We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxation and Serenity”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Carriages Boutique Hotel & Vineyard
Ranked #3 of 9 Pokolbin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
denman
1 review
“Relaxation and Serenity”
Reviewed 17 January 2010

We stayed in a Verandah Suite for a couple of nights and had a fantastic experience. The room was clean, spacious, and quaintly decorated. The room also opened out onto a very large communal verandah with plenty of funiture to choose from to eat breakfast or kick back with a nice bottle of the local product.

We will be back!

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank monkoDenman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    125
    36
    5
    1
    2
See reviews for
17
121
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
1 review
Reviewed 17 January 2010

I stayed at The Carriages when i visited the Hunter Valley with my parents who were on holiday from England and we had a fantastic time. The property and guesthouse is beautiful and in a perfect location for visiting wineries.

The service was great, we felt at home right away and decided to stay an extra night. We were also upgraded so we could have two rooms together. The rooms were lovely and the breakfast was brought to our door for us enjoy on the veranda.

I would highly recommend The Carriages to anyone wanting a relaxing getaway in the Hunter and will most definately be staying there again.

We had a fabulous time!

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LaurenJonesSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chappaqua, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2010

My husband and I stayed at The Carriages for the last two nights of a honeymoon that took us around both the west and east coasts of Australia. We stayed in a variety of hotels, some hits and some misses. The Carriages was our *absolute favorite* of them all. The Dawsons are warm, friendly, and welcoming. The property is gorgeous and the guest house was even better in person than it looks on the website. We stayed in one of the Gable Suites. The room was perfectly clean, spacious, and comfortable - we felt right at home. We slept better those two nights than we had on the rest of our trip! My favorite aspects of our stay were the breakfast basket that was left by our door each morning; the wonderful wines; and the opportunity to watch some of the local kangaroos! On our last night, Ben Dawson picked us up and drove us to the main house, where kangaroos were grazing in an adjacent field. We had told the Dawsons that we hadn't seen enough kangaroos on our trip - and there we were, on the last night of our honeymoon, watching a glorious sunset and a group of Aussie kangaroos. Our time at The Carriages is a memory we will always cherish, and we hope to make it back again someday.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JBButler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
Reviewed 6 January 2010

We loved this place. BJ made us feel welcome, suggesting somewhere great for dinner, offering us a taste of the wine from his vineyard, and suggesting we have a stroll across the nearby field to see kangeroos which we had yet to see on our holiday. The rooms are lovely and full of character, we loved sitting out on the verandah in the evening and the warm muffins and croissants delivered to the rooms in the morning was a great touch.
The setting for this place is beautiful and the owners are lovely. We would recommend it to anyone and already have to a number of friends. A perfect base for Hunter Valley wine tasting.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JRoLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
51 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2010

We booked the Carriages for a quiet, relaxing retreat over the New Year. We booked into our room which was quite expensive at $295 per night we thought as the room was quite basic perhaps 2/3 star. We were told by the lady who booked us in that a large group would be holding a party/ BBQ and she hoped they wouldn't be too loud. They were loud and partied from 4pm to 4am, nothing outrageous just talking laughing, singing ( apparently one of them was celebrating a birthday and well as the New Year) They had obviously asked the oweners if this was OK to do as the woman was well aware of this.

On booking out we said that the noise was not really acceptable and were told "its New Years Eve what did you excpect?" not said nastily but still. We just paid up and left we wont be back, who in there right minds lets half the accomodation hold a party at the expense of other paying guests?

And so in answer to the question what did I expect? I expected a lovely relaxing , quite New Years Eve in the country, if I wanted to listen to other people party I would have stayed in Bondi for free!

I note this isnt the only time noise issues have been raised and wish I had looked on Trip Adisor before we booked.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SydneyS_k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney
1 review
Reviewed 18 December 2009

Recently enjoyed staying at this relaxing country guesthouse that is centrally located but tucked away from the main road with only the sounds of birds as you wake in the morning. Room was spacious, private, very comfortable and spotlessly clean but best of all was the breakfast delivered to your door each morning - freshly baked muffins, beautiful seasonal fruits (we had mangos and plums), cereal, yoghurt, juice etc. Temps were over 40degrees when we were there so cooled down in the pool and made good use of the shady trees nearby. Our room had it's own balcony where we could enjoy a bottle of wine and some cheese in the cool of the evening. The owners Ben and Lise were extremely helpful with directions and recommendations to restaurants and wineries in the area and nothing was too much trouble. Their attention to detail was obvious in everything - cleanliness, comfort and catering. We loved out stay and definitely intend to return in the future.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rockrobyn99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greater Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 16 December 2009

This was a return visit to the Carriages Country House after living overseas for the past four years and I was not disappointed. I had wonderful memories of drinking a glass of red by the fire in our room and relaxing over breakfast the next morning on the verandah, but this 2 day stay was in the heat of summer, so a whole new experience awaited.
We were not disappointed. We had driven up from Sydney in the morning, stopping for a long, leisurely lunch along the way and arriving at the Carriages in the heat of the afternoon. As we wound our way through the vines to the guesthouse itself, the long verandah and gabled roof came into view - a haven beckoning.
Opening the door to our upstairs gabled room, the cool air conditioning welcomed us and we knew we had found the respite we craved. The room and adjoining bathroom were both large and beautifully decorated with every comfort. The central fireplace would not be needed this visit, but created an ambience of country charm.
In the early evening when the temperature had cooled, we enjoyed a bottle of the Carriages wine and some cheese and crackers on our private balcony. Watching the setting sun listening only to the sound of cicadas is such a truly Australian experience and one that I had missed.
After a delicious breakfast the next day of fruit, yoghurt and home-cooked muffins we enjoyed a long walk followed by a swim in the pool. We then decided we did not want to leave this haven, even for the day, catching up on our reading and enjoying an afternoon nap in the heat of the day.
This Carriages Country House is a tranquil haven and I couldn't recommend it more highly as a place to recharge your batteries. The owners, Ben and Lise, were totally charming and are happy to meet every need. The wine we enjoyed on our first night had been grown from vines on the estate and was first rate, so we couldn't resist buying a case to take home.
All in all, the Carriages Country House is the perfect getaway winter or summer, and I am already looking for an opportunity to go back again!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SanFranKate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pokolbin
1.7 mi away
The Sebel Kirkton Park Hunter Valley
6.7 mi away
Spicers Vineyards Estate
Spicers Vineyards Estate
#1 of 15 in Pokolbin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 833 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Convent Hunter Valley
The Convent Hunter Valley
#11 of 15 in Pokolbin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley
3.2 mi away
Chateau Elan Hunter Valley
1.0 mi away
Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carriages Boutique Hotel & Vineyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carriages Boutique Hotel & Vineyard

Property: Carriages Boutique Hotel & Vineyard
Address: Diamond Estate | 112 Halls Road, Pokolbin, New South Wales 2320, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Pokolbin
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Pokolbin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Carriages Boutique Hotel & Vineyard 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We think you’re going to love this place. It’s a boutique hotel with 10 rooms, set on an award-winning vineyard. In winter enjoy a roaring log-fire, a squashy sofa, a smooth bottle of wine. On warm days wander through French doors into the garden, dip into the salt-water pool, or play tennis. Sleep in the finest fresh white sheets and wake up to a seasonal breakfast basket at your door. It’s an enchanting retreat at the end of a famous little road. Legendary vineyards, wineries, chef’s hat restaurants, world class golf courses, spectacular Hunter Valley Gardens, chocolate & cheese shops are all close by… plus Carriages Boutique Wines are onsite for your drinking pleasure. COME AND STAY. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Carriages Boutique Hotel & Vineyard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carriages Boutique Hotel & Vineyard Greater Newcastle/Pokolbin, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing