We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly educational good value stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hunter Valley Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hunter Valley Resort
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Pokolbin
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Friendly educational good value stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014 via mobile

Our first trip to hunter valley and hunter valley resort was a nice central location. Wouldn't call it a resort as such but it still had all the comfortable amenities and plenty of place for kids to run around.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jojamb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

680 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    246
    212
    113
    62
    47
See reviews for
111
379
7
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Booker Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

We just had a 3 night stay at this resort and would recommend it as a central place to stay with great views over vineyards, grassed areas and tennis court adjacent.
We took advantage of the horse riding on site for a trail ride one day and a wine tour by horse and carriage for a full day, through a lot of smaller winery's and food outlets.
Room was spacious and clean with very comfortable beds, with a great outlook from rear patio.
The brewery has been closed for some time now but this is not advertised, as it is just a bar now.
Down side.
What ever you do, go somewhere else for your food.
(a) We all know that food from Bain Marie warmers is always bland and cold, but this offering was this, and worse for the 3 days we were there.
(b) The pizza awards they have displayed on the wall must have been from another chef, as ours was half cooked, tasteless and returned to the kitchen to be removed from the bill.
(c) I ordered mussels with pasta for lunch, and while the pasta was cooked well, the mussels must have been added as a last minute thing as they were cold and spoiled a usually good dish.
But do not let this turn you off the resort, as there is a wonderful restaurant across the road who serve great food.
The staff were very helpful, and did not seem surprised when I replied to their question about my dining experience.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Graham T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cronulla, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

We visited the Hunter Valley Resort for wine tastings and a meal.
Was without doubt the best service we had in the Hunter Valley the whole day. Cannot wait to get back to hopefully stay at the Hunter Valley Resort.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katie2289
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

My Husband and I stayed here Sunday night, whilst the accommodation was comfortable it was a little older than we expected however was OK for the one night stay, my main complaint was the shower with only half a screen it was difficult to not get water all over the floor, which than makes it a little tricky to get out of the bath (shower over it) even with the mat on the floor.
I would not suggest the restaurant for dinner, whilst the waiter was attentive and gave me a sample of a beer i was not sure about and neither was he (Itchy Green Pants give it a go as it's lovely) the chef seemed to be in the race of his life we ordered our food and less than 10mins pass and our entree arrives. I ordered the squid, very tender but nothing special and my husband had the" Crisp" Pork Belly with Pork Fennel Sausage and a Candy Apple Sauce which was chewy and without a hint of crackling also the sauce was straight from the fridge. We noticed that other tables were receiving there mains very quickly and when our entrees were cleared we asked that our mains wait a while, Whilst the meals took longer which was nice as we had time to chat and have a drink, it was obvious that Chef cooked them when the plates were cleared and left them under the heat lamps, again just warm and average I had the Suppli Saffron Risotto Balls with Mozzarella as main and my husband had the Slow Braised Tuscan Style Lamb shoulder with Potato Gnocchi. When it was freezing outside all you want is a hot meal, we were the last to finish mains and were asked straight away if we wanted dessert which we did not as soon as this was relayed to Chef the lights in the kitchen were turned off and he ran out the door at 8.45pm. Don't let the restaurant stop you from staying as there are plenty of other places to eat.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Melissa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neutral Bay, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

Staff at the restaurant and bar exceptional.

We had a wedding in the open area on the bridge and reception in the restaurant.

The staff were there and delivered everything we needed and also packed it away after.

Food and beverage service again couldn't be faulted.

Several of the guest stayed in the accommodation and enjoyed it immensely.

Room Tip: Book early as this place is popular
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Garry2542014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

This place is good, but not great. The rooms, the pool and the reception are all looking a but old and tired. The rooms were extremely clean though.

If you're looking to not spend much on accommodation, this place is a good option. It's not a nice at the other bit hotels in the Hunter but it is affordable.

A bar staff member made an inappropriate comment about some Chinese girls staying there who interrupted my ordering to ask where they were to collect their meal (as their buzzer was buzzing). While the interruption was annoying to me, it was more of a problem to me that the bar tender said how rude they were and that while they're in our country they should be nice to us. I found this a little inappropriate. I'm Australian and I can't stand this negative talk.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sydney_lodges
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gosford, Australia
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

Staff at restaurant and bar exceptional especially since they were so short staffed. Outlook from cottage gorgeous. Liked the spa cottage but unfortunately on arrival the bathroom/spa was only semi clean with someone's dark hair in spa and on floor. Also it looked like complimentary shampoo partially used. Reception lady appeared stressed on the Wednesday and stated they were quite busy at the moment and she would book our restaurant table when she could. At restaurant that night table booked in wrong name. However, I will say we thought the place had a lovely feel about it and staff friendly. We would give it another go.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Morgz2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pokolbin
6.2 mi away
The Sebel Kirkton Park Hunter Valley
3.8 mi away
Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens
2.2 mi away
Spicers Vineyards Estate
Spicers Vineyards Estate
#1 of 15 in Pokolbin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley
4.9 mi away
The Convent Hunter Valley
The Convent Hunter Valley
#11 of 15 in Pokolbin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
3.8 mi away
Chateau Elan Hunter Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hunter Valley Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hunter Valley Resort

Property: Hunter Valley Resort
Address: corner Hermitage Road & Mistletoe Lane, Pokolbin, New South Wales 2320, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Pokolbin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Pokolbin
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Pokolbin
#4 Spa Hotel in Pokolbin
#6 Family Hotel in Pokolbin
#7 Luxury Hotel in Pokolbin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hunter Valley Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Everything you are looking for in the Hunter - all at the one resort...* Onsite daily vineyard tours at 9am* Hunter Wine Theatre daily at 11am and 2pm* Horse & carriage tour* Horse riding* Bluetongue Brewery Cafe * Hunter Valley Wine School * Fantastic food from our San Martino Restaurant * Board games, pool table, 3km walking/jogging track * Heavenly Hunter Massage Centre * Pool, tennis, heated spa, mountain bikes * Wonderful rooms featuring timber cathedral ceilings * Situated within our own 40 year old vineyards * Owned and operated by the Hele family * And within minutes of the resort... 3 championship golf courses including Cypress Lakes and The Vintage, The Hunter Valley Gardens, cafes, restaurants, hot air ballooning, cheese factories, a chocolate factory, antique stores, a whole shopping village, 3 pampering / massage businesses and over 140 wineries to visit! Or if you prefer, just sit back, relax and finish that book you have been promising to do... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Hunter Valley Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hunter Valley Hotel Pokolbin
Hunter Resort Pokolbin
Hunter Hotel Pokolbin
Hunter Valley Resort Greater Newcastle/Pokolbin, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing