We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect weekend, gorgeous guesthouse, stunning views”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Carriages Boutique Hotel & Vineyard
Ranked #3 of 9 Pokolbin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
bondi
2 reviews
“Perfect weekend, gorgeous guesthouse, stunning views”
Reviewed 3 March 2011

I don't usually write reviews, but we just had the best weekend away that I feel compelled to share it!
My husband and I just spent 3 nights at Carriages and it was one of the best weekends we've had away. The guesthouse is set apart from the main house, down a winding pebbled road, past the actual vineyard that provides the grapes for their own wine label. It sits on manicured lawns next to a forest and a lake - stunning!! I got really excited when we drove towards it!
The rooms are beautifully done with lots of pale wooden antiques and nice soft bed linen, and by the way the rooms are MASSIVE. I guess that's what you'd expect for the price, but it was like having your own little apartment, with big couch/lounge area, desk area, mini kitchen area and fireplace/rug/tv in the middle. It all has a lovely old english country feel to it.
In the morning they leave a big basket of breakie stuff at your door and we toasted the croissants and ate the muffins etc sitting on the huge verandah that wraps around all the rooms. The hubbie ended up having a couple of games of tennis with some of the other guests, which he loved, and I hung around the pool a lot because it was very hot weather.
We asked the owners on the Saturday to recommend a restaurant, which was probably too late, as they all book out pretty far in advance. They managed to get us into Rock, which was good but a tiny bit overpriced for the quality of the food, I'd say. Next time we're going to try Roberts, which is right next door to Carriages, and meant to be amazing.
All in all I'd highly recommend staying here, and it would probably be great in winter as well, with the fireplace. It's perfect for a bit of luxury and to just unwind, and right in the middle of all the stunning vineyards so you can't beat the location.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nicolaisrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    133
    36
    6
    1
    2
See reviews for
17
125
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 2 March 2011

My husband and I and our 2.8 month old son stayed at Carriages for 2 nights during Feb 2011 - we have been to the Hunter Valley many times before staying at different places and I can honestly say that his has been our best experience to date and we would strongly recommend visitors to stay there. We stayed in the Gate House - the rooms were very clean and big with good wardrobe space to put all our clothes in a fabulous spa in the bathroom. There was also a great sitting room / kitchen next door with big comfy sofas and a great place for our son to relax in the late afternoons. Nearby was the swimming pool which was very clean and well looked after. Our son spent most of his time in here whilst we relaxed on the sun loungers. We ended up spending most of our time at the hotel (even though we planned to visit lots of the vineyards!), since we found it such a great place to unwind.
The owners were really friendly and extremely helpful - in advance they booked a baby sitter for us and reserved us a table at a nearby restaurant for the saturday night. Breakfast was delicious too - and so much food! yummy fresh fruit / pastries / freshly bakes muffins / yoghurts.
We would really recommend this place based on the service / cleaniness and the fact that once you get there you just unwind in the beautiful vineyard and surroundings. And on a hot day there is nothing better than staying somewhere with a pool!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank helen1007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 16 February 2011

Stayed 3 nights over a weekend to celebrate hubby's birthday and valentines day. Had our 2 year old boy and 4 year old labrador with us who both loved to run around the amazing and spacious grounds. Checked into a great room with a well stocked kitchen and tv room next door. A fresh breakfast was delivered every morning which was a nice surprise. Place was immaculately clean, bed SO comfy and service was great. Bec and Nick were very hospitable and helped us enjoy the Hunter the way it should be enjoyed. Location is spectacular and close to everything!
Would highly recommend this place to anybody.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hendersonleanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malmö, Sverige
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2011

My partner and I stayed for three nights during really hot summer. We were recommended to stay here by a friend who used to come here a lot. We think that there might have been a change of owners since he was there last, but we do not know.
The place have a lot of charm, the rooms are big enough for two and has a small pentry and large bathroom. The only thing we missed in our corner room was a place to store our clothes in a proper way, now they had to stay in the suitcase for the entire stay.
But the place needs some minor refurbishments to really make this a great place to stay. One of the steps in the small stair to the veranda was rotten and this was one of the first impressions guest get when arriving. The pool had a lot of leaves in it and didn't give that clean impression you want. The picket fence around the pool and around the veranda would need some paint. As said, some minor touch ups and it would be a great place.
Everywhere we went in Sydney people offered to help us, they gave us advice, called to make reservations for us etc to make sure we got the best out of our visit. We were a bit surprised to find none of this here.
We were sitting in the reception one day when another couple walked in and it was clear that they had talked to the staff the day before about going to Roberts Restaurant located next door. When they got to the restaurant it was full and they had to find another place to eat. Roberts is a really poular restaurant and you really need to make a reservation to get a table, and as the next door neighboor you kind of expect the staff of Carriages to know this. But she had clearly not helped them to call over there and make a reservation. We just happend to mention that we wanted to eat there when we were tasting wine at a vineyard close to the restaurant, and the man there immediately offered to call over and make a reservation for us.
As Carriages is a small place with not so many rooms you kind of expect a bit more personal service and interest in making our stay in the valley as pleasant as possible. It wasn't a bad place to stay but if we go back to Hunter Valley we would probably try and stay somewhere else, and there sure are other options available.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Swed_Vickan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 November 2010

Great accommodation in the Hunter. The Gatehouse is a fantastic idea sharing the open fireplace with friends.

The location is great, and is within walking distance from Robert's Restaurant.

My husband and I loved Carriages so much we are taking friends back to stay there in July 2011. Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LittleTurtle09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2010

We stayed here three nights during a 2 1/2 week trip in Australia. As it was a Sunday-Tuesday, and not yet high season it seemed, there were only one or two other guests on the beautiful property. The room was spacious and comfortable, complete with a couch, in a building that had a long front porch with chairs and tables for relaxing and reading. There was a also a fireplace, although the wood provided was too damp to actually light. The breakfast delivered in basket to our door at 8 am, with nice cloth napkins, was a sweet touch, although I would have liked a bit more variety and perhaps slightly more upscale fixings.
The inn is also centrally located for exploring the wine valley, and the owners/hosts (and their lovely dog Wellie) recommended terrific wineries. While our hosts also recommended a restaurant that turned out to be closed when we tried it, they more than made up for it by offering to drop off purchased wine at our host's house in Sydney and by making reservations for us at other places.
In summary, I enjoyed my stay and our hosts, and although improvements are always possible, they are doing a great job.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendelfarb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redhead
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2010

Had one winter's night there last week. Gorgeous open fire, country furniture, quiet and green, and incredibly friendly service. Huge breakfast, free DVD loan, central location. Will be returning in a few weeks and will recommend it to everyone I know.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DiscoStu6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pokolbin
6.7 mi away
Spicers Vineyards Estate
Spicers Vineyards Estate
#1 of 15 in Pokolbin
862 reviews
1.7 mi away
Kirkton Park Hotel Hunter Valley
0.1 mi away
The Convent Hunter Valley
The Convent Hunter Valley
#13 of 15 in Pokolbin
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens
2.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley
3.2 mi away
Chateau Elan Hunter Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carriages Boutique Hotel & Vineyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carriages Boutique Hotel & Vineyard

Property: Carriages Boutique Hotel & Vineyard
Address: Diamond Estate | 112 Halls Road, Pokolbin, New South Wales 2320, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Pokolbin
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Pokolbin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Carriages Boutique Hotel & Vineyard 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We think you’re going to love this place. It’s a boutique hotel with 10 rooms, set on an award-winning vineyard. In winter enjoy a roaring log-fire, a squashy sofa, a smooth bottle of wine. On warm days wander through French doors into the garden, dip into the salt-water pool, or play tennis. Sleep in the finest fresh white sheets and wake up to a seasonal breakfast basket at your door. It’s an enchanting retreat at the end of a famous little road. Legendary vineyards, wineries, chef’s hat restaurants, world class golf courses, spectacular Hunter Valley Gardens, chocolate & cheese shops are all close by… plus Carriages Boutique Wines are onsite for your drinking pleasure. COME AND STAY. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Carriages Boutique Hotel & Vineyard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carriages Boutique Hotel & Vineyard Greater Newcastle/Pokolbin, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing