We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK for an overnight stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hunter Valley Resort
Ranked #9 of 15 Hotels in Pokolbin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 May 2014

My Husband and I stayed here Sunday night, whilst the accommodation was comfortable it was a little older than we expected however was OK for the one night stay, my main complaint was the shower with only half a screen it was difficult to not get water all over the floor, which than makes it a little tricky to get out of the bath (shower over it) even with the mat on the floor.
I would not suggest the restaurant for dinner, whilst the waiter was attentive and gave me a sample of a beer i was not sure about and neither was he (Itchy Green Pants give it a go as it's lovely) the chef seemed to be in the race of his life we ordered our food and less than 10mins pass and our entree arrives. I ordered the squid, very tender but nothing special and my husband had the" Crisp" Pork Belly with Pork Fennel Sausage and a Candy Apple Sauce which was chewy and without a hint of crackling also the sauce was straight from the fridge. We noticed that other tables were receiving there mains very quickly and when our entrees were cleared we asked that our mains wait a while, Whilst the meals took longer which was nice as we had time to chat and have a drink, it was obvious that Chef cooked them when the plates were cleared and left them under the heat lamps, again just warm and average I had the Suppli Saffron Risotto Balls with Mozzarella as main and my husband had the Slow Braised Tuscan Style Lamb shoulder with Potato Gnocchi. When it was freezing outside all you want is a hot meal, we were the last to finish mains and were asked straight away if we wanted dessert which we did not as soon as this was relayed to Chef the lights in the kitchen were turned off and he ran out the door at 8.45pm. Don't let the restaurant stop you from staying as there are plenty of other places to eat.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Melissa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (766)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

419 - 425 of 766 reviews

Reviewed 28 April 2014

Staff at the restaurant and bar exceptional.

We had a wedding in the open area on the bridge and reception in the restaurant.

The staff were there and delivered everything we needed and also packed it away after.

Food and beverage service again couldn't be faulted.

Several of the guest stayed in the accommodation and enjoyed it immensely.

Room Tip: Book early as this place is popular
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Garry2542014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

This place is good, but not great. The rooms, the pool and the reception are all looking a but old and tired. The rooms were extremely clean though.

If you're looking to not spend much on accommodation, this place is a good option. It's not a nice at the other bit hotels in the Hunter but it is affordable.

A bar staff member made an inappropriate comment about some Chinese girls staying there who interrupted my ordering to ask where they were to collect their meal (as their buzzer was buzzing). While the interruption was annoying to me, it was more of a problem to me that the bar tender said how rude they were and that while they're in our country they should be nice to us. I found this a little inappropriate. I'm Australian and I can't stand this negative talk.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sydney_lodges
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Staff at restaurant and bar exceptional especially since they were so short staffed. Outlook from cottage gorgeous. Liked the spa cottage but unfortunately on arrival the bathroom/spa was only semi clean with someone's dark hair in spa and on floor. Also it looked like complimentary shampoo partially used. Reception lady appeared stressed on the Wednesday and stated they were quite busy at the moment and she would book our restaurant table when she could. At restaurant that night table booked in wrong name. However, I will say we thought the place had a lovely feel about it and staff friendly. We would give it another go.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Morgz2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Friendly ,professional, and helpful staff. Winery very informative and the beer paddles a great way of sampling. Lovely meals. The room was clean and tidy with a bath, a little dark but lovely views. A very relaxing stay and I would visit again. Many thanks to staff and management.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shirley N Alan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

The Hunter Valley Resort had very friendly and welcoming staff at reception and in the wine tasting area. We were given a very long wine tasting session and personalised service, which was much appreciated. The library was comfortable with a wide selection of books and we borrowed a DVD from the reception area on a rainy day.
In the bedroom, one of the light bulbs in the bedside lamps didn't work. There were cigarette butts left in the outside ashtray that could have been cleaned. The previous occupants review form that had been filled out was left on the bed with all of their name and address details included. Also, there was no fly screen on the bathroom window so flies could fly in and that was a bit annoying as we were near the stables, where there were quite a few flies. The room was a bit hot and we struggled a bit with the air con controls.
Next time we go to the Hunter Valley, we would like to try other accommodation but I would still recommend this resort for the friendly staff, cold pool and warm, bubbly spa!

Room Tip: Select the cottages as they have their own spa baths.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debra_2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

We arrived 20mins early to our allotted check in time but our room was already for us, walking in to a perfectly clean and made up room , the bed so comfy and we both slept so well , the staff in the winery very informative and the staff in the cafe and restaurant were great all round a great Resort and we would definitely come stay again !!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Narelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pokolbin
6.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley
6.2 mi away
Kirkton Park Hotel Hunter Valley
3.6 mi away
Chateau Elan Hunter Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens
2.2 mi away
Spicers Vineyards Estate
Spicers Vineyards Estate
#1 of 15 in Pokolbin
908 reviews
4.4 mi away
Pokolbin Village
Pokolbin Village
#4 of 15 in Pokolbin
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hunter Valley Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hunter Valley Resort

Address: corner Hermitage Road & Mistletoe Lane, Pokolbin, New South Wales 2320, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Pokolbin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Pokolbin
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Pokolbin
#5 Spa Hotel in Pokolbin
#8 Luxury Hotel in Pokolbin
Price Range: £70 - £193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hunter Valley Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Everything you are looking for in the Hunter - all at the one resort...* Onsite daily vineyard tours at 9am* Hunter Wine Theatre daily at 11am and 2pm* Adventure Centre has horse & carriage tour, Horse riding, Segway tours and Electric bike hire * Matilda Bay Brewhouse (12 craft beers) * Winetasting Cellars with 34 wines * Hunter Valley Wine School * Fantastic food from our Restaurant * Board games, pool table, 3km walking track * Heavenly Hunter Massage Centre * Pool, tennis, heated spa * Wonderful rooms featuring timber cathedral ceilings * Situated within our own 40 year old vineyards * Owned and operated by the Hele family * And within minutes of the resort... 3 championship golf courses including Cypress Lakes and The Vintage, The Hunter Valley Gardens, cafes, restaurants, hot air ballooning, cheese factories, a chocolate factory, antique stores, a whole shopping village, 3 pampering / massage businesses and over 140 wineries to visit! Or if you prefer, just sit back, relax and finish that book you have been promising to do... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hunter Valley Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hunter Valley Hotel Pokolbin
Hunter Resort Pokolbin
Hunter Hotel Pokolbin
Hunter Valley Resort Greater Newcastle/Pokolbin, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing