We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”

Leogate Estate Wines
Ranked #2 of 112 things to do in Pokolbin
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The beautiful Leogate Estate offers visitors an elegant and sophisticated cellar door, a beautiful restaurant serving dry aged angus beef and a truly magnificent wedding and function venue.
Newcastle, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Leogate is a beautiful winery that is making beautiful wines. We have enjoyed both their reds and whites. We enjoyed them so much we became members and really look forward to receiving our deliveries. Whenever we are in Pokolbin we always visit and are always remembered by the owners Vicki and Bill and their staff - especially Maureen who always makes us feel welcome. We recently attended the Members dinner which was a 7 course degustation matched with all of their own wines and it was truly a wonderful evening. If you are out this way you really must visit.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Lynette B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    229
    29
    5
    2
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Amazing Food & Wine”
Reviewed 3 June 2014

This Winery is a must for everyone visiting The Hunter. You must go to the Restaurant. The food is 1st class (and worthy of a hat), complimented beautifully with the wonderful Leogate wines but the setting is out of this world. The owners Vicki and Bill have obviously put their heart and soul into this and it definitely shows.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank RHONDDA C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting, great restaurant, ok wines”
Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

Driving through the gates up the winding dusty road we were greeted by a lovely setting with fountain, cellar and restaurant. Did light wine tasting, chose a sparkling rose and wandered over to the restaurant where I had the best burger ever (for over $35, it should be). My friend had the barramundi. It's flesh was sweet and delicious. Back to my burger tower... The grilled zucchini and onions, the meat pattie was full of beef and tasty, the bun was light, the option of chat potatoes or chips (I've had both as now a repeat diner).. Just exceptional. Hidden gem in the hunter valley great for that meal with someone special. Oh and they are dog friendly as my gorgeous furry babies (toy poodle and mini labradoodle) are also frequent diners here :)

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank 1ntrepidTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Favorite winery in the Hunter...”
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

I love this place! The best red wine, beautiful, attentive people, and wonderful hospitality. Every time we go to Leogate we leave feeling warm and cuddly inside. Great work guys, see you next year!

Helpful?
1 Thank Benjamin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

Absolutely wonderful venue with superb wines. Maureen will always make you feel welcome. Week worth a visit

Helpful?
Thank Victoria T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Leogate Estate Wines also viewed

Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
 
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
 

Been to Leogate Estate Wines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing