We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peace and tranquility!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Carriages Boutique Hotel & Vineyard
Ranked #3 of 8 Pokolbin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 October 2013

We stayed in the Gatehouse (Room 9) for 2 nights on the October long weekend. After only one night, we were so relaxed that it felt like we had been away for a week.
We had spent lots of time researching because we didn't want to stay in a large commercialised hotel room - but still wanted to be reasonably central to everything.
Carriages was a perfect setting. It exceeded our expectations. We were nestled amoungst some beautful gardens and the winery which was so picturesque and peaceful. The room was large and beautifully presented. The entire suite was exceptionally clean (including the spa bath ensuite).
Each morning a breakfast hamper was left for us to enjoy, including croissants, muffins, toast, cereal, juice, etc.
The cottages are in the same street as the Peppertree winery and Robarts restaurant. We were only approximately 3km to Muses restaurant and 2-3km to Pokolbin village. And probably 5km up the road from the Hunter Valley Gardens.
We would highly recommend this place for a visit to the Hunter Valley region. We even bought some of their wine as a souvenir to remember our romantic weekend away.

Room Tip: Room 9 was perfect. It had the spa bath, new carpet and a recently renovated bathroom. There is a...
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KristieMurphy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BexVictoria, General Manager at Carriages Boutique Hotel & Vineyard, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2014

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed all the little elements that make up the Carriages experience.

We'd love to welcome you back again soon as each season is uniquely special on the Carriages Vineyard... and we'd be pleased to help you make arrangements for things to do and enjoy another memorable stay in the Hunter Valley.

Thanks again for taking the time to write a review... your feedback is valuable to us.

Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (180)
There are newer reviews for Carriages Boutique Hotel & Vineyard
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

102 - 108 of 180 reviews

Reviewed 8 September 2013

I stayed at Carriages for a weekend. I'd been in the Hunter Valley before, however I'd stayed at Tower Lodge which is way over priced. Carriages is beautiful place to stay, and in a great location for wine tasting and visiting the vineyards. It's walkable to get to Pepper Tree and Tower Lodge, and very close to Tempest Two, Hungerford Hill, Lakes Folly and the wonderful Muse restaurant. The accommodation at Carriages is great, the family that own the place are very friendly, the wine is great and breakfast awesome...highly recommended

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RogerSydney2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BexVictoria, General Manager at Carriages Boutique Hotel & Vineyard, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2014

Thank you for your kind words about your recent stay...

It makes all the team happy to know that you enjoyed your time on the Carriages Vineyard, and especially the pretty setting & proximity to all the great things in Hunter Valley.

Its an exciting and vibrant time on the Vineyard right now as we approach harvest time (we pick by hand at Carriages)... and there is a real buzz in the Valley. We'd love to welcome you back soon.

Thanks again for taking the time to write a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013

My wife and I stayed over for one night in early August. This was our first visit and were not sure what to expect. It was far better than our expectations and would have loved to extend our stay. We will be back. Peaceful and convenient with country comforts and good finishes. Fireplace was cosy and breakfast basket in the morning was lovely. The Carriages stay has made us want to return to the Hunter soon.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank T0nySydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2013

We love this place. My husband and I have stayed here several times and always want to return. It's amazingly cozy in the winter months with the beautiful fireplace in the evenings. I love to wake up with the beautiful breakfast basket and sit on the patio having warm muffins and croissants with our coffees. My only negative would be that the rooms are starting to show some wear but nothing that some new bed covers and maybe a new lounge wouldn't fix. We will continue to stay here everytime we visit the Hunter.

Room Tip: Go for the rooms with fireplaces.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KarieP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BexVictoria, General Manager at Carriages Boutique Hotel & Vineyard, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

Thanks for taking the time to share your thoughtful review. We love to hear how you enjoy your time at Carriages each time you stay with us, and look forward to welcoming you again.

We appreciate your feedback and have since your last stay, redecorated the rooms with fresh Laura Ashley and Ralph Lauren soft furnishings among other things.

We are always striving to improve the Carriages experience and keep the property vibrant for our guests. The building is comprised of heritage materials from local villages (Carriages is one of the original Boutique Guesthouses in the Hunter Valley) and we are working to restore and continually enhance the rooms without losing the authentic country feel.

We hope you'll enjoy the touches on your next visit...!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

At last the recurring question of "Where to stay in the Hunter?" has been answered. From the uniqueness of a wood fire in our room to the hand delivered breakfast basket, our stay @ Carriages was exceptional. Staff were friendly and willing to help - from organising our bicycles to cycle around the wineries (recommended) to confirming our dinner reservations without hesitation. The planner in me really appreciated the text the day before our arrival outlining the weekend’s temperatures - saves on packing! We also took home some of the vineyards wine too - a winning trip all round and a definite recommendation. Jennifer & Ivan

Room Tip: Gable suite - these rooms have the open wood fire. A must-do for a Winter trip.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luxurious_Musings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013

We just spent a last minute night away at Carriages and it was everything we'd hoped for. We certainly could have stayed on for a few nights and we felt very well looked after. So many positives, it's very relaxing, an attractive setting, everyone's very friendly and helpful, good wine on their own small vineyard, close to a couple of great wineries and a good pub, well appointed rooms, great breakfast, I could go on. It's just a really nice place to get away from it all and well worth a visit. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robyule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2013

Perfect location. Easy walk to vineyards for tastings and to Roberts Restaurant which was amazing. Carriages has relaxed atmosphere, lovely rooms and a breakfast basket to die for. Will definitely return!

Room Tip: If going in winter make sure you choose a room with a log fire! Sooooo nice.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aileen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BexVictoria, General Manager at Carriages Boutique Hotel & Vineyard, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2013

We love to hear that you enjoyed your stay here at CARRIAGES and the neighbouring top restaurants & famous wineries.... thank you for taking the time to write a review. Your group were a pleasure to look after, and we hope to see you here again soon. Happy travels meanwhile.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pokolbin
6.7 mi away
Spicers Vineyards Estate
Spicers Vineyards Estate
#1 of 15 in Pokolbin
869 reviews
1.7 mi away
Kirkton Park Hotel Hunter Valley
0.1 mi away
The Convent Hunter Valley
The Convent Hunter Valley
#12 of 15 in Pokolbin
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Chateau Elan Hunter Valley
1.0 mi away
Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens
2.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carriages Boutique Hotel & Vineyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carriages Boutique Hotel & Vineyard

Address: Diamond Estate | 112 Halls Road, Pokolbin, New South Wales 2320, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Pokolbin
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Pokolbin
Price Range: £146 - £216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Carriages Boutique Hotel & Vineyard 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We think you’re going to love this place. It’s a boutique hotel with 10 rooms, set on an award-winning vineyard. In winter enjoy a roaring log-fire, a squashy sofa, a smooth bottle of wine. On warm days wander through French doors into the garden, dip into the salt-water pool, or play tennis. Sleep in the finest fresh white sheets and wake up to a seasonal breakfast basket at your door. It’s an enchanting retreat at the end of a famous little road. Legendary vineyards, wineries, chef’s hat restaurants, world class golf courses, spectacular Hunter Valley Gardens, chocolate & cheese shops are all close by… plus Carriages Boutique Wines are onsite for your drinking pleasure. COME AND STAY. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Carriages Boutique Hotel & Vineyard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carriages Boutique Hotel & Vineyard Greater Newcastle/Pokolbin, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing