We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just can't have enough of...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hunter Valley Resort
Ranked #9 of 15 Hotels in Pokolbin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 January 2014

I have taken my family to Hunter Valley a few times now and since the first time we stayed at the Hunter Resort and completely fell in love with the place, we keep going back. The staff are lovely people and make us feel at home. The rooms are cozy and the views are breathtaking. I would certainly recommend anyone who is planning to go and stay at the Hunter to stay at The Hunter Valley Resort. I just would like to thank the staff and the management there for such wonderful experiences have given may family.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Franklin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (772)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

459 - 465 of 772 reviews

Reviewed 9 January 2014

We went for the Christmas Light Spectacular and purchased the package.
Hotel staff is friendly and there is a wine tour and a cafe for a quick bite and drinks.
If you don't wish to drive around to look for a restaurant, there is an Italian restaurant and price is reasonable,
Rooms are decent size with access to external open grass area. Rooms are slightly dated but bed is very comfy and room is neat and clean throughout.
There is an outdoor pool and horse riding (at extra cost) available.
The package also come with a hot buffet breakfast but we were slightly disappointed. Not a lot of food on offer nor variety.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wiz2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

We booked the hunter valley resort after reading the full list of services in WOTIF where they rate themselves as 4 1/2 star..... Do not believe what they say. The rooms are three star at best. They call it a resort, but a pool (with rotting leaves) and a tennis court does not make a resort. When we got into the room I called and said how can you call this place a 4 1/2 star to which the manager got on the phone and said that they are a rustic 4 star. I didn't know there was subgroups of stars. There is no room service, and if you want to use the spa you need to ask reception 3 hours before hand so the heater can can turned on... How ridiculous!! No mini bar. Paper thin walls. It reminded me of school camp log cabins. No doona covers, just one sheet under and over the doona.

All the staff on the front desk where lovey. Don't expect your rooms to be cleaned very well in between the nights you are staying.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Lenalittle1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
philiphele, Owner at Hunter Valley Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2014

Clearly you are both 5 star ladies. You booked via our website our value standard room Summer package of $150 per night. Yes, our spa is turned on when requested - this keeps our green credentials. The pool is cleaned daily. We do offer takeaway options from our café. I note you did our onsite horseriding and visited our brewery. Yes we only have 35 rooms. What we offer our guests is VALUE with a family friendly service. If you were after 'glam' - There are plenty of big name places in Wine Country offering the extra services you desire - which I note were charging $300-$700 per night during this high season Christmas period.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2013

THIS IS NOT A RESORT. It is what feels like a motel that is family owned and operated.

My partner and i stayed at this place during our visit to the Hunter valley wine country for the Alicia Keys concert.

Booked through an external website that specialises in last minute details.

Stayed in a Guest room.

Satisfactory amenities, bedding. Lacking in comfortable furniture.

Unfortunately due to the promixity of neighbouring guests at the motel, it did get quiet noisy with the friendly banter and chatter.

Go elsewhere for a more luxurious stay. Experience is similar to a Motel at best. The service didn't feel welcoming either, especially when your driving a few hours to get here.

Room Tip: Satisfactory rooms. Motel like stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jayphil8382
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
philiphele, Owner at Hunter Valley Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2013

The first words on our website state – “Hunter Valley Resort is not one of those 'big' resorts, it is a country inn or lodge with 35 rooms and cottages, nestled within its own 40 year old shiraz vineyards on 70 secluded acres in the very heart of the famous Hunter Valley Wine Country”.

What we offer is a value proposition for visitors not wanting to pay big dollars to stay in the heart of the vineyards– there were many “posh luxury extravagant resorts” in the wine country, with their nightly stays over a weekend averaging $300-$700 per night… And they don’t have a winery, brewery, cellar door, wine school, wine theatre, horseriding, massage centre, cooking school, or even a vineyard all on the one site as we offer our guests…

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2013

Nice trip to hunter valley for red wines and relax.
Good to drive and enjoy the view along the high way and the country view.
But be better to have two drivers to avoid fatigue driving.
Also it is not far from the entrance.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank Tlf134
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
philiphele, Owner at Hunter Valley Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2013

Great feedback. Thanks for sharing!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2013

Stayed for just one night on a whistle stop tour of the Hunter Valley. We were really pleased with the standard of accommodation, basic but comfortable, clean and well appointed. The booking in process was efficient and welcoming. The staff in the winery were excellent, informative and friendly. The restaurant, whilst a little expensive, served tasty enough food but mainly saved an argument over who was going to drive and we were able to bring a wonderful bottle of wine to the table which we had purchased earlier from the winery.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pwatsoevans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
philiphele, Owner at Hunter Valley Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2013

Great feedback. Thanks for sharing!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2013

We booked a half-day team meeting at the Hunter Resort. The Hermitage function room met all our needs and comfortably fitted our 25 participants. We were very well taken care of and the complimentary inclusions made it a special event for all. Lunch in the restaurant was fantastic (great Pizza and Salad selection with a very pleasant atmosphere). Thanks to Jan, Nathan and all the staff who made it a great day!

Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
Thank GenSB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pokolbin
6.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley
6.2 mi away
Kirkton Park Hotel Hunter Valley
3.6 mi away
Chateau Elan Hunter Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens
2.2 mi away
Spicers Vineyards Estate
Spicers Vineyards Estate
#1 of 15 in Pokolbin
919 reviews
4.9 mi away
The Convent Hunter Valley
The Convent Hunter Valley
#12 of 15 in Pokolbin
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hunter Valley Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hunter Valley Resort

Address: corner Hermitage Road & Mistletoe Lane, Pokolbin, New South Wales 2320, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Pokolbin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Pokolbin
#4 Family Hotel in Pokolbin
#5 Spa Hotel in Pokolbin
#8 Luxury Hotel in Pokolbin
Price Range: £81 - £203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hunter Valley Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Everything you are looking for in the Hunter - all at the one resort...* Onsite daily vineyard tours at 9am* Hunter Wine Theatre daily at 11am and 2pm* Adventure Centre has horse & carriage tour, Horse riding, Segway tours and Electric bike hire * Matilda Bay Brewhouse (12 craft beers) * Winetasting Cellars with 34 wines * Hunter Valley Wine School * Fantastic food from our Restaurant * Board games, pool table, 3km walking track * Heavenly Hunter Massage Centre * Pool, tennis, heated spa * Wonderful rooms featuring timber cathedral ceilings * Situated within our own 40 year old vineyards * Owned and operated by the Hele family * And within minutes of the resort... 3 championship golf courses including Cypress Lakes and The Vintage, The Hunter Valley Gardens, cafes, restaurants, hot air ballooning, cheese factories, a chocolate factory, antique stores, a whole shopping village, 3 pampering / massage businesses and over 140 wineries to visit! Or if you prefer, just sit back, relax and finish that book you have been promising to do... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hunter Valley Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hunter Valley Hotel Pokolbin
Hunter Resort Pokolbin
Hunter Hotel Pokolbin
Hunter Valley Resort Greater Newcastle/Pokolbin, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing