We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Restful Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in Pokolbin
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Restful Stay”
Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

This was my 4th stay. The last 2 in the Presidential Suite. Very well appointed. Comfortable armchairs with a footrest. You don't get them very often. Dining table. Separate bedroom with king bed. Sofa in bedroom. Two outside sitting areas. I love the feel of this hotel set in lovely gardens close to the Village. The staff very polite and helpful. I'll be back.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Alison K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

864 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    291
    360
    149
    37
    27
See reviews for
185
470
15
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
229 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

I booked a couple of rooms for my parents and my family for the Snow Time in the Gardens at the Hunter Valley Gardens next door.
The booking I made was part of an Accor deal and breakfast was included. Considering this, I found it to be very good value.
The resort is surprisingly big with lots of rooms. I was allocated a standard interconnecting room with 2 doubles and king. The rooms were spacious and cosy. We had no problems with keeping warm on a cold winter's night because the air conditioning was working well.
Some wear and tear was evident but the rooms were cleaned well.
It is only a 10 min walk to the gardens but be prepared for the walk back if late in winter as it was very chilly and windy!

Service at the reception was friendly and I could tell the staff made an effort but I could also tell that they lacked experience. The cleaners were a lot more easy going and readily provided information about the surrounds and places to go. The reception staff did not seem to hold as much knowledge.

We did not try the Steakhouse restaurant as they opened later (6:30) than most restaurants and my kids were hungry by 5!!

Breakfast was good with a selection of hot and cold food with eggs made to order.
I think $32 is a bit expensive for what you get so maybe ensure that you get a package deal or maybe try breakfast at some other restaurants in the area.

Overall, I would return for the location next to the gardens but if I was not travelling for the gardens, I would probably choose somewhere quieter and with kitchen facilities.

Room Tip: Interconnecting rooms 902 and 903. Good for families
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AustTrail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights in a Deluxe King Spa Room.

Pro's:
- Room was clean and spacious
- Plenty of toiletries, extra towels, pillows and blankets provided
- Each room has a little veranda of its own which is nice if you like getting fresh air
- Location is good close to Hunter Valley gardens and walking distance to a number of wineries

Con's:
- Housekeeping - we were out all day and got back to our room at 3.30pm to find our room hadn't been made up with not a housekeeping trolley in sight. Went to the front desk to be told 'they sometimes clean the rooms late'
- Phone in room didn't work
- Room is dated, marks on the couch and a lot of water stains / damage in the room
- Overpriced breakfast. if you pay upfront (on check in) its $22 if you don't pay upfront its $32. This is way overpriced. We went next door and got a huge country breakfast for $17

Overall we wouldn't stay here again, there are a lot better options in the Hunter Valley for the price

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank csm941
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Espoo, Finland
Level Contributor
151 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

When you book a room in a hotel belonging to the Mercure family, for sure you have certain expectations with regards to quality and Mercure Hunters Valley will definitely fulfill them!

The location is really convenient - there are many wineries and a few restaurants around. Most of the wineries are reachable by car, but there are also some in the walking distance.

The staff are really doing their best: all the people we met were extremely polite and helpful.

As for the facilities:

The room we were in was really nice - it had a Jacuzzi and an own small terrace.
Very comfortable bed and sound-proof walls. We both slept like babies :)

The open fireplace they have in the lobby is a perfect place for an afternoon tea or a drink before dinner.

If you are going there still this month (June 2014) and happen to be there on Fri or Sat, go for the shiraz tasting. It is a unique experience - you will get to taste gourmet wines along with three different types of steak (vegetarians like myself can of course skip the steak part), in the nice company of the cook himself.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jola L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kurri Kurri, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 June 2014

My daughter's wedding last Saturday at the Mecure was a wonderful event. The two days were fantastic and the staff were amazing. Nothing was a bother to them and everything went off without a hitch, including the weather, but the staff were prepared for all contingencies. The location in the gardens were lovely and the reception room was amazing. Service was top notch and the girls were so pleasant. Rooms wee of an excellent standard and the bridal suite was something else. A truly memorable experience for everyone involved.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Louise G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed three nights there recently. The staff are really nice and couldn't do more for us. Room was great with a view across the wineries. The facilities are great. Nice big open fire in the library plus a nice bar, tennis court, pool etc. it is centrally located and walking distance to five wineries and cheese shop. Highly recommend as a place to relax and unwind.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank stylmarc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pokolbin
2.5 mi away
Kirkton Park Hotel Hunter Valley
2.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley
5.7 mi away
Spicers Vineyards Estate
Spicers Vineyards Estate
#1 of 15 in Pokolbin
839 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Convent Hunter Valley
The Convent Hunter Valley
#10 of 15 in Pokolbin
242 reviews
2.8 mi away
Chateau Elan Hunter Valley
3.9 mi away
Hunter Valley Resort
Hunter Valley Resort
#8 of 15 in Pokolbin
704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens

Property: Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens
Address: Cnr Broke & McDonalds Roads, Pokolbin, New South Wales 2320, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Pokolbin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Pokolbin
#3 Family Hotel in Pokolbin
#6 Luxury Hotel in Pokolbin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens 4.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens Hotel Pokolbin
Mercure Hotel Pokolbin
Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens Greater Newcastle/Pokolbin, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing