We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely not worth”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hunter Valley Resort
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Pokolbin
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Definitely not worth”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

My boyfriend and I just returned from a quick trip to Hunter Valley where we stayed at the resort and we are glad the place was pretty enough to offset the disappointment with our hosting. We are supposed to stay in a 4 star resort, but our room was far from this.
We paid extra to stay in a charming Vineyard room described by their website as having a private balcony, I only found a little bench outside.
The room was spacious but really needs renovation, the remote control didn't work, the shower was deregulated and spread water across the bathroom, it was necessary dry the floor after to be able to use the toilet.
By morning time i was surprised by the housekepper opening the door without knocking and getting me changing clothes.
It may not seem a big problem and in fact is not. However, for those organizations to take a little vacation and enjoy as a couple, what we found was very disappointing (especially after reading their website) and below the amount paid.

Room Tip: If you are only looking for a place to stay the night, get the cheapest room, the vineyard room not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank GabriellaBorella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
philiphele, Owner at Hunter Valley Resort, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Thank you for the constructive feedback. I have spoken to Housekeeping to ensure they knock harder and wait.... So sorry for the intrusion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

717 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    262
    223
    119
    63
    50
See reviews for
120
394
7
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gosford, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

Came here with a big group and had the bezt time. Staff were so friendly and treated us like individuals not just a big group. The rooms were lovely and had all the basic amenities with a beautiful view of the fields. Loved the rusty tractor. The buffet breakfast was fresh and a good selection. Total recommend this for a place to sray with friends and have a drink and relax in the hunter valley!

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Sjbay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
philiphele, Owner at Hunter Valley Resort, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Thank you for sharing your review with others. Much appreciated!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nsw australia
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Large theme rooms which are a little dated but so lovely and quaint. Beautifully clean with crisp sheets and comfy beds. Each room has a sitting room, bedroom, ensuite and front deck overlooking the vineyards. Microwave, fridge and tea and coffee facilities. Rob the owner manager is wonderful and drove us to our venue and even picked us up! Excellent customer service. New management has only been in place for 3 months but they are really making headway. We'll definitely be back and great to see that they will take 1 night bookings. Lovely to stay somewhere with real character!

Room Tip: All rooms are very quiet and overlook the vineyards.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kim056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
178 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

If you get a package deal it is worth the value. The resort is just pushing 4 stars if that. Staff are friendly and helpful although the reception staff we met were all new. Breakfast was ok with a reasonable variety. We did both the winery tour and wine video with tasting. The person running both of these was really knowledgeable and took time to explain things. Learnt a lot with the tasting also. With the brewery cafe and restaurant on site also you don't have to leave the resort. There are also two or three wineries nearby you could walk to. Would come back again expecting relaxation but not luxury.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank James188113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

We booked 3 rooms at this resort as we were going to a family wedding close by. The convenience factor and location were great. However , for a 4 star resort the standard of accommodation was very average. The rooms were spacious but dated. 2 rooms had resident cockroaches. One room had no milk provided and no in house working phone to contact reception. We paid extra for a Vintage Room with views of the vineyard. The only views were of several rows of pathetic looking vines strategically placed just in front of the rooms.
When we were checking out we brought our concerns to the attention of the staff at reception but not even a simple apology was offered.
Overall, a disappointing experience and unfortunately I could not recommend this resort

Room Tip: Make sure you secure a good deal before booking this accommodation
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LynB52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mollymook, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

We spent 3 nights as part of a deal at the resort, and while it's on the older side we were pleased with our large, clean and comfortable room that overlooked the vineyard. Breakfast was more than adequate to kick start the day. We arrived in the dark and feel the entry into the resort could do with a bit more lighting and clearer signage but that didn't effect our stay.
We had lunch at the resort/ brewery as part of the deal and while the entrees were massive they were served at the same time as the mains, didn't bode well for enjoying a leisurely lunch. Kitchen/staff need to plan and time this better, the meal was good though.
Staff were pleasant at all times .
To sit and watch the sun set from the table and chairs outside the room with a glass of local wine and cheese was a nice way to cap off the day.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lovista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Not having been to the Hunter Valley for a number of years and certainly never having heard of the Hunter Valley Resort we were unsure of what to expect. The price for bed and breakfast seemed very reasonable when we booked. What a pleasant surprise! The Resort while certainly not "brand new" had a lovely country feel and charm. The restaurant food and service was first rate. While not boasting an extensive menu or wine list the dishes and wines we had were very good and nothing was a problem for the staff. We had some special dietary requirements which were handled with much grace. Of particular attraction was the cosy library with coffee, tv, open fire and free wifi. Will certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pokolbin
6.2 mi away
Kirkton Park Hotel Hunter Valley
3.9 mi away
Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens
2.2 mi away
Spicers Vineyards Estate
Spicers Vineyards Estate
#1 of 15 in Pokolbin
854 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley
3.9 mi away
Chateau Elan Hunter Valley
4.9 mi away
The Convent Hunter Valley
The Convent Hunter Valley
#11 of 15 in Pokolbin
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hunter Valley Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hunter Valley Resort

Property: Hunter Valley Resort
Address: corner Hermitage Road & Mistletoe Lane, Pokolbin, New South Wales 2320, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Pokolbin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Pokolbin
#4 Spa Hotel in Pokolbin
#6 Family Hotel in Pokolbin
#7 Luxury Hotel in Pokolbin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hunter Valley Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Everything you are looking for in the Hunter - all at the one resort...* Onsite daily vineyard tours at 9am* Hunter Wine Theatre daily at 11am and 2pm* Adventure Centre has horse & carriage tour, Horse riding, Segway tours and Electric bike hire * Matilda Bay Brewhouse (12 craft beers) * Winetasting Cellars with 34 wines * Hunter Valley Wine School * Fantastic food from our Restaurant * Board games, pool table, 3km walking track * Heavenly Hunter Massage Centre * Pool, tennis, heated spa * Wonderful rooms featuring timber cathedral ceilings * Situated within our own 40 year old vineyards * Owned and operated by the Hele family * And within minutes of the resort... 3 championship golf courses including Cypress Lakes and The Vintage, The Hunter Valley Gardens, cafes, restaurants, hot air ballooning, cheese factories, a chocolate factory, antique stores, a whole shopping village, 3 pampering / massage businesses and over 140 wineries to visit! Or if you prefer, just sit back, relax and finish that book you have been promising to do... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hunter Valley Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hunter Valley Hotel Pokolbin
Hunter Resort Pokolbin
Hunter Hotel Pokolbin
Hunter Valley Resort Greater Newcastle/Pokolbin, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing