We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Spa Cabins”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hunter Valley Resort
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Pokolbin
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Spa Cabins”
Reviewed 21 October 2013

We stayed at the Hunter Valley Resort for a family wedding. The environs were absolutely lovely, the staff were extremely helpful, and the Spa Cabin was one of the best cottages/accommodation we have stayed in for commensurate price levels.

Room Tip: If you want to ay a little extra, the Spa Cabins are worth the little extra spend (and the breakfast...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Germaine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
philiphele, Owner at Hunter Valley Resort, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
The Spa Cottages are really special. Thanks for sharing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

705 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    257
    219
    118
    62
    49
See reviews for
116
390
7
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
1 review
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Thoroughly enjoyed our time here. There is great ffod, fabulous massage and some interesting winery tours to go on. The beer tasting was also a highlight as was the wine tasting and the food in the restaurant was delicious. I highly recommend this place and will stay again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gosford, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

We have stayed here several times and we keep coming back. The facilities are plentiful, rooms are great and the staff are very friendly and accommodating. This resort is central to all your wineries, restaurants and the Hunter Valley Gardens. We will be coming back again!!!

Room Tip: Rooms are in a lovely peaceful and tranquil setting, lovely to get away and unwind.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 428Karen_O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
philiphele, Owner at Hunter Valley Resort, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Look forward to welcoming you back... Thanks for the feedback and for sharing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castle Hill, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Have stayed here multple times and very happy with the rooms and general facilities. Great to be away from the main road, and close to the Blue Tongue Brewery. Restaurant is also nice, selection a little small, but the chef knows his stuff. Great to have the cheese factory, and another restaurant over the road, easy walking distance. Very happy with the price, and the staff seem genuine and cared about our comfort. Pool is always cold, but that's because we seem to come in the winter/Spring time. Have swam in there once and it's nice.

Room Tip: We stay in the rooms down the back, each with a nice view of the property and a private little court...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alfyboy_5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

We did not plan to go at first to Hunter Valley resort for horse riding. We planned to go for Hilltop instead. However, at Hilltop we were late and did not receive the service we supposed to. We gave Hunter Valley resort a phone call and right away got booked in without any delay, record of credit card or so. The gentleman has even given us very clear instruction how to get there. We arrived early ( learning our lesson from Hilltop), still wait for more than 30 mins but it was ok because the previous group got stuck and we spend some relax time at the place's brewery. the Sunset ride was beautiful, staff was nice and helpful. We remembered the horses, Bill and Georgie are amazing and cute. After the ride, we just simply pay cash and things settled.

We got some problem with Hilltop today and found out we had been charged full price for what we did not havevia our credit card. We did not even touch the horse there, and now more appreciate the service from Hunter Valley resort even though the horse riding center seem smaller.
The experience is unforgettable and compared to Hilltop, you guys are much better.

Highly recommended if you want to do horse riding in Hunter Valley.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tessvy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
philiphele, Owner at Hunter Valley Resort, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
We are indeed fortunate to have the only horseriding in Pokolbin... Good to hear you had a great time. Thanks for sharing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We had a relaxing two day stay in this Hotel. The room was ok, also not the cleanest and we first had to chase a blue tongue lizard out of the bathroom ;)
We booked the room with breakfast using hotel.com also the confirmation email I'd not state this. Luckily the hotel was kind enough to honour the deal, another hotel we stayed at the following week did not. Mental note to myself to not use hotel.com for future bookings.
Breakfast buffet was adequate and nice and the staff very helpful band friendly.
Overall I recommend the hotel for its good price and would stay there again.

Room Tip: Our room had an extra bed and with the portable cot, the right size for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank caproberts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

We really enjoyed our stay here. The staff were great and the room was lovely.
The only fault is the shower, it took ages to heat up and then continued to go hot and cold. A very small fault however with such a beautiful place! We loved it!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JuliaI27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pokolbin
6.2 mi away
Kirkton Park Hotel Hunter Valley
3.9 mi away
Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens
2.2 mi away
Spicers Vineyards Estate
Spicers Vineyards Estate
#1 of 15 in Pokolbin
840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley
4.9 mi away
The Convent Hunter Valley
The Convent Hunter Valley
#11 of 15 in Pokolbin
244 reviews
3.9 mi away
Chateau Elan Hunter Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hunter Valley Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hunter Valley Resort

Property: Hunter Valley Resort
Address: corner Hermitage Road & Mistletoe Lane, Pokolbin, New South Wales 2320, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Pokolbin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Pokolbin
#4 Spa Hotel in Pokolbin
#6 Family Hotel in Pokolbin
#7 Luxury Hotel in Pokolbin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hunter Valley Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Everything you are looking for in the Hunter - all at the one resort...* Onsite daily vineyard tours at 9am* Hunter Wine Theatre daily at 11am and 2pm* Horse & carriage tour* Horse riding* Bluetongue Brewery Cafe * Hunter Valley Wine School * Fantastic food from our San Martino Restaurant * Board games, pool table, 3km walking/jogging track * Heavenly Hunter Massage Centre * Pool, tennis, heated spa, mountain bikes * Wonderful rooms featuring timber cathedral ceilings * Situated within our own 40 year old vineyards * Owned and operated by the Hele family * And within minutes of the resort... 3 championship golf courses including Cypress Lakes and The Vintage, The Hunter Valley Gardens, cafes, restaurants, hot air ballooning, cheese factories, a chocolate factory, antique stores, a whole shopping village, 3 pampering / massage businesses and over 140 wineries to visit! Or if you prefer, just sit back, relax and finish that book you have been promising to do... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hunter Valley Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hunter Valley Hotel Pokolbin
Hunter Resort Pokolbin
Hunter Hotel Pokolbin
Hunter Valley Resort Greater Newcastle/Pokolbin, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing