We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short Break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hunter Valley Resort
Ranked #9 of 15 Hotels in Pokolbin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 January 2014

We had a short 2 day break away. The location of this property was perfect, not far from anything. The brewery and restaurant were just great, the beers cold and the food hot. The staff were friendly and attentive , answering any queries we had. Unfortunately due to rain (record levels) we were limited with outdoor activities but still managed a wine class.
Very pretty property with everything you could ask for in a short break.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amanda580
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (766)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

446 - 452 of 766 reviews

Reviewed 20 January 2014

We enjoyed the stay at the resort , the day when we arrived was in heat wave conditions however we felt cool at the resort.

Wine was excellent. going back for more.

Wine tasting and wine tour was a lot of fun.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brett L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

This is the place to stay, great service, friendship that was shown, treated l one of the family
nothing was a bother, staff were just great, wine as good too, horse riding was wonderful. will be back to celebrate our youngest daughter 18th Birthday next year, she as already stated that were she would like to have it , great place

Room Tip: if you have a family the cabins are great , they are quite and so peaceful and it's just like y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank susan f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
philiphele, Owner at Hunter Valley Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2014

Good to see all went to plan. Thanks for sharing!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Overall we had a good weekend stay at the Hunter resort, we arrived slightly early and the receptionist had no issues with getting us into our rooms early or helping us find somewhere to eat and arranging transport for us on day 2 . We stayed in the Hunter room which was basic but adequate. The air conditioning was very good and we needed it ! first stop was the Blue Tongue Cafe for lunch and the food was as expected for lunch in a cafe. Next up was the the wine theatre which was very good followed by some wine sampling, our host was excellent, he was very knowledgable and personal in his presentation. After that we had a dip in the pool which was small with not many loungers but it was adequate. For dinner we went to the on-site restaurant and were amazed to find that it was the same menu as the cafe. 2 pizza's in one day is one more than needed really- we were looking forward to a nice evening meal but were disappointed. We had a few drinks in the cafe/bar that evening but felt that it was more geared up for daytime revellers than evening dwellers Breakfast was adequate for the money but the Tea and Coffee was very poor. I am afraid the next evening and following morning we ate and drank out. Overall this is a good place to stay without having to pay huge costs. a little attention to the evening catering/amenities is required though.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank P C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
philiphele, Owner at Hunter Valley Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2014

Great constructive feedback. Thank you.
We did have a separate day and night menu. However there are 73 restaurants in Wine Country doing the fine dining concept, so last year simplified our offer to an all day Bites, Pizza and Pasta menu. And at a much cheaper price to full on a la carte.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the
hunter valley resort for two nights. The rooms were comfortable and clean. Our room had a funny mouldy smell in the bathroom and the phone wasnt working, but apart from that we had a really nice stay.
The pool was nice and the staff were really friendly and helpful!!
Really great having the Italian restaurant, brewery cafe
and hermitage rd wine cellar on site. We spent one afternoon/evening at the resort without needing to leave.
A really good value getaway!

Stayed: January 2014
Thank Krunchy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Parents retreat for a night away without the little one. We had a great night with everything right there, which meant we didn't need to leave. Wine tasting and beer paddles were a highlight and the standard of the cottage too. The restaurant was excellent and we both loved our meals. We missed the wine theater but our tasting guide was great. We will definitely be back and for longer next time so I can enjoy some horse riding and the cheese factory!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ambergaps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

The staff at this property are absolutely fantastic, very friendly! Special mention to Josh at the bar and Terry on the winery tour(We were lucky in that being there midweek meant we had Terry all to ourselves). Our room was cozy and had great views. Having breakfast included made this a good value for money option and I would absolutely stay again!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jo H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pokolbin
6.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley
6.2 mi away
Kirkton Park Hotel Hunter Valley
3.6 mi away
Chateau Elan Hunter Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens
2.2 mi away
Spicers Vineyards Estate
Spicers Vineyards Estate
#1 of 15 in Pokolbin
908 reviews
4.4 mi away
Pokolbin Village
Pokolbin Village
#4 of 15 in Pokolbin
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hunter Valley Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hunter Valley Resort

Address: corner Hermitage Road & Mistletoe Lane, Pokolbin, New South Wales 2320, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Pokolbin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Pokolbin
#4 Family Hotel in Pokolbin
#5 Spa Hotel in Pokolbin
#8 Luxury Hotel in Pokolbin
Price Range: £70 - £193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hunter Valley Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Everything you are looking for in the Hunter - all at the one resort...* Onsite daily vineyard tours at 9am* Hunter Wine Theatre daily at 11am and 2pm* Adventure Centre has horse & carriage tour, Horse riding, Segway tours and Electric bike hire * Matilda Bay Brewhouse (12 craft beers) * Winetasting Cellars with 34 wines * Hunter Valley Wine School * Fantastic food from our Restaurant * Board games, pool table, 3km walking track * Heavenly Hunter Massage Centre * Pool, tennis, heated spa * Wonderful rooms featuring timber cathedral ceilings * Situated within our own 40 year old vineyards * Owned and operated by the Hele family * And within minutes of the resort... 3 championship golf courses including Cypress Lakes and The Vintage, The Hunter Valley Gardens, cafes, restaurants, hot air ballooning, cheese factories, a chocolate factory, antique stores, a whole shopping village, 3 pampering / massage businesses and over 140 wineries to visit! Or if you prefer, just sit back, relax and finish that book you have been promising to do... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hunter Valley Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hunter Valley Hotel Pokolbin
Hunter Resort Pokolbin
Hunter Hotel Pokolbin
Hunter Valley Resort Greater Newcastle/Pokolbin, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing