We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (823)
Filter reviews
823 results
Traveller rating
307
258
135
70
53
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
307
258
135
70
53
Show reviews that mention
All reviews horse riding wine theatre wine tasting segway tour spa cottage hunter valley wine making brew house cellar door bay brewery cheese factory tennis courts terry brewhouse accommodation matilda paddle
Filter
Updating list...
71 - 76 of 823 reviews
Reviewed 8 December 2017 via mobile

This stay was a RedBalloon gift so we did not pay for the accomodation. The rooms were clean and the beds comfy and the cabins were quiet. We overlooked the fields rather than the vines and saw kangaroos! The bathrooms could do with some tlc but all was in order.
The gift included a free wine school voucher and cheese tasting as well as a hot breakfast. The wine school was interesting and the choice of wine was great. The cheese tasting is over the road at the Binnorie cheese is an absolute must! Taylor’s wines is also located there and they have great views.
The dinner in the restaurant was understated but Brad and his first year chef presented one of the best meals we have had in a long time! The pizzas and bruschetta were also excellent.
The Brewhouse and its paddles and cocktails are amazing!
Would recommend to anyone!

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Melissa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2017

The resort is definitely in a great location to explore the Hunter Valleyand all that it offers. The resort has a lovely rural setting and is very peaceful.
We just found the room to be somewhat tired and in need of a coat of paint and the bathroom in a similar state-not a complaint but not what you expect for the price you pay. We had no issues either with the room size and bed comfort was excellent.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Tigers2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
philiphele, Owner at Hunter Valley Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2017

Thanks for taking the time to review us - happy to hear you enjoyed our rural setting, room size and our great beds! December will see the start of our refurb. Please come back and see the changes early 2018...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2017

We have stayed at Hunter Valley Resort a couple of times now and Iove that there are so many things to do and visit onsite. The wine tasting at the cellar door was great. We love eating at the restaurant/brewhouse. The food is fantastic.
The Segway tour through the vines was amazing and the spa cottage was definitely worth the extra money. The venue is a great place to end a day with wine tasting, happy hour at the brewhouse during the week then dinner in the restaurant.
We will definitely stay again.

Room Tip: The spa cottages are worth the extra money. The spa was a great size. A great way to spend time after a day of wine tasting in the area.
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sam R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2017

The location is fantastic, set just out of the main roads of the Hunter, very peaceful which matches the setting for gorgeous cottages. Having said that, you can still enjoy and good night in the Brewery within walking, (or staggering!) distance to the accommodation. The food is awesome and the beer is even better.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jet321680
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2017 via mobile

Upon arrival at the resort, my wife and I were welcomed with an uncollected opinion slip from the previous guests. Curiosity got the better of us and we dived in to not the best review. I am happy to report though, not all that was written was true. Let's break it down:
Staff: Absolutely brilliant! Everybody went well above the call of duty, from the bar, restaurant, to the wine tasting. I know I will get a few wrong, but in no particular order, Lucas, Stickers, Adam, Brad, Dean and kitchen guy (can't remember your name, sorry). Were excellent and made our stay that much more pleasant, you deserve a raise.
Food: Enjoyable pub food and not overly priced, this is not a bad thing, just not gourmet food and I didn't expect it to be for the price.
Activities: Besides wine tasting I can't comment, as it rained for most of our stay. The wine tasting was excellent and we had a great time in our group with Stickers, and even signed up as members, the wine was that good.
Room: Was clean, minimalistic and comfortable. I will say that the previous guests were right about the shower, it wasn't the best.
Which leads me to my conclusion....you get what you pay for. The only reason this did not get 5 stars is because it is not a 5 star resort. The staff deserve 6 stars out of 5, but, it is a 4 star resort which caters for its guests at an affordable price. It definitely scratched the 'we need to get away and relax' itch, in a quiet and comfortable cabin. It is not far away from other places to explore, if you want the higher dining experience and is well worth the cost of a room. We will be taking the kids next time and look forward to another great, relaxing getaway. Well done everybody, you have new groupies!

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Wayde O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews