We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bliss, Fantastic, 1st Class”
Review of Hermitage Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hermitage Lodge
Ranked #2 of 8 Pokolbin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 April 2012

This was recommended by friends, and I would recomend to anyone.
We stayed in the premier Suite, mid week so was an upgrade. So great price.
The accomodation was perfect, not a single fault.
What can you say - hot tub on bedroom balcony, large bedroom, dressing room & massive bathroom. Downstairs, luxury kitchen , living area & another bathroom, and balcony.
The firidge was filled with complimentary goodies including breakfast each day.
Free internet. Free laundry room.
As for the grounds , just lovely. Lovely little swimming pool.
Staff so helpful.
Restaurant great.
My partner & 6 year old daughter loved it too.
Only stayed 2 nights, just wish we had booked longer.
Great area, perfect for the Vineyards.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (378)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

299 - 305 of 378 reviews

Reviewed 21 April 2012

Had a spa room, lovely view, heaps of room, very comfortable.We appreciated the breakast provided in the room, would stay here again.

Room Tip: End room, added privacy and huge wraparound verandah.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NswAustraliaDidi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2012

I booked a two day stay during the week with my husband following a coupon I purchased on the net and stayed in a single bedroom studio. We have stayed in the area many times and only once have been disappointed with a couple of restaurants we visited. Upon arrival we had to wait at reception for over 15 minutes until someone attended to us. While looking for some assistance we walked into the dinning area of the restaurant where the owner and a group of people were 'tasting the new menu' and were not keen at all in assisting. The girl at reception was apparentlly doing a check-in so we had to wait. When we tried to make a booking for dinner at the highly rated restaurant of the Lodge we were told if we could be there the latest 7 pm as the restaurant kitchen closes between 8 and 8.30 pm would be great !! The room was clean but very average and having a look at the prices per night I would have never chosen the place as I found that it had nothing to offer contrary to some other places in the area.
Dinner was very nice although one of our plates was the wrong one ordered but the lovely waitress made it up to us by discounting on the bill. I personally feel it is really overated.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank auzzieSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2012

We stayed here whilst doing 3 days at the CMC festival, the rooms were very spacious, and well thought out. Beautiful bed to sleep on, fastidiously clean and well appointed. At their value point they are quite definitely our new favourite Hunter accommodation.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank landth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2012

After a crazy week at work we decided to get away to some peace and quiet and we chose Hermitage Lodge because of a)the great reviews and b)it offered vineyard rooms, a restaurant and cellar door sales all on the same site.

We simply parked ourselves on the sunny veranda with their wine and only moved as far as the restaurant and back. Perfect! So relaxing and just what we needed.

Other reviewers have talked about how lovely the rooms are and how gorgeous the setting is so I'd like to make special mention of how excellent the service and welcome is.

From the moment we phoned to the time we checked out, it was superb. We weren't sure if they'd accept a one night booking as its a 2-min at weekends but nothing was a problem. We were offered a special rate and then were also given an upgraded room on check in. The couple who run the lodge are welcoming and friendly and know exactly what good customer service is.

See you again soon!

Room Tip: Every room is a winner here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StephenLeeSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2012

Enjoyed a lovely weekend at Hermitage Lodge in the "Scarborough" Vineyard Suite (sleeps up to 4). Staff were very welcoming upon arrival.

Suite - Overall we really liked our suite. There was 4 of us, so 2 of us got the sofa bed. Quite cosy when your are both over 5ft 9", but we were there the atmosphere. Bedroom was neat and comfortable. Bathroom was lovely and spacious. Lounge/dining/kitchen - comfortable. Only a bar fridge so not much room to store stuff. We came prepared with our own esky's.
Only minor issue was the hallway door wouldn't close to shut off bedroom/bathroom. There can also be some noise from others at night from decks areas.
The Deck - we spent most of our mornings and evenings out there overlooking the vineyard and eating/drinking with friends.
Pool - nice to swim after a long day out and relax on the deck chairs.

Food - breakfast was good. Muesli with yoghurt and toast w spreads. Pizza's from restaurant were ok we would have liked to see a few more traditional style favourites on menu.

Overall we had a great stay and would definitely return.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NoodleNoodle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2012

Thanks to the great reviews here we booked this last minute for one night. We chose the deluxe spa cabin which was gorgeous - we were so impressed. Loved the high ceilings, the spa bath, the amazingly comfy bed and pillows (had to look to see what brand they were so we can buy them!). The balcony overlooked the vineyards and the view was beautiful. The ducks wandering around the vines and the ponds were so cute. The grapevines over the eaves outside on the front balcony by the other suites looked fantastic, loved the flower gardens too. They've done a first class job on this place, no expense spared, yummy breakfast included (muesli made on premises), all the comforts you'd ever need and so peaceful and quiet. If you go you MUST go to the Italian restaurant Il Cacciatore, it's the best Italian I've had in a very long time, the gnocci and chocolate torte I had was to die for and we also loved the wine. We can't wait to go back, no need to try anywhere else in the Hunter again!

Room Tip: Calais was gorgeous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chellekat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pokolbin
3.2 mi away
Kirkton Park Hotel Hunter Valley
2.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley
5.4 mi away
Spicers Vineyards Estate
Spicers Vineyards Estate
#1 of 15 in Pokolbin
919 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Chateau Elan Hunter Valley
5.1 mi away
Splinters Guest House
Splinters Guest House
#5 of 15 in Pokolbin
308 reviews
5.1 mi away
Thistle Hill Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hermitage Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hermitage Lodge

Address: 609 McDonalds Rd, Pokolbin, New South Wales 2320, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Pokolbin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Pokolbin
Price Range: £84 - £150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hermitage Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award winning Hermitage Lodge is nestled on 25 acres in the heart of the vineyards of the Hunter valley, and is within walking distance of many of the areas popular wineries and tourist attractions. Hermitage Lodge is the home to the Italian Restaurant Il Cacciatore open 7 nights a week. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hermitage Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hermitage Hotel Pokolbin
Hermitage Lodge Greater Newcastle/Pokolbin, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing