We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay in the middle of a vineyard”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Carriages Boutique Hotel & Vineyard
Ranked #3 of 9 Pokolbin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Belleville, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay in the middle of a vineyard”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

On a three week whirlwind tour of Australia, we wanted to spend some time in a winegrowing area and chose the Hunter Valley for its proximity to Sydney. Carriages was the perfect spot for lots of wine tasting but also for relaxing and enjoying nature. We were particularly taken with the birds in the area and were entertained by a trio of kookaburras that perched in the trees outside the inn. It is a very low key and relaxing spot. It felt like a visit to someone's summer cottage. Very very nice indeed.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Catherine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    128
    36
    6
    1
    2
See reviews for
17
123
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 271 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We needed a relaxing spot to chill out away from Sydney for the weekend and this place did indeed live up to its reputation. The room was very comfortable and it was so nice to sit around an open fireplace that kept the room ever so cosy and warm. We were lucky enough to have dinner at Roberts restaurant next door and loved how it was just a short stroll away. The hamper at the door every morning was such a delightful breakfast to wake up to... I would recommend this Boutique Hotel 100% and we both would like to thank Rebecca and the crew for making it a memorable visit to the Hunter.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hardline_media
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

Despite date changes on our part and numerous advance requests for this that and the other by our party of five couples, Rebecca managed to accommodate them all with good grace and smooth efficiency. She even made advance bookings for restaurants and wine tastings and arranged transport to them for us. We stayed in the main cottage as well as taking over two rooms of the Gatehouse, we met for breakfast and evening drinks in the large lounge area, over our four day stay.

The setting among gardens and trees is relaxing and peaceful. You won't be disappointed.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Horkesley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We booked the entire Carriages House (7 rooms) for an informal company get together of 11 people. It was perfect, the rooms were excellent, Rebecca arranged wine & chees plates for our arrival, booked Roberts restuarant for dinner and then set up breakfast for us the next morning on the verandah. Having the entire house really worked for us. Usually they require a 2 night minimum, however they waived this for us and allowed us to stay for just 1 night. A very memorable 24 hours in a superb property and lovely grounds.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MarkODonoghue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Stayed in a spa suite (one half of a cottage secluded away from the main accommodation building) - perfectly secluded and peaceful, with a large fireplace in the communal lounge between the spa suites. Favourite moment was walking back from Roberts restaurant in the dark, through the vineyard back to the cottage, with only moonlight to guide us - very idyllic. Will definately return.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank g_m_london_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Was great to be so relaxed and the hospitality shown by our hosts was great.

Highly recommend having a picnic by the pond as was so peaceful and a great way to really un-wind!

thansk so much for your hospitality we can't wait to come back

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nick b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This was the most wonderful place to stay! Room very lovely and beautifully appointed. Contained all one would need for self catering. Bed very comfy! Breakfast basket nicely set out with placemats to eat outside. Food very yummy. Great place to stay and we will be back

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Victoria T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pokolbin
6.7 mi away
Spicers Vineyards Estate
Spicers Vineyards Estate
#1 of 15 in Pokolbin
854 reviews
1.7 mi away
Kirkton Park Hotel Hunter Valley
1.0 mi away
Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Convent Hunter Valley
The Convent Hunter Valley
#10 of 15 in Pokolbin
247 reviews
2.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley
1.5 mi away
Hermitage Lodge
Hermitage Lodge
#2 of 9 in Pokolbin
358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carriages Boutique Hotel & Vineyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carriages Boutique Hotel & Vineyard

Property: Carriages Boutique Hotel & Vineyard
Address: Diamond Estate | 112 Halls Road, Pokolbin, New South Wales 2320, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Pokolbin
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Pokolbin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Carriages Boutique Hotel & Vineyard 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We think you’re going to love this place. It’s a boutique hotel with 10 rooms, set on an award-winning vineyard. In winter enjoy a roaring log-fire, a squashy sofa, a smooth bottle of wine. On warm days wander through French doors into the garden, dip into the salt-water pool, or play tennis. Sleep in the finest fresh white sheets and wake up to a seasonal breakfast basket at your door. It’s an enchanting retreat at the end of a famous little road. Legendary vineyards, wineries, chef’s hat restaurants, world class golf courses, spectacular Hunter Valley Gardens, chocolate & cheese shops are all close by… plus Carriages Boutique Wines are onsite for your drinking pleasure. COME AND STAY. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Carriages Boutique Hotel & Vineyard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carriages Boutique Hotel & Vineyard Greater Newcastle/Pokolbin, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing