We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Winning Accomodation and Wine - a Hunter Valley must!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Carriages Boutique Hotel & Vineyard
Ranked #2 of 8 Pokolbin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 August 2013

At last the recurring question of "Where to stay in the Hunter?" has been answered. From the uniqueness of a wood fire in our room to the hand delivered breakfast basket, our stay @ Carriages was exceptional. Staff were friendly and willing to help - from organising our bicycles to cycle around the wineries (recommended) to confirming our dinner reservations without hesitation. The planner in me really appreciated the text the day before our arrival outlining the weekend’s temperatures - saves on packing! We also took home some of the vineyards wine too - a winning trip all round and a definite recommendation. Jennifer & Ivan

Room Tip: Gable suite - these rooms have the open wood fire. A must-do for a Winter trip.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luxurious_Musings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (198)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

124 - 130 of 198 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2013

We just spent a last minute night away at Carriages and it was everything we'd hoped for. We certainly could have stayed on for a few nights and we felt very well looked after. So many positives, it's very relaxing, an attractive setting, everyone's very friendly and helpful, good wine on their own small vineyard, close to a couple of great wineries and a good pub, well appointed rooms, great breakfast, I could go on. It's just a really nice place to get away from it all and well worth a visit. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robyule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2013

Perfect location. Easy walk to vineyards for tastings and to Roberts Restaurant which was amazing. Carriages has relaxed atmosphere, lovely rooms and a breakfast basket to die for. Will definitely return!

Room Tip: If going in winter make sure you choose a room with a log fire! Sooooo nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aileen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BexVictoria, General Manager at Carriages Boutique Hotel & Vineyard, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2013

We love to hear that you enjoyed your stay here at CARRIAGES and the neighbouring top restaurants & famous wineries.... thank you for taking the time to write a review. Your group were a pleasure to look after, and we hope to see you here again soon. Happy travels meanwhile.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2013

We stayed 2 nights mid week!
Superb room with a fire we love right inside the big gable room with a crisp-sheeted enormous king bed!
the ambience of music and fine wine on our deck overlooking the orange winter barely any there leaves tree and the dark night with a stripe of the milky way plus a beautiful moon... Sleeping in to bird calls and more peace... the hottest lovely bath on a cold morning...
We wanted for northing..
All the details were there.. bubble bath.. a torch... bottomless firewood.. corkscrew... fine glassware... a mini oven to heat our dinner so we didn't have to go out... even a friendly dog to say hi to... Best place we could ever want... a memorable and favourite stay... Thanks! Jim and Louise

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 969Louise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BexVictoria, General Manager at Carriages Boutique Hotel & Vineyard, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2013

Thank you for your delightful comments about CARRIAGES. We love to hear that our guests have enjoyed the property and all that it has to offer. We're pleased that a 2-night stay midweek meant you could properly immerse yourself in the vineyard setting & escape the daily grind!
Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2013

We had a lovely time, Carriages is situated in a really nice part of the Hunter.
We can easily go to great restaurants and tasting.
The breakfast basket was delicious with fresh fruit, croissant, toast, yogurt...
Great hosts.

Thank you ; )

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2013

We stayed at Carriages for 5 nights and held our wedding ceremony amongst the vineyards.
Couldn't be happier with the way we were treated. The owners and staff did everything possible to make sure we had a great and wonderful stay. Accommodation was great and very relaxing. Look forward to going back some day!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Newtowneel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BexVictoria, General Manager at Carriages Boutique Hotel & Vineyard, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2013

Thanks for your kind words, we have passed your review onto the team here at Carriages.
Your ceremony here in the Carriages Vineyard looked stunning and we hope you'll have many beautiful memories of the day, and the Hunter Valley.
Hope to see you soon!
Kind regards,
Rebecca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2013

We stayed at The Carriages whilst attending a wedding in The Hunter Valley, The Verandah Room was cosy and furnshed with Country charm ,with a lovely comfy bed.
The spacious gardens have a rustic country ambience and a salt water swimming pool to cool down in.A generous breakfast basket was delivered at 8am, full of goodies which we enjoyed whilst we relaxed on the sunny verandah .
Would not hesitate to stay there again. Rado

Room Tip: Verandah room was private as one end is nest to garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jarcards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pokolbin
1.7 mi away
Kirkton Park Hotel Hunter Valley
6.8 mi away
Spicers Vineyards Estate
Spicers Vineyards Estate
#1 of 15 in Pokolbin
918 reviews
2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Splinters Guest House
Splinters Guest House
#5 of 15 in Pokolbin
308 reviews
6.6 mi away
Thistle Hill Guest House
1.6 mi away
Hermitage Lodge
Hermitage Lodge
#3 of 8 in Pokolbin
378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carriages Boutique Hotel & Vineyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carriages Boutique Hotel & Vineyard

Address: Diamond Estate | 112 Halls Road, Pokolbin, New South Wales 2320, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Pokolbin
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Pokolbin
Price Range: £143 - £217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Carriages Boutique Hotel & Vineyard 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We think you’re going to love this place. It’s a boutique hotel with just 10 beautifully appointed en-suite rooms brimming with vintage charm and set on an award-winning vineyard. In winter curl up on a sofa next to a real log-fire with a glass of wine. On warm days wander through French doors to sit out on the wide veranda overlooking the garden, dip into the salt-water pool, or play tennis. Sleep in the finest fresh white sheets and wake up to a seasonal breakfast basket at your door. It’s an enchanting retreat at the end of a famous little road. It’s just a short stroll to the local café and Circa 1876 restaurant. Legendary vineyards, wineries, an amazing range of restaurants, cheese and chocolate shops, world class golf courses, and the spectacular Hunter Valley Gardens, are all close by… plus Carriages Boutique Wines are on site for your drinking pleasure. COME AND STAY. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Carriages Boutique Hotel & Vineyard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carriages Boutique Hotel & Vineyard Greater Newcastle/Pokolbin, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing