We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hunter Valley Resort
Nearby Hotels
US$412
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kirkton Park Hotel Hunter Valley(Pokolbin)(Great Value!)
US$140
US$136
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Harrigan's Irish Pub & Accommodation(Pokolbin)(Great Value!)
US$125
US$104
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Pokolbin Village(Pokolbin)(Great Value!)
US$93
US$91
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens(Pokolbin)(Great Value!)
US$188
US$163
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Estate Tuscany(Pokolbin)(Great Value!)
US$115
US$87
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Oaks Cypress Lakes Resort(Pokolbin)
US$155
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
The Convent Hunter Valley Hotel(Pokolbin)(Great Value!)
US$221
US$178
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Guest House(Pokolbin)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tower Lodge(Pokolbin)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (785)
Filter reviews
785 results
Traveller rating
295
244
128
66
52
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
295
244
128
66
52
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshorse ridingwine theatrewine tastingspa cottagesegway tourhunter valleywine makingbrew housecellar doorbay brewerycheese factoryrestaurant stafftennis courtsterrybrewhouseaccommodationmatilda
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
707 - 712 of 785 reviews
Reviewed 21 September 2010

Everything to do with our weekend away was so nice. We stayed in the spa cottage and it was so wonderful, we couldn't have asked for a better room. We loved the location as it was quiet and relaxing and the views were great. We loved that we didn't have to leave the resort to have a fantastic dinner and do tours. The best part about our trip would have to be the wonderful massages we got. All the staff were lovely and very easy to get along with.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ash2290
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2010

We got the spa room and thoroughly enjoyed it. Had dinner on the first evening at the restaurant and the service was really good, the food amazing, and coupled with the wine recommendations, it was delightfully decadent! The second day got even better with a great buffet breakfast and the wine appreciation class. We absolutely love the place and can't wait to go back...
Staff: enthusiastic, helpful and cheerful!
Wine appreciation class: enthusiastic, we learned a lot and enjoyed immensely!
Location: Beautiful...we took a walk around and bumped into some kangaroos, amazing.
Value: GREAT VALUE!
Finally, it was fantastic that we could get all those wines under one roof!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank weir_ng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2010

Check in was easy, extremely friendly staff. We arrived early and they arranged that the room would be ready early; they gave us the key and told us in 30 minutes we could go to the room. We were a bit early but the cleaner was finished so no problem to enter room. The room and bathroom were both clean, although a bit of a sticky substance on the table in the room. The bed was a double and also available was a trundle bed off to the side. There was a TV with DVD player and DVD's available to rent from reception. Parking was just outside the room. The service from the staff at reception, cleaning, restaurant was all excellent.

Meals: We had both breakfast and dinner. Dinner the first night was excellent-starters, main and desert. Desert was the best-Macadamia tart and Pear Tarte Tartin. Excellent service as well. Breakfast the first day was ok, no low fat cereal, no low fat yogurt and pre-made eggs, bacon etc were quite cold. The fire was lit underneath but still not warm at all or tasty. Dinner the second night was also excellent-fantastic steak and kingfish and again deserts were excellent. Breakfast the second time was perfect-made to order eggs and plenty of fruit salad. Eggs, bacon, sausage, stuffed mushroom and stewed tomato piping hot. We stopped for a beer paddle tasting and the guy at the Blue Tongue was friendly and helpful. The alcoholic ginger beer was best!

The location is just fine nearby to other vineyards. Across the street from a winery and Cheese factory. We saw black swans and kangaroos on Monday evening :-). We arranged a bus/winery tour with reception and Ian drove us around to 5 vineyards. It was a small group of 8 total and perfect trip. Well worth the $50 to have him to the driving and take us to good wineries.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MVK1612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2010

Secured two nights at Hunter Resort via lastminute.com.au (Thursday/Friday) for $265.00 (room only) all up.
The Hunter Resort is a relatively small motel with three strips of about 12 or so joined rooms. It is about 5-10 mins from the main attractions of the wine area. It is on the same grounds of the Blue Tongue Brewery which includes a bar and restaurant. There is also a small wine outlet there. Unfortunately we found that Blue Tongue Brewery was sold to Coca Cola some time back and the beer isn't actually made there. Also the wine outlet is more of a shop which sells wine from a few wine makers in the area. The restaurant sold entrees around $18.00 and mains from around $36.00 which I thought was a bit expensive (but maybe if you are from Sydney you may think that is fine). Having said that though most of the food in the vineyards is rather expensive. We went into Cessnock for food, the first night having the $19 buffet at the club and then just got nibblies for the second night. Hey if you have money stay in the area and eat.
The rooms were large enough and very clean (which I think is one of the biggest things). The Queen bed had a great doona on it as did the single bed. The bed was comfortable though whenever I turned over I woke my wife up. The second night I slept on the single bed so we could we could get a goodnight's sleep. It is very quiet where the motel is so that is a plus.
The room had an air-conditioner which worked fine. The bathroom was ok but the shower was in the bath-tub which only had a screen to the middle. So if you like the shower up high and move around a bit you would flood the place. That was a little disappointing.
The room had a smallish (but new) flat screen TV with built in dvd player so bring your dvd's if you wish.
July probably isn't the best time to visit the area if you want scenery but if you come for the wine tasting it probably doesn't matter. I also wouldn't bring the kids to the area as really there isn't a lot to do. For a couple though who are into wine it is a great stop.
So overall we had a good time and were happy with the room and the price. We would stop there again.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mick111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2010

This was my first trip to any wine area and first experience of wine tasting. My girlfriend is a big wine drinker but I am not as much, as such I expected to have a pleasant but not amazing weekend. However the Hunter Resort offers so much more than just wine tasting. We went for bike rides to the surrounding vineyards, sampled wonderful food,got an onsite massage, went horse riding learnt, so much about the wine making process and wine tasting. It was so much better than I could have expected. Plus every one at the resort was amazingly friendly treating us like we were valued regular customers rather than the first timers we were. All in all a fantastic experience at a truly wonderful location. Would definitely go again.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChristianHood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews