We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens(Pokolbin)(Great Value!)
US$242
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
The Convent Hunter Valley Hotel(Pokolbin)(Great Value!)
US$312
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villa Provence(Pokolbin)(Great Value!)
US$689
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Red Door Collective(Pokolbin)(Great Value!)
US$395
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$126
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$121
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Leisure Inn Pokolbin Hill(Pokolbin)(Great Value!)
US$461
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Deja Vu Estate(Pokolbin)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Beltana Villas(Pokolbin)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Billabong Moon(Pokolbin)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Belford Cabins(Pokolbin)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (811)
Filter reviews
811 results
Traveller rating
304
253
133
69
52
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
304
253
133
69
52
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshorse ridingwine theatrewine tastingsegway tourspa cottagehunter valleywine makingbrew housecellar doorbay brewerycheese factorytennis courtsterrybrewhouseaccommodationmatildapaddle
Filter
Updating list...
446 - 451 of 811 reviews
Reviewed 16 June 2014

My boyfriend and I just returned from a quick trip to Hunter Valley where we stayed at the resort and we are glad the place was pretty enough to offset the disappointment with our hosting. We are supposed to stay in a 4 star resort, but our room was far from this.
We paid extra to stay in a charming Vineyard room described by their website as having a private balcony, I only found a little bench outside.
The room was spacious but really needs renovation, the remote control didn't work, the shower was deregulated and spread water across the bathroom, it was necessary dry the floor after to be able to use the toilet.
By morning time i was surprised by the housekepper opening the door without knocking and getting me changing clothes.
It may not seem a big problem and in fact is not. However, for those organizations to take a little vacation and enjoy as a couple, what we found was very disappointing (especially after reading their website) and below the amount paid.

Room Tip: If you are only looking for a place to stay the night, get the cheapest room, the vineyard room not worth the difference in price paid.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank GabriellaBorella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
philiphele, Owner at Hunter Valley Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Thank you for the constructive feedback. I have spoken to Housekeeping to ensure they knock harder and wait.... So sorry for the intrusion.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

Came here with a big group and had the bezt time. Staff were so friendly and treated us like individuals not just a big group. The rooms were lovely and had all the basic amenities with a beautiful view of the fields. Loved the rusty tractor. The buffet breakfast was fresh and a good selection. Total recommend this for a place to sray with friends and have a drink and relax in the hunter valley!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Sjbay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
philiphele, Owner at Hunter Valley Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Thank you for sharing your review with others. Much appreciated!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Large theme rooms which are a little dated but so lovely and quaint. Beautifully clean with crisp sheets and comfy beds. Each room has a sitting room, bedroom, ensuite and front deck overlooking the vineyards. Microwave, fridge and tea and coffee facilities. Rob the owner manager is wonderful and drove us to our venue and even picked us up! Excellent customer service. New management has only been in place for 3 months but they are really making headway. We'll definitely be back and great to see that they will take 1 night bookings. Lovely to stay somewhere with real character!

Room Tip: All rooms are very quiet and overlook the vineyards.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kim056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

If you get a package deal it is worth the value. The resort is just pushing 4 stars if that. Staff are friendly and helpful although the reception staff we met were all new. Breakfast was ok with a reasonable variety. We did both the winery tour and wine video with tasting. The person running both of these was really knowledgeable and took time to explain things. Learnt a lot with the tasting also. With the brewery cafe and restaurant on site also you don't have to leave the resort. There are also two or three wineries nearby you could walk to. Would come back again expecting relaxation but not luxury.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank James188113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

We booked 3 rooms at this resort as we were going to a family wedding close by. The convenience factor and location were great. However , for a 4 star resort the standard of accommodation was very average. The rooms were spacious but dated. 2 rooms had resident cockroaches. One room had no milk provided and no in house working phone to contact reception. We paid extra for a Vintage Room with views of the vineyard. The only views were of several rows of pathetic looking vines strategically placed just in front of the rooms.
When we were checking out we brought our concerns to the attention of the staff at reception but not even a simple apology was offered.
Overall, a disappointing experience and unfortunately I could not recommend this resort

Room Tip: Make sure you secure a good deal before booking this accommodation
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LynB52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews