We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One night stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hunter Valley Resort
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Pokolbin
Certificate of Excellence
Sohar, Oman
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“One night stay”
Reviewed 12 February 2014

Stayed for one night as another night wasn't available. Stayed in 2 bed bungalow. Lovely views and peaceful location. Enjoyed the two free talks on winemaking that came with the room.
Found the staff helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelplannerUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

729 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    268
    228
    119
    64
    50
See reviews for
125
399
7
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bathurst, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 February 2014

We stayed at the Hunter Valley resort just before Australia Day 2014 to celebrate my sons 5th birthday. We had the best time, the staff were all lovely and even did up a special tasting paddle of soft drink on my little mans birthday - we are so very grateful you did this for us. The kids and hubby did the winery tour and loved it, the man conducting it was lovely with our kids and gave them grapes to nibble on and sparkling water (thank you for your kindness). There is plenty of space for kids to run around and we loved going for a walk to see the horses, cows and rusty tractor. Kids also loved looking for kangaroos while we had our breakfast. The resort was perfect location for everything we wanted to do. Being from the country ourselves we always have seaside holidays but I'm so glad we had a change and tried somewhere new - we'll definitely be back!! The only thing we had a problem with was the strong smelling/tasting bore water used at the resort, they do provide 4 little bottles of water but I would recommend taking your own and possibly not washing your hair there unless you have to - it took 4 washes/blowdries after we left to get rid of the smell of bore water from my hair. Even still it is a fab place that I would definitely recommend.

Room Tip: All room would be equally quiet and lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LC2795
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
philiphele, Owner at Hunter Valley Resort, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Thanks for sharing your great feedback....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 January 2014

Nice short break from Sydney to enjoy the wine country. The trip was booked via Cudo and it was value for money. We would recommend this place to stay and the food was amazing. Though we expected more grapes growing around the property from the images, it was not the case.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sonu S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 21 January 2014

We had a short 2 day break away. The location of this property was perfect, not far from anything. The brewery and restaurant were just great, the beers cold and the food hot. The staff were friendly and attentive , answering any queries we had. Unfortunately due to rain (record levels) we were limited with outdoor activities but still managed a wine class.
Very pretty property with everything you could ask for in a short break.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda580
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 January 2014

We enjoyed the stay at the resort , the day when we arrived was in heat wave conditions however we felt cool at the resort.

Wine was excellent. going back for more.

Wine tasting and wine tour was a lot of fun.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brett L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redland City, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014

This is the place to stay, great service, friendship that was shown, treated l one of the family
nothing was a bother, staff were just great, wine as good too, horse riding was wonderful. will be back to celebrate our youngest daughter 18th Birthday next year, she as already stated that were she would like to have it , great place

Room Tip: if you have a family the cabins are great , they are quite and so peaceful and it's just like y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susan f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
philiphele, Owner at Hunter Valley Resort, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Good to see all went to plan. Thanks for sharing!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Overall we had a good weekend stay at the Hunter resort, we arrived slightly early and the receptionist had no issues with getting us into our rooms early or helping us find somewhere to eat and arranging transport for us on day 2 . We stayed in the Hunter room which was basic but adequate. The air conditioning was very good and we needed it ! first stop was the Blue Tongue Cafe for lunch and the food was as expected for lunch in a cafe. Next up was the the wine theatre which was very good followed by some wine sampling, our host was excellent, he was very knowledgable and personal in his presentation. After that we had a dip in the pool which was small with not many loungers but it was adequate. For dinner we went to the on-site restaurant and were amazed to find that it was the same menu as the cafe. 2 pizza's in one day is one more than needed really- we were looking forward to a nice evening meal but were disappointed. We had a few drinks in the cafe/bar that evening but felt that it was more geared up for daytime revellers than evening dwellers Breakfast was adequate for the money but the Tea and Coffee was very poor. I am afraid the next evening and following morning we ate and drank out. Overall this is a good place to stay without having to pay huge costs. a little attention to the evening catering/amenities is required though.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank P C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
philiphele, Owner at Hunter Valley Resort, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Great constructive feedback. Thank you.
We did have a separate day and night menu. However there are 73 restaurants in Wine Country doing the fine dining concept, so last year simplified our offer to an all day Bites, Pizza and Pasta menu. And at a much cheaper price to full on a la carte.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pokolbin
6.2 mi away
Kirkton Park Hotel Hunter Valley
3.9 mi away
Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens
2.2 mi away
Spicers Vineyards Estate
Spicers Vineyards Estate
#1 of 15 in Pokolbin
862 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley
3.9 mi away
Chateau Elan Hunter Valley
4.9 mi away
The Convent Hunter Valley
The Convent Hunter Valley
#12 of 15 in Pokolbin
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hunter Valley Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hunter Valley Resort

Property: Hunter Valley Resort
Address: corner Hermitage Road & Mistletoe Lane, Pokolbin, New South Wales 2320, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Pokolbin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Pokolbin
#4 Spa Hotel in Pokolbin
#6 Family Hotel in Pokolbin
#7 Luxury Hotel in Pokolbin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hunter Valley Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Everything you are looking for in the Hunter - all at the one resort...* Onsite daily vineyard tours at 9am* Hunter Wine Theatre daily at 11am and 2pm* Adventure Centre has horse & carriage tour, Horse riding, Segway tours and Electric bike hire * Matilda Bay Brewhouse (12 craft beers) * Winetasting Cellars with 34 wines * Hunter Valley Wine School * Fantastic food from our Restaurant * Board games, pool table, 3km walking track * Heavenly Hunter Massage Centre * Pool, tennis, heated spa * Wonderful rooms featuring timber cathedral ceilings * Situated within our own 40 year old vineyards * Owned and operated by the Hele family * And within minutes of the resort... 3 championship golf courses including Cypress Lakes and The Vintage, The Hunter Valley Gardens, cafes, restaurants, hot air ballooning, cheese factories, a chocolate factory, antique stores, a whole shopping village, 3 pampering / massage businesses and over 140 wineries to visit! Or if you prefer, just sit back, relax and finish that book you have been promising to do... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hunter Valley Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hunter Valley Hotel Pokolbin
Hunter Resort Pokolbin
Hunter Hotel Pokolbin
Hunter Valley Resort Greater Newcastle/Pokolbin, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing