We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfort and ultra convenient”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Pokolbin
Reviewed 30 July 2012

I surprised my husband for his birthday with a trip to the hunter valley. I booked the Mercure Hunter Valley at literally last minute notice eg the day before and was very happy with the decision! I opted for the Deluxe room and never thought i could fall in love with a bathroom but it had wow factor. The room its self was clean and quiet. The bed was very comfy and i was pleased to find that each pillow on the bed was a different firmess and material and i really appreciated this as i much prefer soft low pillows where as my husband prefers fluffed up larger pillows so having a selection was perfect for us and we both slept really well. The stay was comfortable and the location was extremely convenient- This hotel is almost exactly in the middle of everything you could possible want to do. Hunter Valley Gardens and the small shopping village are less the 500m away and the only other set of shops where there is a lovely cheese and gelato shop is only about 900m away. I also appreciated the designated parking space being located directly in front of the door to our room- there are alot of other hotels and resorts in the area where parking is no where near the actual accomodation and i loathe trundling heavy bags! This place isnt cheap but your paying for the convenience in this case

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gk_2v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (919)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

649 - 655 of 919 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2012

We spent New Year here and had a wonderful time. Breakfasts were delicious & food excellent. Close to many wineries. The only disappointment was the New Years Eve Buffet was booked out. When we booked from the UK in September we had to pay in full - BUT weren't asked if we wanted to go to the Buffet. When we checked in on Boxing Day I tried to reserve the New Years Eve Buffet but was told it was fully booked. Surely guests staying for New Years Eve should have first preference? Apart from that, the stay was great & we would visit again

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maryguLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2012

Wood fires in each area add great ambience and keep you toasty warm. Beatiful manicured grounds are sensational. Loved the use of stone and wood in the buildings. Very friendly, efficient and courteous staff.
Will definately return with kids and wife.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rob394
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2012

Whilst being a little dated, our Deluxe King room was clean and comfortable. Everything was in working order and the spa bath got a good work out during our stay. We would definitely stay again.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank dnvcs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2012

We only stayed one night and we had four rooms booked. On check in one room had a bad odor, smelled like a sewage issue, however upon reporting the issue to the front desk they immediately moved my sister to a new room. We had dinner at Robert's restaurant just down the road but had the buffet breakfast and it was really good. I have stayed at this motel a few times now and will stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BradPam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights to attend the Snow Time event in the Hunter Valley Gardens with 2 adults and 2 young children. We noticed on checking into our room a distinct odour however thought it was just the cleaning products. After returning a hour or so later the odour was still there so we contacted reception only to be told that the previous guests has left prawn shells in the bin overnight with the heating up! They had tried to mask the odour obviously not very well.

To their credit they did move us immediately to another room however it does beg the question of why to actually book guests into a room you know is not 100%. We did notice a couple of housekeeping issues in the next room nothing major though eg a child's dummy and what looked like some chocolate cereal on the floor (well I hope it was that!). Even after the room was cleaned the next day (standard housekeeping) the cereal was there so I'm not sure housekeeping is the best.

Breakfast was fine, nothing to rave about however quite acceptable for what you are paying which basically sums up the whole resort. It was absolutely fine however don't expect 5 stars because it's not. The bonus of half price tickets to the gardens is great, parking outside your room is handy with little ones and the location is ideal. We would definitely consider staying again for our next trip given the cost and location.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Budmango
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2012

Terrible fold-out bed, lumpy and hard.
Room was pretty dusty, even had mould growing on the bedside lamp.
Very strange bedding, a doona without a cover placed between two sheets, never seen that before...
Smoke alarm went off at midnight!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Burgo287
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 13 July 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review our property.

Please feel free to contact the hotel so we can discuss this further either via email or phone (02 4998 2000 or reservations@mercurehuntervalley.com.au).

Kind regards,

Lauren Johns
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pokolbin
2.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley
2.5 mi away
Kirkton Park Hotel Hunter Valley
2.7 mi away
Chateau Elan Hunter Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Spicers Vineyards Estate
Spicers Vineyards Estate
#1 of 15 in Pokolbin
890 reviews
2.7 mi away
Grand Mercure The Vintage Hunter Valley
0.6 mi away
Pokolbin Village
Pokolbin Village
#5 of 15 in Pokolbin
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens

Address: Cnr Broke & McDonalds Roads, Pokolbin, New South Wales 2320, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Pokolbin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Pokolbin
#4 Spa Hotel in Pokolbin
#7 Luxury Hotel in Pokolbin
Price Range: £93 - £247 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens 4.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens Hotel Pokolbin
Mercure Hotel Pokolbin
Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens Greater Newcastle/Pokolbin, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing