We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice clean place to stay,right on vineyards.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hunter Valley Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hunter Valley Resort
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Pokolbin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice clean place to stay,right on vineyards.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

We had a great stay,unfortanly as we were doing a hot air ballon ride next day,we weren't able to do wine tour etc,but was a lovely stay.good location,not to far from hunter valley gardens.could do with a bigger sign for hotel or told that it's at the blue tongue brewery.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

680 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    246
    212
    113
    62
    47
See reviews for
111
379
7
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

My partner and I stayed here on our first visit to hunter valley. Staff were extremely friendly and welcoming. Wine theatre and tasting was by far the most enjoyable and engaging experience from all the different wineries 7 we visited. Accommodation as expected and lovely manicured gardens. Will definitely choose to stay here again on next visit to the region

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dianne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alice Springs, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

We were celebrating our 40th Anniversary and travelled up to the Hunter with another couple. We had adjoining rooms in a cabin which were beautifully appointed. The staff were fantastic and couldn't do enough for us from the moment we checked in at reception, the restaurant staff, cafe staff and cellar staff - terrific! The location is so peaceful, woken each morning to the call of the magpies. Ideally situated, close to other places in the area we wanted to visit. We would stay there anytime and thoroughly recommend it. In fact, we have told our travel agent to put it on their recommended list. Our wine purchases from the "The Family" label are beautiful AND freight free!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JJJ173
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

I stayed at the Hunter Valley Resort with my boyfriend for a weekend away in July 2014. We stayed in a Vineyard Room for two nights (Friday and Saturday). Overall we were very impressed with the resort, mainly because of the great customer service the staff provided, but the rooms are quite basic and a little outdated, so if you are looking for something luxurious I would recommend staying elsewhere. The receptionist and all the restaurant staff we met were very friendly and helpful which made the trip a great experience for us. We had lunch at the Bluetongue Brewery Cafe on our first day and dinner at San Martino Italian Restaurant which are both onsite. The food was good but basic so again I would recommend going elsewhere if you are looking for something a little more luxurious! The hotel had a great DVD selection which was good as we enjoyed watching movies with some wine and cheese in our hotel room. Also loved that there was an onsite wine theatre - the staff in there were again very friendly and helpful and we walked away with a couple of bottles of wine and some chocolates. The rooms were a good size and had everything we needed since we didn't spend much time in there anyway - nice big comfy bed, a TV, fridge, cutlery and a nice bathroom with a bath and shower. There are lots of other activities at the resort which we didn't get to indulge in since we were only there for a couple of days - a massage centre, tennis court, swimming pool, horse riding, a vineyard tour, etc. We really enjoyed our weekend away and would recommend the resort to anyone - it seems like one of the best value hotels in the Hunter.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellingAussie1993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
135 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

We booked one night here as friends had recommended the Hunter Valley as a place to see. The resort is vast and quite impressive when you turn up. Plenty of parking near your room, checkin was fast and easy. The staff were really friendly and helpful. They booked us onto a wine talk which gave us enough time to settle in and then head over.
Room was big and airy. We had a big door out to a little porch with wonderful views of the vineyard. Room itself was simple and basic but more than met our needs and the shower was good which helped as it was so warm. We had a fridge and they even gave a couple of bottles of water which was great.
We enjoyed the wine talk they gave. It was to the side of the wine bar and there were a few of us. They explained and answered questions with ease and were very friendly. When this was over we were told to go into the bar area where they would let us sample the wines. My partner and I ended up staying a while and finding out about lots more, asking questions and just having a great time. The guys were so helpful and knowledgeable. I know nothing about wine and they were so nice at explaining anything I asked, not snobby just really passionate. We got a couple of bottles (at the time they also sold locally made cosmetics, I got an amazing lip balm and face cream). Prices were great but more importantly, the staff were great.
When we finished that we went into the Brewery Cafe and tried the sampler plate of beer. It came out on a cool wooden tray and at the end you could choose one and have a full glass. It was so nice to try different wines and beers on this trip. We had a blast.
Food at the cafe was really really good. We also ate at the restaurant (dinner and breakfast) but I thought the cafe was better.
Such a great night, could have stayed longer. Definitely recommended for any length of stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SamJoL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

We had a fantastic time staying at this resort! Beautiful landscape and a cozy room nestled in the centre. The staff were enthusiastic and lovely, as well as knowledgable on wine and accommodating to our needs. Being so close to the brewery and restaurant was also an excellent feature of our stay, we ate very well there! I would definitely recommend the hunter resort to anyone looking for a lovely trip to relax and unwind :)

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Beauforster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

I recently enjoyed a three night package with my husband and friends at the Hunter Valley Resort and I must say the hospitality and friendliness of all the staff we came into contact with was wonderful. The Wine theatre experience was amazing I didn't realize what went into wine making, Terry was a wealth of information he was just amazing, and the wine tasting was great. We all enjoyed a walk around the property and the weather was beautiful. We dinned at the resort and the food was excellent. I would recommend this place to anyone who wants a relaxing fun time away.
Daphne H.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daphne H H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pokolbin
6.2 mi away
The Sebel Kirkton Park Hunter Valley
3.8 mi away
Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens
2.2 mi away
Spicers Vineyards Estate
Spicers Vineyards Estate
#1 of 15 in Pokolbin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 821 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley
4.9 mi away
The Convent Hunter Valley
The Convent Hunter Valley
#11 of 15 in Pokolbin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
3.8 mi away
Chateau Elan Hunter Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hunter Valley Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hunter Valley Resort

Property: Hunter Valley Resort
Address: corner Hermitage Road & Mistletoe Lane, Pokolbin, New South Wales 2320, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Pokolbin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Pokolbin
#4 Spa Hotel in Pokolbin
#6 Family Hotel in Pokolbin
#7 Luxury Hotel in Pokolbin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hunter Valley Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Everything you are looking for in the Hunter - all at the one resort...* Onsite daily vineyard tours at 9am* Hunter Wine Theatre daily at 11am and 2pm* Horse & carriage tour* Horse riding* Bluetongue Brewery Cafe * Hunter Valley Wine School * Fantastic food from our San Martino Restaurant * Board games, pool table, 3km walking/jogging track * Heavenly Hunter Massage Centre * Pool, tennis, heated spa, mountain bikes * Wonderful rooms featuring timber cathedral ceilings * Situated within our own 40 year old vineyards * Owned and operated by the Hele family * And within minutes of the resort... 3 championship golf courses including Cypress Lakes and The Vintage, The Hunter Valley Gardens, cafes, restaurants, hot air ballooning, cheese factories, a chocolate factory, antique stores, a whole shopping village, 3 pampering / massage businesses and over 140 wineries to visit! Or if you prefer, just sit back, relax and finish that book you have been promising to do... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hunter Valley Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hunter Valley Hotel Pokolbin
Hunter Resort Pokolbin
Hunter Hotel Pokolbin
Hunter Valley Resort Greater Newcastle/Pokolbin, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing