We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Anniversary at Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in Pokolbin
Reviewed 2 July 2013

My husband & I went to this Hotel to celebrate4 our 49th Wedding Anniversary. We stayed in a Superior Room which had its own court yard. The room was excellent, large and clean with a sunken bath in the bathroom. We dined each night in the Steakhouse and the meals were also excellent. I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: I would go for a Superior Room
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mapa_beagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (895)
There are newer reviews for Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

522 - 528 of 895 reviews

Reviewed 29 June 2013

The air condition was not working and we found that phone was not working when we tried to contact reception. They said it is problem with Telstra and is nothing to do with them. It is good hotel but I won't go back to stay there. I know it was a good cheap deal but I was disappointed of staying there for my 50th celebration.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank bondi_akijp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2013

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank cleanfocus
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 25 June 2013

We went to this establishment to celebrate our 49th Wedding Anniversary. We stayed in one of the Superior Rooms that had its own courtyard. The room was very large and had plenty or room for us to hang our clothes. The lighting was very good.

We dined in the Steakhouse and had excellent dinners for the three nights that we were there.

I would recommend this resort to anyone who wants to celebrate a special occasion and we will be returning in the n t too distant future.

Room Tip: We would recommend a Superior Room
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kathybeagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2013

There are only a limited number of accommodations in the Hunter Valley that are within walking distance to so much...Hunter Valley Gardens, shops, wineries, restaurants etc. This was our second stay at the Mercure and we would definitely stay here again. I can not find fault with staff at reception. We were able to check in earlier than the suggested time, allowing us to drop off our bags before lunch and they accommodated our request for a later check out of 11 with no problems. We experienced the steak and Shiraz challenge during our stay which was an enjoyable addition. We had buffet breakie on one morning and had a drink in the bar area sitting by the open fire. In our room we had a sunken bath with a glass ceiling...very relaxing. The room itself was a pretty standard motel room, a private courtyard would be a nice spot in better weather...was a little chilly during our stay. Thanks for having us..we will be back!

Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank elmcphee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2013

Staff were lovely, rooms clean. Food was very good steak Quality was fantastic and the mashed potato!YUM. very close to everything and the entry to Hunter Valley Gardens at half price was a great bonus.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank swan999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2013

Good location. Decent room. Lovely staff members. Perfect ambience. Relatively below average food. These phrases sum up Mercure Hotel Hunter Valley in my eyes. We stayed here for 2 nights and 3 days and our experience was almost perfect.

As you walk into the reception area, to your right you will find a very cosy looking lounge with a wood fire at its centre. A friendly staff member will welcome you and will give you recommendations on where to go and what to do. From Mercure, there are wineries that you can walk to. They have prepared a small map that you can follow.

You will then find yourself in a lovely bedroom with a very comfy King Size Bed (if you will go for superior) with a spacious bathroom and a nice bathtub. The view outside is amazing. If the weather is nice you will be able to have a cup of coffee or tea at the veranda.

Beside the hotel is the Hunter Valley Garden. From the right section of Mercure, you will have easy access to the village shops. This makes the hotel's location perfect for moments of your trip when you just feel like walking to grab a cup of coffee etc. Lovely shops can be found everywhere with novelty items. Nice food is being served in cafes such asTaste of Country. Nice ambience as well.

When you go back to the hotel at night, it is nice to get a drink at the bar and have it at the lounge. The crackling wood fire will remind you of Christmas and that warmth of family gatherings or that warmth of romantic evenings. The lounge is the number one asset of this hotel.

Good location. Decent room. Lovely staff members. Perfect ambience. Now let's go to their food.

The steak that they served us was disappointing. We were expecting a lovely meal but the meat they served was so tough. I also ordered well-done; however, I got a half-cooked meat. The chorizo that was part of their side dish was tough as well and cold. The following morning, we had room service for breakfast. The country style breakfast did not taste good at all. They tasted like they were all microwaved. This bit of the trip was definitely a letdown. We expected more from a hotel steakhouse and room service.

Overall, I would still recommend staying in Mercure Hotel Hunter Valley but perhaps you might want to explore other restaurants for your meals. Have a nice Trip!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank valenzuelakristine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pokolbin
2.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley
2.5 mi away
Kirkton Park Hotel Hunter Valley
5.7 mi away
Spicers Vineyards Estate
Spicers Vineyards Estate
#1 of 15 in Pokolbin
869 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Chateau Elan Hunter Valley
1.0 mi away
The Convent Hunter Valley
The Convent Hunter Valley
#12 of 15 in Pokolbin
253 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pokolbin Village
Pokolbin Village
#5 of 15 in Pokolbin
310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens

Address: Cnr Broke & McDonalds Roads, Pokolbin, New South Wales 2320, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Pokolbin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Pokolbin
#3 Family Hotel in Pokolbin
#6 Luxury Hotel in Pokolbin
Price Range: £86 - £250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens 4.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens Hotel Pokolbin
Mercure Hotel Pokolbin
Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens Greater Newcastle/Pokolbin, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing