We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay at The Carriages”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Carriages Boutique Hotel & Vineyard
Ranked #3 of 9 Pokolbin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely stay at The Carriages”
Reviewed 15 August 2012

My partner and I recently stayed for 2 nights and we were absolutely thrilled.
We stayed in the loft, (I think it was the biggest room) and my partner had a great time playing with the open fire.
The hosts were very courteous and available without being overbearing.
Charmingly furnished.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lexa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    125
    36
    5
    1
    2
See reviews for
17
121
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2012

My partner & I had heard good things about The Carriages from friends, & I had visited the cellar door previously. (This boutique winery offers a fantastic shiraz & delicious chardonnay. You can't visit without buying either/both of these wines!)
But the best part of this hidden nook at the end of Halls Road, Pokolbin, is the Carriages.
We arrived late & our key was waiting in the cute office part of the Owner's house. We made our way slowly down the winding gravel road, through the vineyard, & happened upon the charming Main House. A huge verandah (with chairs & a table for each of the rooms) surrounds this magnificent B&B, just begging you to sit & relax.
Our room was well appointed & had a definite country feel, without being too kitsch. A basket of kindling & newspaper awaited our open fireplace & it didn't take long to get a fire lit! There was Twinings tea of all types, plunger coffee & wine glasses.
In the morning we awoke to a breakfast hamper at the front door & what a joy this was! 2 large croissants, 2 fresh muffins, bread & jams/honey, 3 different cereals, yoghurt, a jug of milk in the fridge, orange juice & fruit. I couldn't wait to set up the table with the supplied cutlery & placemats & dig into this delicious well-prepared piece of luxury.
The 'backyard' was a beautiful sight to wake to in the early wintery morning, so green & leafy.
(If it hadnt been raining, we would have played some tennis with the supplied racquets/balls.)
Instead we were recommended a few options for lunch, by the owner Rebecca. Knowledgeable & accommodating, she made us feel like old friends staying over for a couple of nights.
This romantic, cosy B&B was the highlight of our holiday.

Room Tip: One with an open fire will surely delight during winter!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Adam o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2012

We stayed for 2 nights and would definitely recommend the Carriages. Lovely and relaxing, just what we needed in our break from Sydney. The room was cosy and quiet and candles are provided to add to the romantic atmosphere. It would have been perfect if one of the rooms with the log fire had been available but unfortunately all booked out..never mind maybe next time! We loved the breakfast hamper, enjoying it on the veranda in the morning sunshine was bliss! Lovely touch.
A bonus was that we realised the Carriages is located just up from the PepperTree winery..our fave!
We will be back in the furture for sure. If you want some R&R the Carriages is perfect rather than staying at the larger hotel complexes.

Room Tip: ask if the rooms with log firplace are available
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank summerholidays2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 July 2012

We stayed at the Carriages Country House for 2 nights. The cabins at the Cottages are secluded. The room we stayed in had a cosy country charm, complete with a fire place, which was a lot of fun to get going.

The staff were friendly and very helpful. Recommended great places to have lunch and the turn down service was excellent.

The breakfast hampers were a treasured treat to wake up to. We had a basket full of delicious treats. Muffins, croissants, cereals, muesli, yoghurt, fresh seasonal fruit and bread with many condiments.

Don't forget to check out their wines. Delicious reds!

A great escape from reality. Definitely planing a second trip!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adrian087
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 July 2012

The Carriages Country House brochure invites you to "stay somewhere magical" and indeed we did!
The location of the two separate guest houses is down a pretty winding road surrounded by the vineyards and blue hills as a backdrop.
With a glowing fireplace in our plush room, views across the gardens and she-oak forest, we enjoyed the glorious shiraz - grown right on the property!
It is certainly a small and intimate boutique hotel run by a lovely young family. Their service was excellent. They were charming, friendly and entertaining hosts with great recommendations for what we could enjoy locally.
The beauty of the property is that the owner's family home and reception is quite separate from the guest houses, so you really do feel like you have privacy and peace away from it all.
The room was immaculate, spacious and beautifully decorated. Breakfast hampers were delivered to our door each morning to be enjoyed at our leisure. It was such a relaxing stay.
We would highly recommend The Carriages Country House for couples wanting a romantic retreat in the Hunter Valley! And the Shiraz is wonderful!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelisers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2012

To give credit where credit is due, the accommodation is beautiful. It is a beautiful setting, remote, quiet, romantic and relaxing. It is evident that a lot of effort has gone into the quality of the cottage with nice lounges, good showers and a beautifully made verandah.

Unfortunately however, we found the service to be the thing letting this down the most.

After a few hiccups with booking (like a previous reviewer has also mentioned), we arrived at the reception of the Carriages. It felt a little awkward as it seemed we were driving up to someone's house rather than accommodation. There was no one to welcome us (despite arriving just before check-in) and just a "please ring the bell" sign on the door. We proceeded to do so and were eventually greeted by a girl in her pyjamas. Not exactly what you would expect for paying $200+ a night. We tried asking about the local amenities however this girl could not even tell us about Robert's Restaurant which is about 100 yards away.

As part of our deal, we were supposed to have a welcoming Cheese Platter with a bottle of wine on arrival. This was not there and we eventually had to ask. Not a big deal but little details count.

Later that night we decided to walk to the reception property to ask advice on finding a restaurant. With music blasting in the house, ringing the doorbell felt awkward, like we were intruding. When someone did answer, we were not invited in to the office section (there is a separate part of the house which is their office - we did not go to the main front door!), instead we talked outside with the owner just holding the door open. To be fair eventually he was helpful but it felt like this was only done as he had to rather than he actually wanted to.

The breakfast basket was a nice touch. Some bread, a small pitcher of juice, two croissants, two rolls, 3 pieces of fruit and two selections of cereals. For this to be classed as high end accommodation however I would suggest providing options or even asking guests about allergies. It would not take much effort or extra money to have a little checklist like you do in hotels, to be hung on your door at night.

There are other things I could say, however I am cautious of not making this too long.

In summary, the accommodation was beautiful, however I believe there needs to be a bigger distinction between running a hotel / a nice quiet home life. Especially for the money, a few extra touches and a professional attire would have taken this from a reasonable stay to a great one.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Julia_H0303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RebeccaVictoriaD, General Manager at Carriages Boutique Hotel & Vineyard, responded to this review, 25 July 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on Carriages Boutique Hotel.

We're really pleased to hear about the things you enjoyed, and we sincerely regret that we didn't meet your expectations on service. We're a small team who take genuine pride in looking after our guests and we were disappointed to hear your issues, which by no means reflect our values at Carriages. Please accept our apologies and please do get in touch with us directly as we'd like to resolve any kinks and welcome you back.

(Our new receptionist is very embarrassed that you thought her slacks were pyjamas, sorry).

Kind regards,
Rebecca Diamond
stay@thecarriages.com.au
+61 412 484 228
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2012

The scenery at Carriages is absolutely beautiful. Cottages are secluded so you really feel as though you’re away from the hustle and bustle of everyday life, yet located centrally to Pokolbin’s many vineyards and restaurants.

We stayed in The Gatehouse which was very comfortably furnished and well serviced. Staff were attentive and friendly. The breakfast basket delivered right to the door each morning, cooking facilities and wide selection of DVD’s mean you can make the most of your accommodation and spend time relaxing indoors...perfect in cold weather!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MarianneKathryn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pokolbin
6.7 mi away
Spicers Vineyards Estate
Spicers Vineyards Estate
#1 of 15 in Pokolbin
839 reviews
1.7 mi away
Kirkton Park Hotel Hunter Valley
0.1 mi away
The Convent Hunter Valley
The Convent Hunter Valley
#10 of 15 in Pokolbin
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens
2.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley
3.2 mi away
Chateau Elan Hunter Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carriages Boutique Hotel & Vineyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carriages Boutique Hotel & Vineyard

Property: Carriages Boutique Hotel & Vineyard
Address: Diamond Estate | 112 Halls Road, Pokolbin, New South Wales 2320, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Pokolbin
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Pokolbin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Carriages Boutique Hotel & Vineyard 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We think you’re going to love this place. It’s a boutique hotel with 10 rooms, set on an award-winning vineyard. In winter enjoy a roaring log-fire, a squashy sofa, a smooth bottle of wine. On warm days wander through French doors into the garden, dip into the salt-water pool, or play tennis. Sleep in the finest fresh white sheets and wake up to a seasonal breakfast basket at your door. It’s an enchanting retreat at the end of a famous little road. Legendary vineyards, wineries, chef’s hat restaurants, world class golf courses, spectacular Hunter Valley Gardens, chocolate & cheese shops are all close by… plus Carriages Boutique Wines are onsite for your drinking pleasure. COME AND STAY. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your Carriages Boutique Hotel & Vineyard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carriages Boutique Hotel & Vineyard Greater Newcastle/Pokolbin, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing