We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quiet but a motel at best”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hunter Valley Resort
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Pokolbin
Sydney
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Quiet but a motel at best”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2012

This is a great motel to stay at with a group of mates. Drink till your hearts content and stumble back to a big comfy bed. If you are expecting a fine dining experience...forget it!. The food in the restaurant was extremely average. My main meal looked and tasted like a kids meal. I would never eat there again.
The room was bland but was quiet, and comfy enough. Wifi was useless - so don't waste your money paying for that.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Newtowneel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

686 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    247
    215
    115
    62
    47
See reviews for
113
382
7
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2012

We've just returned from a weekend stay at the Hunter Valley resort. We used a groupon voucher which included a wine and cheese tasting. The facility is as described however worded to give it a 4 star appeal yet I would agree as stated in a previous review; it is more like an upgraded motel. It is located in a quiet location and within walking / cycling distance to other vineyards therefore will make a lovely retreat. We paid an additional $140 to upgrade. This entitled us to as vineyard view and a kingsize bed and to be honest it really wasn't worth the increase as we had friends who stayed in the standard rooms which were comfortable and only well priced because of the voucher. In addition the pillows were very hard and I slept without one. Then vineyard view wasn't up to much to be honest and I was quite disappointed by this. I was also looking forward to a relaxing bath but the room/bathroom didn't have a warm / cosy appeal. In addition to this breakfast was not included. The cheese and wine tasting were across the road at a different establishment where it consisted of a dairy offering sample on a stick and a separate winery offering tastings (which all wineries offer anyway). It was nice but this had nothing to do with the resort. It would be available no matter where you stayed. Overall, I was very disappointed. I imagine it would be very suitable for families as it has a pool etc but I wouldn't opt to return for it's price range and the fact it offered no compliments to feel welcome. Mostly I feel that I could have spent my money elsewhere and left the Hunter Valley somewhat more satisfied with the overall Weekend.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jiggles25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2012

We stayed two nights mid week (Wed & Thur) in August 2012. We were given a Groupon Wine Country Escape Offer and stayed in Hunter room 204. The room was lovely, it was motel style, quite spacious with comfy bed, nice outlook, bathroom with bath (lovely hot water) and generous toiletries. ALL the staff were very happy, friendly and assisted with every request. A special thank you to Cellarmasters Wayne and Richard who were especially welcoming. They made our stay EXTRA special with their humor, knowledge and friendlness. The Wine tour and theatre were included in our package and they are a must during your stay, especially if you are a novice like us. We had a lovely dinner one night at San Martino their onsite restaurant. The buffet breakfast was hearty. The Binnorie Dairy is across the road, they have some wonderful cheeses that you can purchase and take back to your room to enjoy with some wine. We also had a leasurly1 hour Horse trail ride with Kat. Overall we had a very enjoyable, relaxing couple of days at the Hunter Valley Resort. Thank you.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lin-and-Les
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hitchin, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2012

Stayed here 12-14 August 2012. Lovely country style rooms laid out around the site in rows, big room with countryside views, very comfortable and well equipped. Breakfast lovely, dinner not cheap but good value and delicous. Every member of staff was very welcoming, knowledgeable and helpful, especially the receptionist and the waiting staff in restaurant (morning and evening).

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2012

We found the Hunter Valley Resort through a Groupon offer and stayed for 2 nights (Sat/Sun) in July in a Vineyard room. Our room was well-maintained and had a lovely view. The air conditioner warmed the room quickly and quietly. There were no issues redeeming our vouchers for the accommodation and horse riding (which was a wonderful experience). We dined at the restaurant on our last evening and thoroughly enjoyed the service and food. The location was very good - close to everything. Staff were professional and hospitable. It is not always easy being away from home with two young children, but our children were treated very well and had a wonderful time. We will definitely return and recommend the Hunter Valley Resort to anyone looking for a comfortable and well-priced Hunter Valley escape.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2012

We stayed two nights at the Hunter Resort, mid-week and in winter, in their Hunter Room as part of a Groupon booking. The Hunter room is basic, a bit like a refurbished motel as another reviewer mentioned, but definitely fine. It has a very good bed, small fridge, wine glasses, and water cooker provided. Airco worked fine, it heated the room fast and very nicely, great since it gets pretty cold at night in winter. Shower was hot, but shower-head somewhat damaged and no adequate shower screen -- so after a shower there's water everywhere. No problem though, they clean it up nicely everyday.

Facilities around the resort are good, the Bluetongue cafe is open late. We had a nice tasting platter of BlueTongue beers, which we thought would be good to enjoy over a game of pool. While I'm not sure what the going-rate for a game of pool is, I'm not prepared to pay $3 a game in one of the facilities of the hotel. The horse riding you can book at reception was our highlight, for us as beginners it was a great trip on horse throughout the beautiful surroundings. With excellent guidance by a blond girl (forgot her name).

The cheese factory across the road, Binnorie Dairy, is definitely worth a visit. Great cheese for very reasonable prices.

To conclude, if you're keen to explore the Hunter Valley (especially the North side) this is a nice hotel to stay on a great location. Would visit again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TimSVH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubbo, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2012

My wife and I spent 2 nights at the Resort - absolutely wonderful - relaxed, great food (and wine) at both the restaurant (dinner both nights) and the blue tongue cafe (lunch), all staff very helpful - wine theatre and tasting excellent - accommodation very clean and tidy - plus massages very relaxing - will definitely stay there again.
A very big thanks to all the staff at the Hunter Resort for helping us have such a very relaxed break away.

Room Tip: If you want to de-stress for a weekend - this is the place to stay (plus have the massage).
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marcus727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
philiphele, Owner at Hunter Valley Resort, responded to this review, 5 August 2012
Thanks for taking the time to write about us. Looking forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pokolbin
6.2 mi away
The Sebel Kirkton Park Hunter Valley
3.9 mi away
Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens
2.2 mi away
Spicers Vineyards Estate
Spicers Vineyards Estate
#1 of 15 in Pokolbin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley
3.9 mi away
Chateau Elan Hunter Valley
4.9 mi away
The Convent Hunter Valley
The Convent Hunter Valley
#9 of 15 in Pokolbin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hunter Valley Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hunter Valley Resort

Property: Hunter Valley Resort
Address: corner Hermitage Road & Mistletoe Lane, Pokolbin, New South Wales 2320, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Pokolbin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Pokolbin
#4 Spa Hotel in Pokolbin
#6 Family Hotel in Pokolbin
#7 Luxury Hotel in Pokolbin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hunter Valley Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Everything you are looking for in the Hunter - all at the one resort...* Onsite daily vineyard tours at 9am* Hunter Wine Theatre daily at 11am and 2pm* Horse & carriage tour* Horse riding* Bluetongue Brewery Cafe * Hunter Valley Wine School * Fantastic food from our San Martino Restaurant * Board games, pool table, 3km walking/jogging track * Heavenly Hunter Massage Centre * Pool, tennis, heated spa, mountain bikes * Wonderful rooms featuring timber cathedral ceilings * Situated within our own 40 year old vineyards * Owned and operated by the Hele family * And within minutes of the resort... 3 championship golf courses including Cypress Lakes and The Vintage, The Hunter Valley Gardens, cafes, restaurants, hot air ballooning, cheese factories, a chocolate factory, antique stores, a whole shopping village, 3 pampering / massage businesses and over 140 wineries to visit! Or if you prefer, just sit back, relax and finish that book you have been promising to do... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hunter Valley Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hunter Valley Hotel Pokolbin
Hunter Resort Pokolbin
Hunter Hotel Pokolbin
Hunter Valley Resort Greater Newcastle/Pokolbin, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing