We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful scenery, cosy cottages, friendly staff. A great getaway. What more could you ask for?”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Carriages Boutique Hotel & Vineyard
Ranked #3 of 9 Pokolbin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful scenery, cosy cottages, friendly staff. A great getaway. What more could you ask for?”
Reviewed 25 July 2012

We stayed at the Carriages Country House for 2 nights. The cabins at the Cottages are secluded. The room we stayed in had a cosy country charm, complete with a fire place, which was a lot of fun to get going.

The staff were friendly and very helpful. Recommended great places to have lunch and the turn down service was excellent.

The breakfast hampers were a treasured treat to wake up to. We had a basket full of delicious treats. Muffins, croissants, cereals, muesli, yoghurt, fresh seasonal fruit and bread with many condiments.

Don't forget to check out their wines. Delicious reds!

A great escape from reality. Definitely planing a second trip!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adrian087
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    133
    36
    6
    1
    2
See reviews for
17
125
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 July 2012

The Carriages Country House brochure invites you to "stay somewhere magical" and indeed we did!
The location of the two separate guest houses is down a pretty winding road surrounded by the vineyards and blue hills as a backdrop.
With a glowing fireplace in our plush room, views across the gardens and she-oak forest, we enjoyed the glorious shiraz - grown right on the property!
It is certainly a small and intimate boutique hotel run by a lovely young family. Their service was excellent. They were charming, friendly and entertaining hosts with great recommendations for what we could enjoy locally.
The beauty of the property is that the owner's family home and reception is quite separate from the guest houses, so you really do feel like you have privacy and peace away from it all.
The room was immaculate, spacious and beautifully decorated. Breakfast hampers were delivered to our door each morning to be enjoyed at our leisure. It was such a relaxing stay.
We would highly recommend The Carriages Country House for couples wanting a romantic retreat in the Hunter Valley! And the Shiraz is wonderful!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelisers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2012

To give credit where credit is due, the accommodation is beautiful. It is a beautiful setting, remote, quiet, romantic and relaxing. It is evident that a lot of effort has gone into the quality of the cottage with nice lounges, good showers and a beautifully made verandah.

Unfortunately however, we found the service to be the thing letting this down the most.

After a few hiccups with booking (like a previous reviewer has also mentioned), we arrived at the reception of the Carriages. It felt a little awkward as it seemed we were driving up to someone's house rather than accommodation. There was no one to welcome us (despite arriving just before check-in) and just a "please ring the bell" sign on the door. We proceeded to do so and were eventually greeted by a girl in her pyjamas. Not exactly what you would expect for paying $200+ a night. We tried asking about the local amenities however this girl could not even tell us about Robert's Restaurant which is about 100 yards away.

As part of our deal, we were supposed to have a welcoming Cheese Platter with a bottle of wine on arrival. This was not there and we eventually had to ask. Not a big deal but little details count.

Later that night we decided to walk to the reception property to ask advice on finding a restaurant. With music blasting in the house, ringing the doorbell felt awkward, like we were intruding. When someone did answer, we were not invited in to the office section (there is a separate part of the house which is their office - we did not go to the main front door!), instead we talked outside with the owner just holding the door open. To be fair eventually he was helpful but it felt like this was only done as he had to rather than he actually wanted to.

The breakfast basket was a nice touch. Some bread, a small pitcher of juice, two croissants, two rolls, 3 pieces of fruit and two selections of cereals. For this to be classed as high end accommodation however I would suggest providing options or even asking guests about allergies. It would not take much effort or extra money to have a little checklist like you do in hotels, to be hung on your door at night.

There are other things I could say, however I am cautious of not making this too long.

In summary, the accommodation was beautiful, however I believe there needs to be a bigger distinction between running a hotel / a nice quiet home life. Especially for the money, a few extra touches and a professional attire would have taken this from a reasonable stay to a great one.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Julia_H0303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RebeccaVictoriaD, General Manager at Carriages Boutique Hotel & Vineyard, responded to this review, 25 July 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on Carriages Boutique Hotel.

We're really pleased to hear about the things you enjoyed, and we sincerely regret that we didn't meet your expectations on service. We're a small team who take genuine pride in looking after our guests and we were disappointed to hear your issues, which by no means reflect our values at Carriages. Please accept our apologies and please do get in touch with us directly as we'd like to resolve any kinks and welcome you back.

(Our new receptionist is very embarrassed that you thought her slacks were pyjamas, sorry).

Kind regards,
Rebecca Diamond
stay@thecarriages.com.au
+61 412 484 228
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2012

The scenery at Carriages is absolutely beautiful. Cottages are secluded so you really feel as though you’re away from the hustle and bustle of everyday life, yet located centrally to Pokolbin’s many vineyards and restaurants.

We stayed in The Gatehouse which was very comfortably furnished and well serviced. Staff were attentive and friendly. The breakfast basket delivered right to the door each morning, cooking facilities and wide selection of DVD’s mean you can make the most of your accommodation and spend time relaxing indoors...perfect in cold weather!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MarianneKathryn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2012

We've stayed here twice now, once as a couple and once with my future in-laws and both experiences were amazing - pure relaxation. The first time we stayed it was winter and it rained the whole weekend but we really enjoyed putting the fire in the room on, borrowing a couple of DVDs and chilling out with a bottle of red. The second time it was the middle of summer and we spent our time in between wine tasting relaxing in the pool and listening to the nature from the verandah. The owners are very friendly and accommodating and didn't even mind when we moved the tables to the garden to enjoy our breakfast in the sun. The well thought out breakfast basket arrives before dawn and is such a nice experience to unpack and enjoy at leisure. You can also walk to a few vineyards from the house and enjoy dinner at Roberts without driving. Well recommended! I can't imaging choosing anywhere else in the Hunter Valley to stay now.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redcliffe, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2012

I have just stayed at Carriages Country House for a 2 night break. The accommodation was fantastic. Very comfortable. The fireplace a welcome comfort on the chilly evenings. breakfast hampers were delightful. Altogether a great stay. Highly recommend this venue. Staff are very helpful and situation in the Hunter Valley is awesome. It does not have a fitness centre but does have a great pool and Tennis court.

Room Tip: Book a room with a fireplace as they are much larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JanIneW1028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2012

We stayed at Carriages in February for my mothers surprise 60th birthday weekend. The staff at Carriages helped enormously with our planning and the accommodation was beyond what we ever expected! We booked the 8 bedroom house - all guests commented on the amazing decor and hospitality, not to mention the delicious baskets at our door for breakfast!
Thankyou for a fantastic weekend!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alice M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pokolbin
6.7 mi away
Spicers Vineyards Estate
Spicers Vineyards Estate
#1 of 15 in Pokolbin
861 reviews
1.7 mi away
Kirkton Park Hotel Hunter Valley
0.1 mi away
The Convent Hunter Valley
The Convent Hunter Valley
#12 of 15 in Pokolbin
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens
2.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley
3.2 mi away
Chateau Elan Hunter Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carriages Boutique Hotel & Vineyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carriages Boutique Hotel & Vineyard

Property: Carriages Boutique Hotel & Vineyard
Address: Diamond Estate | 112 Halls Road, Pokolbin, New South Wales 2320, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Pokolbin
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Pokolbin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Carriages Boutique Hotel & Vineyard 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We think you’re going to love this place. It’s a boutique hotel with 10 rooms, set on an award-winning vineyard. In winter enjoy a roaring log-fire, a squashy sofa, a smooth bottle of wine. On warm days wander through French doors into the garden, dip into the salt-water pool, or play tennis. Sleep in the finest fresh white sheets and wake up to a seasonal breakfast basket at your door. It’s an enchanting retreat at the end of a famous little road. Legendary vineyards, wineries, chef’s hat restaurants, world class golf courses, spectacular Hunter Valley Gardens, chocolate & cheese shops are all close by… plus Carriages Boutique Wines are onsite for your drinking pleasure. COME AND STAY. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Carriages Boutique Hotel & Vineyard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carriages Boutique Hotel & Vineyard Greater Newcastle/Pokolbin, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing