We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Sunday Lunch”
Review of Harvest

Harvest
Reserve with
Harvest is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #31 of 74 Restaurants in Pokolbin
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Harvest Restaurant is perfectly situated in the heart of Hunter Valley Wine Country, set at the top of the Hope Estate winery. Harvest features an incredible deck overlooking the amphitheatre and surrounding vineyard, showcasing a 270 degree view over wine country. The delicious food is complemented by the cutting edge design features, an open kitchen and stylist finishes. Harvest’s intimate setting spills out to the wrap-around deck, perfect for al fresco dining.
Newcastle, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Pleasant Sunday Lunch”
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We had Seared Scallops and Ballantine of Quail for entrees and they were excellent as was the tooth fish and the fillet steak with beef cheek ragout. My meal was accompanied by the estate's India Red Ale which proved to be a nice robust brew. Our server was very attentive and friendly without being intrusive, very professional.The only negative would be that it was a cool day and the restaurant was not heated in any way.What would be a good venue a warm Spring or Summer's day did not work out so well today. Otherwise I would highly recommend Harvest.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anthony G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    27
    14
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
762 reviews
397 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 294 helpful votes
“Lovely meal on deck accompanied with great Hope Estate merlot”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We enjoyed our lunch here on a warm winters day, on the deck overlooking the Hope Estate vineyards. I had a succulent sirloin steak cooked to perfection and my wife enjoyed the duck confit and breast. We drank this with a bottle of Hope Estate Merlot which complemented it perfectly.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pechfoodlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neutral Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
278 reviews
196 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Better than I thought it might be”
Reviewed 25 July 2014

We decided on an impromptu lunch and drove from Sydney on a Monday. The restaurant had only 4 couple and the room was not heated so we chose a table away from the open door and next to the window. That aside the menu was interesting and we chose to go a-la-carte rather than the 5 course offering with a choice of matching wines. Our meals were really good, great taste and mouth feel with excellent presentation. We had wines by the glass and it was the local brand which were fine all the food and wine prices are typical Sydney or tourist prices so take your credit card. Service was good the staff pleasant and we left satisfied.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JemoMJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
37 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Star meal with cracker wine: unforgettable”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We enjoyed simply delicious food in this beautiful location. I loved my lamb with nigella crust and the steak was also superb, said my husband. But the star of the meal - had to be "The Cracker" - this wine is a wonder, wonderfully layered and complex. We had to buy six bottles to take back with us to a family occasion in Sydney - and all agreed - this wine is a winner.

Our New Zealand born waitress Kerrie also deserves a mention (not just because she is related to ex Allblack Christian Cullen) - she was attentive, charming and helpful.

All in all, a great experience.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank margieeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Terrific”
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

A wonderful fine dining experience. The food was packed full of wonderful flavours and outstanding presentation. Exactly the type of meal I expect when spoiling my partner and I to a long weekend in the Hunter.
The service was terrific. Kerri was a standout. She made it feel like our own private tasting.
We will definitely be going back the next time we are in the Hunter.

Helpful?
2 Thank Docdilbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Harvest also viewed

Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
 
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
 
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
 

Been to Harvest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing