We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hunter Valley Resort
Ranked #9 of 15 Hotels in Pokolbin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Not having been to the Hunter Valley for a number of years and certainly never having heard of the Hunter Valley Resort we were unsure of what to expect. The price for bed and breakfast seemed very reasonable when we booked. What a pleasant surprise! The Resort while certainly not "brand new" had a lovely country feel and charm. The restaurant food and service was first rate. While not boasting an extensive menu or wine list the dishes and wines we had were very good and nothing was a problem for the staff. We had some special dietary requirements which were handled with much grace. Of particular attraction was the cosy library with coffee, tv, open fire and free wifi. Will certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (754)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

397 - 403 of 754 reviews

Reviewed 24 May 2014

I am a frequent visitor to the Hunter Valley, and have stayed at many of the hotels in the lower hunter, including Hunter Resort on previous occasions. Not only do they have great rooms overlooking the wines. Their restaurant is excellent, we ate there 2 evenings and had incredible food, and best of all wine. The jewel in the crown as far as I am concerned is their cellar door. with their wine theatre and knowledgeable staff. The fact they represent so many wineries and wine makers makes it a real experience where you can compare varieties by different makers.(Two of my favourites Pollin & Pollin and Andrew Thomas)
At the end of the wine day there is also time for a PCA in the brewery,
With the new Hunter Connect Motorway straight to the door in 2 Hrs from Sydney

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank greatdane2880
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Booked through travel site. Be careful when booking with Cudo or Living Social Deals. On the dates we booked (midweek) the price was charged in the higher range due to the resort "having no rooms for that deal available". We were charged extra for another room with a view over the vineyard, which consisted of about 4 vines. Apart from that, room was clean, large and comfortable. The resort is central to most attractions in the Lower Hunter. The staff are professional and extremely friendly and do make you feel welcome. Restaurant could do with a more extensive menu and change it but the food is tasty if slightly overpriced.

Room Tip: Do not book though a booking agency, book direct with the facility.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Larry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Spent just one night at Hunter Valley Resort but could have happily stayed for more days. Rooms were great with lovely aspects all round. The resort is perfectly situated in the heart of the Hunter so this makes a great base to travel around in all directions. I did rate the service as poor but only refers to the onsite restaurant, nowhere else. The service at the restaurant needs jacking up. My sons order was wrong, there was a long delay in serving the dishes (though the place was not overly busy), the food wasn't terribly warm upon arrival and my lamb/pasta dish decidedly lacked the presence of much lamb. But the rest of our experience was great including the talk on wine, though the Wine Theatre presentation mirrored what we'd just been told in person. Overall, I would recommend Hunter Valley Resort and hope to return someday soon.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PhilWiddi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

This resort is getting a bit long in the tooth but still represents very good value. With two other couples we had a special deal through a promotion which turned out to be excellent value. The staff was terrific, very pleasant and helpful. The wine information tour was interesting and the wine tasting was also informative. Breakfasts were adequate for our purposes. We ate daily at the restaurant to avoid the hassle of driving with a couple of drinks under our belt and found the food and pricing satisfactory without being marvellous, nor would you expect that for the prices asked. We would visit the resort again if the right circumstances arose and would recommend to others not expecting a 4 or 5 star experience.

Room Tip: Best to have an end room if possible as the walls are somewhat thin.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank geonic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We stayed as part of a retirement tour by a pair of 'poms'. We thoroughly enjoyed the stay, friendly staff, excellent educational tour of winery by amusing, knowledgeable guide. We recommend the wine tasting enjoyable and unpretentious!!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

My partner and I stayed here for 2 nights over the weekend. We really enjoyed the stay. The surroundings are beautiful with nice views of the vineyards and there are a couple of good walking trails. It's situated behind the bluetongue brewery which is handy if you get in late and want to grab a drink afterwards. The rooms are well equipped, very comfy beds and everything you would need for a short weekend away.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pokolbin
6.2 mi away
Kirkton Park Hotel Hunter Valley
6.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley
3.9 mi away
Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Spicers Vineyards Estate
Spicers Vineyards Estate
#1 of 15 in Pokolbin
890 reviews
3.6 mi away
Chateau Elan Hunter Valley
4.4 mi away
Pokolbin Village
Pokolbin Village
#5 of 15 in Pokolbin
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hunter Valley Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hunter Valley Resort

Address: corner Hermitage Road & Mistletoe Lane, Pokolbin, New South Wales 2320, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Pokolbin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Pokolbin
#5 Spa Hotel in Pokolbin
#6 Family Hotel in Pokolbin
#8 Luxury Hotel in Pokolbin
Price Range: £80 - £192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hunter Valley Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Everything you are looking for in the Hunter - all at the one resort...* Onsite daily vineyard tours at 9am* Hunter Wine Theatre daily at 11am and 2pm* Adventure Centre has horse & carriage tour, Horse riding, Segway tours and Electric bike hire * Matilda Bay Brewhouse (12 craft beers) * Winetasting Cellars with 34 wines * Hunter Valley Wine School * Fantastic food from our Restaurant * Board games, pool table, 3km walking track * Heavenly Hunter Massage Centre * Pool, tennis, heated spa * Wonderful rooms featuring timber cathedral ceilings * Situated within our own 40 year old vineyards * Owned and operated by the Hele family * And within minutes of the resort... 3 championship golf courses including Cypress Lakes and The Vintage, The Hunter Valley Gardens, cafes, restaurants, hot air ballooning, cheese factories, a chocolate factory, antique stores, a whole shopping village, 3 pampering / massage businesses and over 140 wineries to visit! Or if you prefer, just sit back, relax and finish that book you have been promising to do... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hunter Valley Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hunter Valley Hotel Pokolbin
Hunter Resort Pokolbin
Hunter Hotel Pokolbin
Hunter Valley Resort Greater Newcastle/Pokolbin, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing