We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (828)
Filter reviews
828 results
Traveller rating
309
258
138
70
53
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
309
258
138
70
53
Show reviews that mention
All reviews horse riding wine theatre wine tasting segway tour spa cottage hunter valley wine making brew house cellar door bay brewery tennis courts terry brewhouse accommodation matilda paddle winery
Filter
Updating list...
471 - 476 of 828 reviews
Reviewed 24 May 2014

I am a frequent visitor to the Hunter Valley, and have stayed at many of the hotels in the lower hunter, including Hunter Resort on previous occasions. Not only do they have great rooms overlooking the wines. Their restaurant is excellent, we ate there 2 evenings and had incredible food, and best of all wine. The jewel in the crown as far as I am concerned is their cellar door. with their wine theatre and knowledgeable staff. The fact they represent so many wineries and wine makers makes it a real experience where you can compare varieties by different makers.(Two of my favourites Pollin & Pollin and Andrew Thomas)
At the end of the wine day there is also time for a PCA in the brewery,
With the new Hunter Connect Motorway straight to the door in 2 Hrs from Sydney

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank greatdane2880
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Booked through travel site. Be careful when booking with Cudo or Living Social Deals. On the dates we booked (midweek) the price was charged in the higher range due to the resort "having no rooms for that deal available". We were charged extra for another room with a view over the vineyard, which consisted of about 4 vines. Apart from that, room was clean, large and comfortable. The resort is central to most attractions in the Lower Hunter. The staff are professional and extremely friendly and do make you feel welcome. Restaurant could do with a more extensive menu and change it but the food is tasty if slightly overpriced.

Room Tip: Do not book though a booking agency, book direct with the facility.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Larry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Spent just one night at Hunter Valley Resort but could have happily stayed for more days. Rooms were great with lovely aspects all round. The resort is perfectly situated in the heart of the Hunter so this makes a great base to travel around in all directions. I did rate the service as poor but only refers to the onsite restaurant, nowhere else. The service at the restaurant needs jacking up. My sons order was wrong, there was a long delay in serving the dishes (though the place was not overly busy), the food wasn't terribly warm upon arrival and my lamb/pasta dish decidedly lacked the presence of much lamb. But the rest of our experience was great including the talk on wine, though the Wine Theatre presentation mirrored what we'd just been told in person. Overall, I would recommend Hunter Valley Resort and hope to return someday soon.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PhilWiddi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

This resort is getting a bit long in the tooth but still represents very good value. With two other couples we had a special deal through a promotion which turned out to be excellent value. The staff was terrific, very pleasant and helpful. The wine information tour was interesting and the wine tasting was also informative. Breakfasts were adequate for our purposes. We ate daily at the restaurant to avoid the hassle of driving with a couple of drinks under our belt and found the food and pricing satisfactory without being marvellous, nor would you expect that for the prices asked. We would visit the resort again if the right circumstances arose and would recommend to others not expecting a 4 or 5 star experience.

Room Tip: Best to have an end room if possible as the walls are somewhat thin.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank geonic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We stayed as part of a retirement tour by a pair of 'poms'. We thoroughly enjoyed the stay, friendly staff, excellent educational tour of winery by amusing, knowledgeable guide. We recommend the wine tasting enjoyable and unpretentious!!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews