We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hunter Valley Getaway!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in Pokolbin
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Hunter Valley Getaway!”
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Drove to the Hunter Valley and stayed for one night at the Mercure hunter valley gardens and loved it! Room was very nice and spacious with a great big bathroom. Close to everything there and loved the buffet breakfast! Would stay here again :)

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Meg F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

848 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    282
    356
    147
    37
    26
See reviews for
184
462
15
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Staff all very helpful and pleasant. We enjoyed the experience and I would go there again.
I was disappointed with the Buffet selection of food as not liking pasta or parmigiana, the option then was only chicken nuggets, chips and salad or vegs and some dessert.
Wished we had gone A La Carte but thought this would have been quicker for the children. They did enjoy the food though.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Following a Day Spa experience at the Hunter Valley Golden Door, my daughter and I checked in to the nearby Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens to, hopefully, continue our 'short break from it all' experience. We were not disappointed! We had booked the Winter Warmer Indulgence package (Thursday night - 17 July) - King Suite/separate lounge & bedroom/real log fire/chocolate fondue, and more... The reception staff had everything ready for us and we were absolutely delighted with our suite and the facilities. We had pre-booked a two course dinner at the hotel's Steakhouse Restaurant and had pre-dinner drinks in the welcoming bar/lounge area - my 15 year old daughter loved the retro turntable and collection of LP records next to the pool table. The bar staff were really attentive and professional, and that followed through to the restaurant. We had a beautifully prepared and presented meal (a la carte menu). Following coffee back in the lounge, we strolled back to our suite to further relax. We slept so soundly and awoke to a sunny day and a hearty cooked breakfast. I have no hesitation in recommending the Mercure for this type of short break - it complemented our experience perfectly. It is centrally located so after we'd checked out, we proceeded to visit the nearby Hunter Valley Gardens (beautiful) and followed that with a winery, chocolate factory and cheese factory visit before heading back to Sydney. From a satisfied and 'indulged' visitor :)

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Susan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercureMMT, Manager at Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear Susan W,

Thank you for your lovely review. It is great to hear you and your daughter had a fabulous Hunter Valley experience!

It is great to see some feedback regarding our Winter Warmer Indulgence package!

We do hope to see you both here again soon.

Kind regards,

Lauren
Operations
Mercure Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

We went for a drive to the hunter valley with a plan to find somewhere to stay at the end of the day. Searched through trip advisor for some good reviews and thought we would try the Mercure. On arrival they quoted about $40 more than we saw on trip advisor. When I mentioned this they gave us the room quote for $140 and upgraded the room for us as they had none of the $140 rooms left. We were very happy with this and the room was lovely. The sunken bath was a treat after a long day on the road. We visited the McGuigan winery which is right next door and bought a couple of bottles of wine. The hotel provided half price vouchers for entry to the hunter valley gardens which was great. There was a winter snow theme while we were there which was fun.
The only disappointment was the buffet dinner which we booked for $25 each. The food was not topped up and was quite dried out and over cooked and there was a lack of variety and presentation with it. Would rather have paid more and had a la carte in the restaurant.
Otherwise the room was great.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercureMMT, Manager at Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Hi Linda G,

Thank you for your review on our property and great to see you enjoyed the stay.

Thank you also for the review on the buffet; this is something we were running only for the school holidays to try and provide an alternative dining experience for families. I will pass this onto our Head Chef.

See you in the Hunter again soon!

Kindest regards,

Lauren
Operations
Mercure Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
262 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

My experience with the Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens began on the phone, I spoke to a very professional young lady called Nicole. Nicole could not of been more helpful and it was her niceties and professionalism the got me on the hook and made my decision easy to choose The Mercure.
A nice leisurely drive up from Sydney saw my wife and I arrive early at the Mercure, My Wife and I entered the reception area to be greeted by two lovely lady's with big smiles {very welcoming} the lady that attended to our checkin was Tracey, if I owned a resort I would have tried to poach her she could not do enough for us even explaining that our room was not ready and suggested that we take a nice walk to the shops at the Hunter Valley Gardens great recommendation and nice coffee. As we headed back to The Mercure Resort my Wife and I commented on how pleasant our experience had been so far, we entered the reception area again and the same big smiles awaited, Tracey the proceeded to let us know that our room number 302 a deluxe spa suite was ready for us.
On entering our room the first impression was not a good one, cracked entry tiles, a light in the bathroom not working, water damage under the air conditioner, paint peeling a stain on the wall behind the lounge and a broken lamp {please see photos} all this in a room we were paying $300 dollars plus for a night {including breakfast} A bit disappointing but not enough to ruin a weekend over.
Off we go to explore the neighbouring boutique shops have a bite to eat and a coffee a nice afternoon, I suggest that when you go the the Hunter Valley gardens shops with your wife
in tow you allow quite a bit of time for the browsing and the shopping.
Back to the room to freshen up and change for dinner a nice shower and I mean nice with all the negatives of the room previously listed it was so nice to have a shower not only hot but with the choice of two shower heads, nice touch and as for the rest of the bathroom excluding the blown light it was neat, modern and clean.
Off to the lounge room for a pre dinner drink by the fire, Sensational, great relaxing atmosphere we defiantly recommend you do the same. 7pm we left our seats and entered the restaurant. We were greeted by a nice young man who showed us to our tables and handed us the menus and explained what was on offer this evening.This is were our dining experience went down hill fast, the restaurant was reasonably busy however to wait 40 minutes for entree's and a further 45 minutes from when we finished our entree's to when the main meal arrived was a little bit long and to make it worse the meat was well done not medium rare and the side were cold a bit disappointing. Back to the room for bed as an early morning rise was in order due to commitments.
Back to the positives the bed was so comfortable and a good night sleep was gained.
Morning the next day it was back to reception to obtain our tickets for Snow Time in the Hunter Valley Gardens, it was so nice to be again greeted by Tracey with that infectious big smile {nice way to start a day}.
In conclusion The Mercure Resort is located in a very convenient position close to the wineries, cafe's and The Hunter Valley Gardens, the staff are all very pleasant and eager to make your stay with them pleasant {and they did} It is just unfortunate that the maintenance of the rooms, buildings let them down along with the restaurant { cooking department}

Room Tip: Before you accept a room or suite inspect it out first
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Glenn N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercureMMT, Manager at Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear Glenn N,

Thank you for your review on your recent stay at our hotel.

We will have the maintenance issues addressed by our team here at the resort, and we will also pass your feedback onto our Chef regarding your meal. We are in the process of reviewing and rebranding our restaurant, so your feedback is very handy for this.

We hope to be able to welcome you again in the future.

Kind regards,

Lauren
Operations
Mercure Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

When we arrived at the resort, we were delighted by the very English-style atmosphere & were welcomed warmly by the reception staff. We were too early for check-in but the reception staff very graciously assured us that she'll check with housekeeping to see if we could have our rooms as soon as possible. She then suggested that we went to the dining room for our breakfast while they got our rooms ready.
The rooms were big, clean and comfortable. Hotel was very well-located. We were able to visit 3 wineries within walking distance of the hotel. The Hunter Valley Gardens as well as the village shops were just about 10 minutes stroll away.
Dinner at the hotel's steak house was memorable as the food was excellently prepared and presented. At the end of our stay, everyone gave the thumbs up & have already started planning for our next stay at the Mercure Resort Hunter Valley.
Thank you for giving us such a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DTan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercureMMT, Manager at Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear DTan T,

Thank you very much for the review on on our property.

It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback and read such an exceptional review.

Thank you again and we hope to welcome you back again in the near future.

Kindest regards,

Lauren
Operations
Mercure Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pokolbin
2.5 mi away
The Sebel Kirkton Park Hunter Valley
2.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley
5.7 mi away
Spicers Vineyards Estate
Spicers Vineyards Estate
#1 of 15 in Pokolbin
829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Convent Hunter Valley
The Convent Hunter Valley
#11 of 15 in Pokolbin
234 reviews
2.8 mi away
Chateau Elan Hunter Valley
3.9 mi away
Hunter Valley Resort
Hunter Valley Resort
#8 of 15 in Pokolbin
686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens

Property: Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens
Address: Cnr Broke & McDonalds Roads, Pokolbin, New South Wales 2320, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Pokolbin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Pokolbin
#3 Spa Hotel in Pokolbin
#6 Luxury Hotel in Pokolbin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens 4.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens Hotel Pokolbin
Mercure Hotel Pokolbin
Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens Greater Newcastle/Pokolbin, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing