We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place - no complaints”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Leisure Inn Pokolbin Hill
Reviewed 11 December 2012

We stayed in a villa here for several days recently. The accomodation was very comfortable, clean and spacious, and in an excellent position for the vineyards. We couldn't fault it and all the staff we encountered were very friendly and helpful. The accommodation was far better than many 4-star hotels we have stayed in. This included clean, modern kitchen facilities, but the associated restaurant was also friendly, relaxed and very convenient.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 3PandP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,038)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

944 - 950 of 1,038 reviews

Reviewed 4 December 2012 via mobile

I have to admit, when I see 'leisure inn' I assume cheap seedy motel type rooms.
Absolutely not the case here.
The villa's were just beautiful. Comfy, modern, clean and even had in room spa's.
I would highly recommend requesting a room close to the lake as they over look the water and the vineyards.
The staff were friendly, attentive and very knowledgeable of the area so they gave us a lot of good places to visit.
The restaurant was well priced and the food was beautiful.

Overall this place was just beautiful and very good value for money. A friend stayed up the road, paid twice the price and our villa was much more luxury.
I would highly recommend the villas and definitely return again..!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SWHG_Operations, General Manager at Leisure Inn Pokolbin Hill, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2013

Dear Lynda P,
Thank you, I am glad you had a great time, the staff work hard both inside and outside to provide a value for money place to visit the Hunter Valley Wine Country. Our new Chef certainly is turning a few heads with her food, all I can say is come back soon as a lot of exciting changes are happening.

Best regards
Wayne Brenton
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2012

The good things about this place is it's location, which is central, and it's surroundings which was relaxing. The staff at the reception was unwelcoming, rude, and grumpy. Most of us were asians, and the only time she smiled was when she realized that the two white people were also in our group. Immediately on opening the main door of the cabin, the stinking smell of old cooking welcomed us. We tried to air out the place but everytime we got back in, the smell was still there. The cabin accommodates 4 people and I was lucky to get the sofa bed which was not levelled and pushed my lower back up. The sofas themselves need cleaning. The outdoor furniture needed some good cleaning as well. They were full of dust. The hot water system was not consistent, it was hard to mix. I got cold water in the middle of showering. The redeeming factor for this place were the cafe staff who were accommodating. friendly, and professional.

Room Tip: If you're travelling as a group and booking two separate rooms, ask if you can get adjoining roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WingNSW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SWHG_Operations, General Manager at Leisure Inn Pokolbin Hill, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2013

Dear Wing NSW
Firstly, I apologise for any misunderstandings that occurred, as you can see my staff work hard on ensuring everyone has a great stay. I can assure you we have made some changes at the property and the levels of cleaning have been addressed as you can see by the above posts.
Please contact me directly at the property so I can discuss these issues with you in person.

Best Regards
Wayne Brenton
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2012

Stayed here for two nights in the superior studio room. It states recently refurbished with new mod cons but to be honest I really couldn't see them? There is a very small table with two chairs in the room, hardly big enough for a platter and two wine glasses. The outdoor furniture needs a good sweep from cobwebs and dust.
Relatively comfortable but for the price I think its a big let down. Overpriced and not a place I would recommend if you plan to relax or would like to sit out and enjoy a few hunter valley wines. You'll get a view of other cabins and a carpark.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Truth000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2012

Unit was large enough although decor is quite dated. Overpriced at $478 for two nights for what was provided with no breakfast included.
Lack of shower curtain was an issue as water ended up over bathroom floor.
Appreciated that parking was available outside of apartment

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vic M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

The cabins are pretty good value for money.
The place is quiet and relaxing.
The spa in the room worked!

However:
- There is not enough light in the room to read comfortably at night, a single ceiling quartz halogen light in the bedroom is not sufficient. The single bedside light contains a low wattage fluorescent which adds nothing.
- There is only one bedside table, the double bed only gives about 30cm between the bed and the mirrored full built-in wardrobe.
- The supplied internet is very expensive $7.50 per hour.
- The restaurant/cafe is expensive. Don't use it, go down to the village which is about 500m away.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KraftMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2012

What can one say about the Leisure Inn? Calming...Serene...Relaxing?

As luck would have it, my wife and I were given the last 5 days of her parents short stay in the Hunter Valley. Cabin 75/76 is self contained with a very small kitchen, 2 bathrooms and 2 bedrooms (Queen and 2 single beds) The cabin itself was in need of a reno on the inside, though nicely cleaned except for the spider webs on the ceiling complete with "daddy longleg" spiders (Only 2 though and they don't bother us). Both bathrooms needed a facelift but they were clean. But we weren't there to do a major inspection.

Our cabin was the second closest to the dams at the rear of the property. They provided little winged friends of the duck and waterfowl variety along with the customery Magpie and her youngster, all wanting a feed, red Kangaroos coming for an early evening drink and I thought I even saw a wombat, but I could be wrong.

We were not crowded in as the cabins are spaced well apart. This in itself help recharge batteries. Thanks Leisure Inn!

The Leisure Inn is central to many of the vinyards and restaurants. This proved well thought of. For people wanting to visit the area, be prepared to pay handsomely for food and drink if you are on a tight budget.

Room Tip: Try to get a room near the ponds out the back, away from the roads. Don't fight with the kangar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MateyandMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pokolbin
2.6 mi away
Chateau Elan Hunter Valley
0.2 mi away
Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens
2.5 mi away
Kirkton Park Hotel Hunter Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley
2.6 mi away
Grand Mercure The Vintage Hunter Valley
0.4 mi away
Pokolbin Village
Pokolbin Village
#5 of 15 in Pokolbin
315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leisure Inn Pokolbin Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leisure Inn Pokolbin Hill

Address: 485 McDonalds Road | Cnr Broke and McDonalds Roads, Pokolbin, New South Wales 2320, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Pokolbin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 40 Speciality Lodging in Pokolbin
Price Range: £68 - £181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Leisure Inn Pokolbin Hill 3.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Leisure Inn Pokolbin Hill is a picturesque retreat set on 25 acres of tranquility in the heart of the Hunter Valley Wine Country. With many cellar doors and attractions such as Hunter Valley Gardens within easy strolling distance, Leisure Inn Pokolbin Hill is the unbeatable location to base yourself.Marvel at the truly stunning views over local vineyards and Brokenback Ridge – you might even enjoy a visit from the local native fauna and birdlife. This picturesque backdrop is the perfect setting for a relaxing and peaceful stay in the Hunter Valley. Self-contained Studio, One and Two Bedroom Villas. Take some time-out in our air-conditioned studio, one or two bedroom apartments sprawled across the landscaped gardens of the property. All apartments feature private patios looking out to the 25 acres of peaceful hotel grounds and vineyards. To enhance your stay at Leisure Inn Pokolbin Hill, our Superior Rooms have been upgraded with new beds, LCD TVs, WiFi access, modern kitchen and bathroom fittings and soft furnishings. The perfect way to finish a great day of wine tasting and sightseeing is to sit back on your veranda and with a cheese platter and glass of wine or sink down and relax in your in-room spa tub. Take a stroll to the local restaurants or cook a romantic meal (full kitchen facilities available in one and two bedroom apartments). Guests are also welcome to relax by the hotel’s outdoor heated swimming pool, play a game of tennis, or have a BBQ in our undercover BBQ area surrounded by lush gardens. Guests can awake to a delicious breakfast or relax over a superbly prepared meal served at the onsite cafe & restaurant (under new management). Leisure Inn Pokolbin Hill is the ideal location for a romantic break or a trip with friends and family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Leisure Inn Pokolbin Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leisure Inn Pokolbin Hill Hotel Pokolbin
Pokolbin Hill Chateau
Leisure Inn Pokolbin Hill Greater Newcastle, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing