We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful setting”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hunter Valley Resort
Ranked #9 of 15 Hotels in Pokolbin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 October 2013

From booking in to out the staff were more than helpful including the local tour operator who advised us on the most scenic route to Lithgow , rooms were clean with terrific view from the patio we were on tour from Scotland and have stayed in some not so nice places it was refreshing to stay here pity it was on route and only one day , maybe make it back some day.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
philiphele, Owner at Hunter Valley Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

Good to hear all went to plan. Thanks for the feedback!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (754)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

461 - 467 of 754 reviews

Reviewed 22 October 2013

We enjoyed our short stay. The towels were new, soft and smelt wonderful. It was nice to stay somewhere that had really clean carpets. We did not find the bath water brown as was stated in a previous review. The staff were very friendly and accommodating.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Col20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

We stayed at the Hunter Valley Resort for a family wedding and were very happy with our stay. Decor of rooms was very "country" with plenty of "finishing touches" found in our bathroom to make our stay more relaxing. The bed was comfortable which is always a bonus. The food was of exceptional quality and the drinks reasonably priced. Staff were very accommodating. Looking forward to another "excuse" to stay there one day soon.

Room Tip: View their website because the explanation and photos were accurate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debbie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
philiphele, Owner at Hunter Valley Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

Thanks for sharing. Hope to see you back in the Hunter very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

This is the first time there and very impressed by the service provided. Room is clean and tidy. Pleasant environment there. I'd made many enquiries when making reservation and they replied me prompty and helped me resolved many issues. Great !!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Teresa0625
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

We stayed at the Hunter Valley Resort for a family wedding. The environs were absolutely lovely, the staff were extremely helpful, and the Spa Cabin was one of the best cottages/accommodation we have stayed in for commensurate price levels.

Room Tip: If you want to ay a little extra, the Spa Cabins are worth the little extra spend (and the breakfast...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Germaine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
philiphele, Owner at Hunter Valley Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

The Spa Cottages are really special. Thanks for sharing.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Thoroughly enjoyed our time here. There is great ffod, fabulous massage and some interesting winery tours to go on. The beer tasting was also a highlight as was the wine tasting and the food in the restaurant was delicious. I highly recommend this place and will stay again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

We have stayed here several times and we keep coming back. The facilities are plentiful, rooms are great and the staff are very friendly and accommodating. This resort is central to all your wineries, restaurants and the Hunter Valley Gardens. We will be coming back again!!!

Room Tip: Rooms are in a lovely peaceful and tranquil setting, lovely to get away and unwind.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 428Karen_O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
philiphele, Owner at Hunter Valley Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

Look forward to welcoming you back... Thanks for the feedback and for sharing.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pokolbin
6.2 mi away
Kirkton Park Hotel Hunter Valley
6.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley
3.9 mi away
Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Spicers Vineyards Estate
Spicers Vineyards Estate
#1 of 15 in Pokolbin
891 reviews
3.6 mi away
Chateau Elan Hunter Valley
4.4 mi away
Pokolbin Village
Pokolbin Village
#5 of 15 in Pokolbin
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hunter Valley Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hunter Valley Resort

Address: corner Hermitage Road & Mistletoe Lane, Pokolbin, New South Wales 2320, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Pokolbin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Pokolbin
#5 Spa Hotel in Pokolbin
#6 Family Hotel in Pokolbin
#8 Luxury Hotel in Pokolbin
Price Range: £80 - £192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hunter Valley Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Everything you are looking for in the Hunter - all at the one resort...* Onsite daily vineyard tours at 9am* Hunter Wine Theatre daily at 11am and 2pm* Adventure Centre has horse & carriage tour, Horse riding, Segway tours and Electric bike hire * Matilda Bay Brewhouse (12 craft beers) * Winetasting Cellars with 34 wines * Hunter Valley Wine School * Fantastic food from our Restaurant * Board games, pool table, 3km walking track * Heavenly Hunter Massage Centre * Pool, tennis, heated spa * Wonderful rooms featuring timber cathedral ceilings * Situated within our own 40 year old vineyards * Owned and operated by the Hele family * And within minutes of the resort... 3 championship golf courses including Cypress Lakes and The Vintage, The Hunter Valley Gardens, cafes, restaurants, hot air ballooning, cheese factories, a chocolate factory, antique stores, a whole shopping village, 3 pampering / massage businesses and over 140 wineries to visit! Or if you prefer, just sit back, relax and finish that book you have been promising to do... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Hunter Valley Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hunter Valley Hotel Pokolbin
Hunter Resort Pokolbin
Hunter Hotel Pokolbin
Hunter Valley Resort Greater Newcastle/Pokolbin, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing