We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Harvest

Harvest
Reserve with
Harvest is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #33 of 73 Restaurants in Pokolbin
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Australian, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, View
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Harvest Restaurant is perfectly situated in the heart of Hunter Valley Wine Country, set at the top of the Hope Estate winery. Harvest features an incredible deck overlooking the amphitheatre and surrounding vineyard, showcasing a 270 degree view over wine country. The delicious food is complemented by the cutting edge design features, an open kitchen and stylist finishes. Harvest’s intimate setting spills out to the wrap-around deck, perfect for al fresco dining.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

Firstly the service from Kerri wonderful. Our group of three enjoyed every part of the meal , from the entrée to the main, to the dessert , I would highly recommend a meal here, beautiful.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank TracyW50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    27
    14
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Singleton, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“lovely food, but everything else disappointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

Firstly the food...complimentary bread, butter and olive oil is always a nice touch. Steak cooked as requested and was lovely, the toothfish was cooked well and the accompanying sauce, prawns and asparagus was very good..however, the size of the fish was sodisappointing...it was literally only 1inch x 3inches x 1inch, so small. Even in the typical smaller portions of fine dining restaurants it was rediculously small...if not for the $18 dollars in side dishes ordered I would have been left hungry, which when paying $44 for a main course is very poor. Deserts were a mixed bag, the chocolate tort was lovely but the bread and butter pudding with quince was uninspiring.
Secondly the venue itself....the open kitchen immediately makes me feel like I'm in a fish and chip shop, not conducive to an evening of what should be fine dining, same goes for the concrete floors, plain grey colour throughout and the plastic chairs. The wait staff are not up to standard, if you are going to charge these prices and compete with other vineyard establishments then the atmosphere, furnishings and service are of equal importance as the food.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Peta B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A Disappointing Fine Dining Experience”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

As a group of four, we visited "Harvest" for a 60th birthday celebration. We expected to pay high prices and expected fine dining. Unfortunately, prices met expectations but the food didn't. Three of our group had the entree of seared scallops. While the taste was delicious, the meagre serving of 2 scallops was disappointing. Our main courses were also underwhelming - both the steak and the duck were barely warm and the fish serving was small. We were not offered the dessert menu and left feeling unsatisfied with the experience. The venue, overlooking the winery, was beautiful and the Hope Estate wine was good.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynda613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Classy warm and delightful experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

On Saturday 24th may I must say the service from staff member Kerrie was unbelievable. Her good sense of humour and knowledge of wine ensured our dinner experience was one to be remembered.

High five to the chef and all kitchen staff. Entrees of grilled scallops and lime infused tuna to my main course of scotch fillet steak was amazing.

Thankyou for a wonderful night

    • Value
Helpful?
2 Thank Marcowinerndiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Brilliant meal and great experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

The food was excellent and the service brilliant. From the moment we arrived Kerrie our hostess looked after all our needs. She offered several tastings to my husband to help with wine selections. I'm not usually a red drinker but was converted this time. The 2010 HOPE Shiraz was divine. We voted the tuna as the best entree, the lamb the winning main. The desserts and great coffee finished off a wonderful night.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Trakka33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Harvest also viewed

Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
 
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
 

Been to Harvest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing