We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Epicurean”

Australian Regional Food Cafe & Store
Cuisines: Cafe, Australian, Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Seating
Description: Experience casual quality modern Australian dining in tranquil bushland setting. Indoor Outdoor and Lounge seating. Seasonal Menu and specials board, relaxing enviro with r&b/soul/funk beats. Talented chefs, fully trained baristas and experienced friendly floor staff. Wireless avail, byo, drink or drink/dine licence.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Epicurean”
Reviewed 29 June 2013

If you're into fine cheeses, chutneys, jams or anything good and tasty this is a must, cannot go to the Hunter Valley without visiting here, spent a fortune but worth every penny.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank carol m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    9
    3
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“perfect little spot”
Reviewed 1 April 2013

Great for coffee or lunch, I have been here on 2 seperate occasions and loved both times. It is a great place to relax when in the hunter and the setting is lovely.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank LittleLisaJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
166 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Didn't bother to stop”
Reviewed 13 January 2013 via mobile

Having planned to stop for lunch, we arrived to find no body sitting at tables, no staff visible, no menu anywhere and just a solitary chalkboard advertising banana bread. Was the place open? It was difficult to tell at 12.30!

Helpful?
Thank suespurry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rosalia L, Owner at Australian Regional Food Cafe & Store, responded to this review, 14 January 2013
Hi Sue, thanks for providing feedback, as you would have seen our cafe is in a beautiful setting with tables inside and out overlooking bushland and water, perhaps your wait person was outside at the time of your visit - we were certainly open:-)
Our menu is located at the service counter and is handed out as we welcome our customers to ensure we provide the service (either retail or food service) each individual customer requires. What a shame we were not able to show you some of our Hunter Valley hospitality and regional food - we hope you enjoyed your Hunter Valley experience..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
1 review
“Not free range...?!”
Reviewed 16 December 2012

Just very average - but the main reason I will never go back and why I would steer everyone else away is that they do not use free range eggs. For a cafe that lauds its quality regional produce, in a region that is known for food, it just amazes me that they do not care about the welfare of their animals.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DGS1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not as good as it used to be”
Reviewed 21 October 2012

Very disappointed with our visit here this time. No the variety that was once available and the staff seem a bit disinterested in you having a good experience. It all seemed a bit tired

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Australian Regional Food Cafe & Store also viewed

Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
 
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
 
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing