We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service, facilities & events”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hunter Valley Resort
Ranked #9 of 15 Hotels in Pokolbin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Dear Jan,

Angie, her team and I would like to say a huge THANK YOU to yourself and all of your staff for making their day a memorable one on Monday the 14th of April. The Care Service Management team thoroughly enjoyed the whole experience that you and your team provided and were very impressed and extremely happy with the exceptional customer service provided by yourself and all of your team members.

The managers and I will definitely be recommending your resort to others within our organisation and outside of it and when there is a need for our team members to stay in the Hunter Valley we will be certainly booking all our accommodation, meetings, events etc. through the Hunter Valley Resort.

A huge thank, once again, to you all for a truly wonderful and enjoyable experience. Please be sure to pass this message onto the rest of your team members.

Kind regards,
Brooke

Room Tip: Meeting rooms are very well suited for all types of business meetings
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brooke G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (756)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

419 - 425 of 756 reviews

Reviewed 12 April 2014

We spent only one night at this resort unfortunately. We loved every moment of our stay, we will return asap and hopefully we can spend a little longer next time. We stayed in a cabin it was great. The lady at the check-in counter could not have been more helpful. Food
at the restaurant [lunch dinner and breakfast] great.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian and Lisa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

Everything that was promised in the Package was honoured except Vineyard Tour no longer offered due to OHS guidelines. Comfortable Hunter Room overlooking countryside made for pleasant time spent out on our Terrace. Very quiet stay. Chris, in the Restaurant ensured we were made welcome & topped up Breakfast supplies.Lunch was very generous helpings. Terry, in the Wine Tasting area was most helpful & straight-talking about wine. May not pay Full Rates asked normally at HVR. Enjoyed the novel Beer Tasting Paddle Experience. Library area is free for Wifi use. Pool Area had Lounges & heated Spa.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gypsiegirl2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

We signed up to a package deal and were promised a luxurious resort experience. The two problems were:
- Its not a luxurious resort – it’s more a tired motel
- They refused to give us the package we paid for – we were supposed to get vouchers on check in but were only given a fraction of what was promised when we signed up. I raised this twice with reception (no joy) and via email after checking out (no response)
We paid for 3 nights but went home after 2.
As other reviews have said, the friendly staff are the best thing the resort has going for it. What a pity the owners have let the resort go.
A weekend in the Hunter is all about treating yourself, so I suggest you go somewhere better.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Travel_o0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

We travelled by car from Canberra to the Hunter Valley Resort. We thoroughly enjoyed our 3 day/nights at HVR. What stood out apart from the quality food, wine, location etc was the quality of the staff - Fiona in Reception; Ashleigh & Chris in the Restaurant; & Bill, Nathan & Terry in the Wine Tasting and School. Since our return we have been speaking highly of our experience at HVR to friends and colleagues in Canberra & Sydney. Highly recommended

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Flanvase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014

There have been some less than positive reviews of Hunter Resort lately and I hope this report helps.

The Resort is several years old. In its early days it obviously established a model of winery based hospitality for others to follow and, in some cases, improve upon.

We spent one day at the resort which was overcast and rainy. On arrival we were informed we had been upgraded to a Spa Room rather than the Hunter Room originally booked for us. Good news.

The model of separate "cabins" scattered about the estate is great and the Spa Room description sounded dreamily romantic and private - large "Hollywood size" bed, double spa bathtub, flat screen TV and DVD player. The reality is that they comprise, in British terms, a large wooden, semi detached, garden Summerhouse furnished with two, small, armchairs, no table, a reasonable size (and very comfortable) double bed, a small utility kitchenette and an adequate, but scarcely luxurious, bathroom. However, most fixtures and fittings feel dated and a little careworn, although the bathroom was clean and ell cared for; the shower was powerful and roomy and most tiling appeared fresh. Note: the "double"spa bath could only (just) accommodate me - at 6' 5".

There is a small deck area that looks south, across open countryside, toward the mountains which adds appeal and would be beautiful on a warm sunny evening.

Dinner was fine - simple pizzas with a glass of wine. The pizzas had a good base, crispy edges and were full of flavour. The waiting staff were very helpful and knowledgeable about the wines available.

Like many Australian hotels / motels the cost of "extras" irked us. $10 a day per device to connect to Wi Fi, $5 to rent a DVD, $1 for a Nespresso pod are all, relatively, small sums - and ones I probably wouldn't notice if the daily rack rate were increased by just a few dollars to cover.

All that said Hunter Resort does offer value for money - and we enjoyed a comfortable stay during some gloomy weather. We paid $285 for one nights bed & breakfast plus dinner, 3 glasses of wine, the extras noted above and the resort's Vineyard Tour and Wine Theatre with wine tasting. The latter two events were combined due to poor weather but our Cellar Master, Matt, went way beyond script and gave us nearly two hours of informative presentation and discussion along with a tasting of five different wines. This was the highlight of our stay.

On the whole I recommend the Hunter Resort to travellers, it offers simple, honest accommodation and food at a reasonable price. It is well situated within the area for tours and visits to other attractions in the Hunter Valley. Just hope you have better weather than we did.

Room Tip: Our Spa room was larger than average - would have been tight in a smaller room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

I have attached my letter of thanks

Dear Hunter Resort,

I just wanted to thank you and the staff at the Hunter Resort for the care and attention that you gave to us when we ran our carers course for people with motor neurone disease last week on the 13th and 14th March.

Each person completed an evaluation of the two days and on the question about their satisfaction with the accommodation, venue and catering everyone gave a rating of 4 or 5 out of 5. Very high praise indeed.

The accommodation was very clean and spacious, the meals under the sails were lovely and the dinner BBQ was also a great hit. I particularly liked the morning and afternoon teas! The Vintage room also suited the dynamic of our group and was presented beautifully for us.

A special thanks to you Jan for making it run so smoothly. Could you please pass on our thanks to Chris, who was there whenever we asked for something, to Terry who made all of us laugh on the wine tour, to the head chef (and I apologise I have forgotten his name) and all the others who did their job without being intrusive. You are all very professional indeed. Of course Sally at heavenly hunter did a wonderful job of helping to pamper the people who need pampering the most!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kris_do
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pokolbin
6.2 mi away
Kirkton Park Hotel Hunter Valley
6.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley
3.9 mi away
Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Spicers Vineyards Estate
Spicers Vineyards Estate
#1 of 15 in Pokolbin
892 reviews
3.6 mi away
Chateau Elan Hunter Valley
4.4 mi away
Pokolbin Village
Pokolbin Village
#5 of 15 in Pokolbin
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hunter Valley Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hunter Valley Resort

Address: corner Hermitage Road & Mistletoe Lane, Pokolbin, New South Wales 2320, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Pokolbin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Pokolbin
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Pokolbin
#5 Spa Hotel in Pokolbin
#8 Luxury Hotel in Pokolbin
Price Range: £80 - £189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hunter Valley Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Everything you are looking for in the Hunter - all at the one resort...* Onsite daily vineyard tours at 9am* Hunter Wine Theatre daily at 11am and 2pm* Adventure Centre has horse & carriage tour, Horse riding, Segway tours and Electric bike hire * Matilda Bay Brewhouse (12 craft beers) * Winetasting Cellars with 34 wines * Hunter Valley Wine School * Fantastic food from our Restaurant * Board games, pool table, 3km walking track * Heavenly Hunter Massage Centre * Pool, tennis, heated spa * Wonderful rooms featuring timber cathedral ceilings * Situated within our own 40 year old vineyards * Owned and operated by the Hele family * And within minutes of the resort... 3 championship golf courses including Cypress Lakes and The Vintage, The Hunter Valley Gardens, cafes, restaurants, hot air ballooning, cheese factories, a chocolate factory, antique stores, a whole shopping village, 3 pampering / massage businesses and over 140 wineries to visit! Or if you prefer, just sit back, relax and finish that book you have been promising to do... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hunter Valley Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hunter Valley Hotel Pokolbin
Hunter Resort Pokolbin
Hunter Hotel Pokolbin
Hunter Valley Resort Greater Newcastle/Pokolbin, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing