We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Place to Visit in the Hunter”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hunter Valley Resort
Ranked #9 of 15 Hotels in Pokolbin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 October 2012

We had such good fun while visiting the Hunter Valley Resort - we were a group of friends there for a birthday lunch - we really enjoyed the paddles of beer and ginger beer and the Rose with our lunch on a warm Sydney day was just delightful. Its location is also excellent for visiting other wineries in the area. The staff and management went out of their way to make our visit special and I will certainly return for a longer stay in the near future.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank denarau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
philiphele, Owner at Hunter Valley Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2012

Thank you for your great review. Much appreciated. Look forward to welcoming you back to the Hunter!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (756)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

551 - 557 of 756 reviews

Reviewed 2 October 2012

My team really enjoyed the interaction of the making of the Rocky Road - and Ben and Nathan we fantastic in presenting and helping us in the process. It certainly helped set the mood for the rest of the of offsite evening / day.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kirsty C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2012

This resort is a great place to stay with wonderful views over the Hunter Valley. It is wonderful for couples as well as families. You can experience wine and beer tasting as well as special candy making classes at the cooking school. It is a perfect base for other Hunter valley experiences like Cheese and chocolate tasting. You can also take day trips to Port Stephens from here, where you can enjoy dolphin watching tours and experience exhilarating sand-boarding!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank heavenlyguide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2012

The team at Hunter Valley Resort go out of their way to ensure a thoroughly relaxing stay. The food and service are superb, and they also cater for special requests. I would recommend it to anyone looking for a quality place to stay in a beautiful part of the world.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DownDA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2012

Stayed here last night for a friends wedding,
The hotel itself is easy to find, good central location.
When arriving, reception were very friendly and efficient, check in only taking a couple minutes with a run over of what was included in our stay which was a winery tour that we didn't get a chance to go to.
We paid the extra money (from memory only about $40 more?) to get a spa room which was a cottage of our own that was seperate to the other rows of attatched rooms. The room itself was cosy with a flat screen tv, king bed, dvd player and ipod dock.
Wifi available buy we didn't check it out there was a number to call we weren't sure if you had to pay.
There was a clean kitchen with fridge and microwave we didn't use. There was a neverfail water cooler which we had a glass of but it was not cold at all. There was no mini bar but an expresso machine where you could but the coffee capsules for $2 but we just had the free sachets and there were a few packets of 2 biscuits we ate that were nice.
The bathroom had a large spa we both fit in nicely, the shower head was huge. Towels very soft.
Bed comfy with good pillows and sheets.
Great front veranda with outdoor table and chairs with an ashtray. The small details counted! Screen door with nice view out onto the country side.
Surrounds very nice with a mossy pond with an overpass bridge. Tennis court and pool which we didn't get to use but i believe there was a spa there too.
Breakfast included it was ok very busy with not a lot of seats left at all but there are always weddings at this time of year. Sausages, eggs, bacon, tomatoes and mushrooms as well as some fruit and yogurt or pastries or toast. 3 juice choices and a coffee machine. Check out very fast, given a card to fill out feedback on this site so here i am!
Overall nice place to stay! We had friends in the normal smaller rooms who said it was comfortable but they wish they'd gotten a cabin.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank simharl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2012

Just returned from a pleasant mid-week stay.

The location was ideal and provided a great base to go out into the hunter valley. The staff at the cellar door were friendly and informative.

The rooms are good enough and about what you would expect for the price. Buffet breakfast was included and was adequate. The mushrooms were awful!

The Blue Tongue Cafe was a little smelly, but I took my beer tasting paddle outside and really enjoyed it.

Recommended, but you're unlikely to be overwhelmed.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lehoodooguru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

Relaxed and friendly place with clean and spacious rooms. Restaurant (Italian, by name only) served average food in the evening but breakfasts were OK. From the pre-read, we did not expect 4 star food, thus were not disappointed.
The site looks well-worn and is not as pretty or well-kept as some other wineries in the Hunter. It is very busy, hence the worn look and is not over-priced given its range of visitor offerings: wines, beers, tours, cycle hire,horse-riding, (very) small pool, spa.
Family run feel of Hunter Resort with helpful staff in all departments is its strength, plus its good location for visiting all other attractions in the valley wine-growing area, and good sized rooms which are well fitted and serviced, clean and comfortable.

Room Tip: We had hunter rooms. Did not view the cottages.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andyshepherd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pokolbin
6.2 mi away
Kirkton Park Hotel Hunter Valley
6.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley
3.9 mi away
Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Spicers Vineyards Estate
Spicers Vineyards Estate
#1 of 15 in Pokolbin
892 reviews
3.6 mi away
Chateau Elan Hunter Valley
4.4 mi away
Pokolbin Village
Pokolbin Village
#5 of 15 in Pokolbin
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hunter Valley Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hunter Valley Resort

Address: corner Hermitage Road & Mistletoe Lane, Pokolbin, New South Wales 2320, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Pokolbin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Pokolbin
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Pokolbin
#5 Spa Hotel in Pokolbin
#8 Luxury Hotel in Pokolbin
Price Range: £80 - £189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hunter Valley Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Everything you are looking for in the Hunter - all at the one resort...* Onsite daily vineyard tours at 9am* Hunter Wine Theatre daily at 11am and 2pm* Adventure Centre has horse & carriage tour, Horse riding, Segway tours and Electric bike hire * Matilda Bay Brewhouse (12 craft beers) * Winetasting Cellars with 34 wines * Hunter Valley Wine School * Fantastic food from our Restaurant * Board games, pool table, 3km walking track * Heavenly Hunter Massage Centre * Pool, tennis, heated spa * Wonderful rooms featuring timber cathedral ceilings * Situated within our own 40 year old vineyards * Owned and operated by the Hele family * And within minutes of the resort... 3 championship golf courses including Cypress Lakes and The Vintage, The Hunter Valley Gardens, cafes, restaurants, hot air ballooning, cheese factories, a chocolate factory, antique stores, a whole shopping village, 3 pampering / massage businesses and over 140 wineries to visit! Or if you prefer, just sit back, relax and finish that book you have been promising to do... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Hunter Valley Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hunter Valley Hotel Pokolbin
Hunter Resort Pokolbin
Hunter Hotel Pokolbin
Hunter Valley Resort Greater Newcastle/Pokolbin, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing