We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“My dream accommodation!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Casa La Vina

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Casa La Vina
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“My dream accommodation!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

My husband and I honeymooned here. It was the best accommodation we have ever stayed at. Beautiful villas, perfect location and the owners were just lovely. We will be back for an anniversary in the future and will be recommending this to anyone visiting the Hunter Valley.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmyEricson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Casa_La_Vina, Owner at Casa La Vina, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Congratulations to you both again, we look forward to having you both return to Casa La Vina next year. Just to let you know we will be doing that scenic bike ride through the vineyards next week with friends. Thank you for your review. Best wishes to you both, Frank & Tracey - Casa La Vina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    213
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
183
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014 via mobile

This place is stunning, one of the best places I've ever stayed. It's almost brand new and you are left wanting for nothing - wifi, foxtel, huge luxury bathroom with double shower, super comfy king bed, the list goes on.

I can't speak highly enough of the ambience they've created here as well - it's Mexican themed, so not your average 5 star accommodation - but in a great way. The outdoor spa with tea light candles and fireplace right next to you as you look out over the bush is in my view about as good as it can get.

It really is instant relaxation from the minute you walk into the place.

Hosts are lovely too :) and I will definitely be recommending this place to others! Thank you!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank kirstenevski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Casa_La_Vina, Owner at Casa La Vina, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Thank you for your review, we are glad you found our place AMAZING and enjoyed your stay here.
We like to make the little things as cosy for our intimate couples escape. Cheers Frank & Tracey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
509 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 226 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

While the idea of a mini New Mexican pueblo in the middle of Australian bush might sound unusual, it works remarkably well providing an extremely relaxed, private environment.

And as for the units themselves - our spa king unit was definitely quality throughout. Well designed with a large double (wet-room) bathroom, a kitchen-dining room area and a spacious bedroom-sitting room. King (super-king?) bed, tasteful decorations, fully equipped kitchen and spotlessly clean throughout. And all the mod-cons you'd hope for; large flat-screen, cable, free wifi, i-pod doc etc. And when we arrived all the ingredients for great breakfasts were already in place: bacon, eggs, bread, muesli, fruit etc.

A further well-thought our feature was the outside area surrounded by a suitably New Mexican half-wall (very private - we couldn't see another building from our courtyard!). BBQ, dining set, loungers, open fire, spa. Everything you could want for a private and relaxed break.

And what a great location - right in the heart of the Hunter Valley.

These are people who know there business and want their customers might want. Quality throughout and value for money. If you're after de-luxe accommodation in the Hunter you need to try it.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AllanJGJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Casa_La_Vina, Owner at Casa La Vina, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Thank you for your great review. It definitely makes us feel good and puts a big smile on our faces. We are very proud of our small unique business and these reviews encourage us in providing our guest with memorable stay. Yours truly, Frank & Tracey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

My husband and I had been planning a mexican themed wedding and stumbled upon Casa La Vina online. From first glance it was beautiful, but when we first visited the location we were blown away by the stunning adobe design and attention to detail. Add to this the serene location and we were pinching ourselves! Frank and Tracey welcomed us onto their property as if we were family, they truly embody the passion for creating a beautiful and tranquil retreat, something I am certain you cannot find the like of anywhere in Australia. We spent an amazing 3 days there and did not want to leave, I can't even count how many comments I recited from guests at our wedding of the beautiful location! Recommend 1000% to anyone thinking about visiting, it will be well worth it. Book the king villa and enjoy an outdoor spa bathed in moonlight, bliss!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Casa_La_Vina, Owner at Casa La Vina, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
I am certain we all enjoyed your wedding as much as you too. It was great fun and to share our Casa La Vina with you both for your most important day of life time memories. From the start with the Camcorn productions invitations we knew it was going to be "The wedding of the year"
You both have wonderful families and great future ahead. Thank you for welcoming us as part or the family on your wedding day/weekend. Looking forward to the photos, keep in contact , best wishes and hope to see you 2015 - Frank and Tracey - Casa La VIna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivanhoe, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

We stayed here on our wedding night and everything was absolutely perfect. The villa and surroundings are just beautiful and it was everything we wanted for our first night as husband and wife. Our experience was topped off by the excellent service, we returned to our villa to find the fire burning away and candles everywhere. There were rose petals on the bed and it could not have been any more perfect. The bacon and eggs for breakfast on the BBQ was a lovely touch. We cannot recommend Casa La Vina highly enough, it was everything we wanted and more.
We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cheyne81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Casa_La_Vina, Owner at Casa La Vina, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Congratulations to you both. It gives us great pleasure to make sure your are welcomed back to romantic villa. We hope your honeymoon was followed with great weather and a relaxing holiday in Fiji. We hope to see you next time you want time away from the outback. Wishing you both all the best, yours truly, Frank & Tracey - Casa La VIna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014 via mobile

Have stayed many times in The Hunter & always in luxe type accommodation. Just spent three nights at Casa La Vina & this for us is the best overall so far. Great location, beautiful self contained spaces with the hosts thinking of everything you will need for your stay including marshmallows for toasting. The space is beautifully presented, scrupulously clean & classy in a Pokolbin meets Santa Fe vibe!
You will not be disappointed if you choose to stay here.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Casa_La_Vina, Owner at Casa La Vina, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
We are over the moon with your review and appreciate your comments coming from an experience traveller who has visited the Hunter Valley many times. Thank you again for your kind words,
and we hope to see you both next time in the Hunter Valley. Yours truly, Frank and Tracey -
Casa La Vina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed for our 10th Wedding Anniversary - besides the spectacular location, beautiful design and incredible amenities, Frank & Tracey were gracious hosts. We had everything we needed and a bottle of lovely Shiraz, but when our car battery died, we had a couple of jump starts to get us moving again. You'd be disappointed to miss an opportunity to stay in Casa La Vina and experience a little bit of New Mexico in the Hunter Valley. Thanks again for making a significant weekend for us so special.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sam W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Casa_La_Vina, Owner at Casa La Vina, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
It is with great pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and our location was central.
We thank you for taking the time to provide us with a feedback on your stay. We are glad you had a memorable stay, celebrating your anniversary here at Casa La Vina.
Thanking you, Frank & Tracey - Casa La Vina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pokolbin
1.6 mi away
Chateau Elan Hunter Valley
3.5 mi away
The Sebel Kirkton Park Hunter Valley
5.1 mi away
Spicers Vineyards Estate
Spicers Vineyards Estate
#1 of 15 in Pokolbin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens
2.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley
1.2 mi away
Leisure Inn Pokolbin Hill
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa La Vina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa La Vina

Property: Casa La Vina
Address: 657 McDonalds Rd, Pokolbin, New South Wales 2320, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Pokolbin
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 40 Speciality Lodging in Pokolbin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Casa La Vina 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa La Vina - Opened November 2012 offers three, luxury, unique, spacious adobe villas for that intimate couples escape. Located in the heart of the Hunter Valley wine region. The Santa Fe inspired adobe villas, with rustic south western decor, create the feel and ambiance of a contemporary New Mexican Adobe. Featuring exposed log timber ceilings, gas log fireplace, reverse cycle air conditioning, plush king beds, private courtyards with Jacuzzi's and outdoor wood fireplace to soak up the rural serenity or the evening stars. Casa La Vina is the perfect romantic couples getaway. Free breakfast hamper, Free wireless WiFi, Foxtel TV and under covered parking AAA Rated 4 1/2 Star ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Casa La Vina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa La Vina Greater Newcastle/Pokolbin, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing