chateau Elan Hunter Valley
4.4 mi away
Pokolbin Village
Pokolbin Village
#5 of 15 in Pokolbin
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hunter Valley Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hunter Valley Resort

Address: corner Hermitage Road & Mistletoe Lane, Pokolbin, New South Wales 2320, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Pokolbin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Pokolbin
#5 Spa Hotel in Pokolbin
#6 Family Hotel in Pokolbin
#8 Luxury Hotel in Pokolbin
Price Range: £80 - £192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hunter Valley Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Everything you are looking for in the Hunter - all at the one resort...* Onsite daily vineyard tours at 9am* Hunter Wine Theatre daily at 11am and 2pm* Adventure Centre has horse & carriage tour, Horse riding, Segway tours and Electric bike hire * Matilda Bay Brewhouse (12 craft beers) * Winetasting Cellars with 34 wines * Hunter Valley Wine School * Fantastic food from our Restaurant * Board games, pool table, 3km walking track * Heavenly Hunter Massage Centre * Pool, tennis, heated spa * Wonderful rooms featuring timber cathedral ceilings * Situated within our own 40 year old vineyards * Owned and operated by the Hele family * And within minutes of the resort... 3 championship golf courses including Cypress Lakes and The Vintage, The Hunter Valley Gardens, cafes, restaurants, hot air ballooning, cheese factories, a chocolate factory, antique stores, a whole shopping village, 3 pampering / massage businesses and over 140 wineries to visit! Or if you prefer, just sit back, relax and finish that book you have been promising to do... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hunter Valley Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hunter Valley Hotel Pokolbin
Hunter Resort Pokolbin
Hunter Hotel Pokolbin
Hunter Valley Resort Greater Newcastle/Pokolbin, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing