We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Anything and Everything” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Drayton Family Wines

Drayton Family Wines
Ranked #42 of 111 things to do in Pokolbin
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Sydney
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Anything and Everything”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013 via mobile

Looking to buy the Hunter Valley famous port concoction, Dr. Jurds Jungle Juice or the flaming hot schnapps KissOfire then this is the place for you. One of the biggest family run and owned wineries in Hunter. They have a great selections is wines, ports and fortified wines, importantly the Jungle Juice. Prices are very reasonable. Staff are friendly very knowledgeable about the products.
Looking for a nice Shiraz then ask for the one from Bin 5555, for me it was top range.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank TobyIIDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    23
    7
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Good fortifieds and great vibe all round”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2013

We visited for tasting on 29/7. The place was busy. We had to squeeze to find a spot. But when we did, were greeted with first class service from the staff there. Explaining about the wines, giving generous pours (we asked for smaller pours) and sought to understand what we liked so that he can recommend wines to taste rather than run thru the big list of wines available for tasting. We finished off with some beautiful muscats and ports. Great vibe and really enjoyed ourselves.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
123 reviews
60 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Very friendly staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2013

Spacious tasting rooms, good wine & friendly knowledgeable staff.
Even when they had a bus tour we were not left to feel like we were an afterthought. Will be back,

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank donnaandrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Lanarkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
916 reviews
374 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 496 helpful votes
“Visit the Log Press cafe at the winery for the best cakes in the world.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2013

I imagine most Aussies may hate me for saying it but their cakes are generally dire and I speak as a Scot (and, yes, I know we Scots die young because of our addiction to cakes and biscuits) and an Australian. But the cafe at Drayton's Winery is the exception that proves the rule. The cakes are baked by wonderful ladies who work or perhaps own the cafe. And the cakes - and coffee - are SUPERB. Quite delicious and such really nice people. Go for the cheesecake!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Kirkcaldylad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fine wines at Drayton's”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2012

While in the Hunter Valley I had the pleasure of visiting Drayton's Winery, a trip organised as a wedding present. This included a tasting of over 19 different wines, a cheese and biscuits plate and personal service from Daniel(one of the friendly staff). It was fantastic, we not only got to taste the wines - the 2009 Merlot was a standout - but we learnt quite a bit of local history as well.
The package also included two bottles of wine as a gift from draytons. I would heartily recommend this winery to anyone visiting the Hunter Valley. A true 5 star experience

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank de57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Drayton Family Wines also viewed

Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
 
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
 

Been to Drayton Family Wines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing