We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little bit of France in our own backyard”
Review of Muse Kitchen

Muse Kitchen
Ranked #9 of 74 Restaurants in Pokolbin
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Australian
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Canberra, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“A little bit of France in our own backyard”
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We had no expectations when Muse Kitchen was recommended to us for lunch one day during our short visit to the Hunter Valley. But we left with a new appreciation for how fresh and flavoursome food can actually be!

It was all based on local fresh produce, which resulted in a concise menu, but every option was tempting. We did not intend to go the full 3 courses, but after the entree, there was no stopping us!

We originally booked for an outside table - beautiful location in amongst gardens and grapevines. But when it got too warm, we were welcomed inside without any fuss.

The service was great. And the timing of the courses was just right.

The only downside was the cost but sometimes in this world ... you get what you pay for! And Muse Kitchen is certainly worth the cost!

Hint: you need to book! It is only a small venue.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Shelinds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    258
    83
    18
    8
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Delicious”
Reviewed 29 March 2014

I've eaten here several times (most recently in Jan 2014) and have tried the fried whitebait, ciabatta, gnocchi and pan fried market fish. Everything I've tasted has been delicious and service is friendly and helpful. I can always expect to enjoy my meal when I come here. Plus you can taste some Kevin Tulloch wines in the same complex.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank scampy86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“An excellent lunch”
Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

We posted a review on Muse restaurant by mistake yesterday. It should have been for Muse Kitchen. Sorry. We were very impressed.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank RVMSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney,Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful meal and fantastic staff”
Reviewed 8 March 2014 via mobile

We visited Muse Kitchen yesterday and had one of the best dining experiences of our lives. We experienced outstanding service and a number of exquisite dishes. I particularly enjoyed the prawns, however other courses such as the lamb and the tortellini were also wonderful. We we privileged to share this meal with wonderful hosts Keith and Amanda Tulloch, so we were able to complement this dining extravaganza with some very special wines.
Thank you to all involved in making our birthday lunch one to remember.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank athertonthomson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mittagong
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Service with a capital S”
Reviewed 3 March 2014 via mobile

The meal was a banquet and so there was a limited choice which could have presented a problem as my wife is allergic to even traces of garlic. The quality of the meal was superb. The service was friendly and efficient without being overdone. The thing that really impressed was the effort taken to ensure that my wife didn't miss out because there were some dishes which necessarily had a garlic content. Dishes which were not on the menu were offered as an alternative.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Aged_Aussies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Muse Kitchen also viewed

Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
 
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
 

Been to Muse Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing